Victoria & Abdul

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.76 / 5

User rating: 3.76

Based on 106 votes and 39 reviews


  • User rating: 3.76 46.94%
  • User rating: 3.76 20.41%
  • User rating: 3.76 10.20%
  • User rating: 3.76 6.12%
  • User rating: 3.76 16.33%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 39 of 39

User review rating: 5 November 30, 2017

Slow at points, but as a historical piece that is to be expected. Good acting and great costume/design.

User review rating: 2 November 24, 2017

Disappointing. Dench is as always Dench, who has only a limited range of acting. The opener visually shaky. the set designers and costume designers must have fun, though. I found the movie did not get me involved at all.

User review rating: 4 November 20, 2017

Story about a wonderful friendship between two very different people. It had a comical and sad moment. I enjoyed this movie. Judy Dench has always been an excellent actress. I will see all her films. She has never fail me.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2017

My 28 year old daughter watched this with me and we both loved this movie.

User review rating: 5 November 10, 2017

It was a great movie of a unique historical period that most of us never knew... not being an Anglophile. Judy Densch never disappoints.

User review rating: 4 November 06, 2017

It was a good movie, great story, funny, (for anyone with a sense of humor) we really enjoyed it!

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2017

A very good period picture. Victoria just lost Mr. Brown and now she had a new friend. The woman was very lonely.

User review rating: 5 November 02, 2017

I’m a history major as well and love these kind of movies. Much better than some of the comic book movies that are popular right now.

User review rating: 4 November 02, 2017

Good movie. I too have a degree in history and I too am always fascinated when something like this film gets made. It may be somewhat fantastic in its storytelling but it's a movie not a documentary. Great acting and superb scenery. I wish Hollywood would can the super hero movie binge they are on and make more like this one.

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2017

Boring .... do over .... Two stars not five!!!!!

User review rating: 1 October 30, 2017

Quick review. Not an award winner, Dench is good but everything else lags. Wait for the Netflix version.

User review rating: 4 October 23, 2017

love judy dench will watch any of her movies looking forward to pbs vivtoria second season too

User review rating: 1 October 23, 2017

not impressed ... except for Judy Dench's acting

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2017

Not an Academy Award Winner, but definitely a must see. Acting is superb, photography is wonderful, costuming is to behold! The NEW seating at Grant Park is terrific!

User review rating: 5 October 22, 2017

Great story. We need more like this!

User review rating: 3 October 20, 2017

Well it's ridiculous to say they shouldn't have shown the racism. That was the reality of the times. You have to remember the worst parts of history so you never repeat it. As far as the movie - great acting, ok story, ok movie. Kind of one of those movies you forget after you've seen it.

User review rating: 5 October 19, 2017

I love this movie !! Funny & caring each other ,Highly recommend!!

User review rating: 5 October 16, 2017

Entertaining, funny and yet, based on a true "unknown" story until fairly recently historical events released. Actors were phenomenal! It was very enjoyable. Highly recommend,

User review rating: 5 October 14, 2017

Great movie. Recommended to all ages.

User review rating: 5 October 14, 2017

Super acting, great story and true.

User review rating: 1 October 13, 2017

Why is it so hard to actually stick to real history when passing something off as history? I have traveled to his part of the world and hold a degree in history. This tale is so distorted you may as well of had Victoria and the Hulk as the story line. Don't waste your time it will only confuse those with little history and anger those who know it. I love Dench but this is not worth the viewing.

User review rating: 5 October 13, 2017

I wrote the review below this one and should clarify when I said: "English politics, rivalry, and unfavorable political appointments into the Kensington system caused Queen Victoria to distrust many around her." This was likely the Queen's perspective, not my personal take on the history at the time. This perspective may have also caused her to take interest in an outsider.

User review rating: 5 October 12, 2017

The acting was top notch even by the supporting actors and actresses. This movie offers both drama and comedy and some insight into English history. At this time in British history, the United Kingdom was already a constitutional monarchy. So, Queen Victoria had little political power. She was a widow. She was an only child. All this must have made her feel lonely. She liked good looking men, the reason she picked her spouse over several other potential pre-arranged potentials, when she was younger. So, noticing Abdul's features is correct history. Also Queen Victoria, born at Kensington Palace, experienced an isolated upbringing, per accounts. English politics, rivalry, and unfavorable political appointments into the Kensington system caused Queen Victoria to distrust many around her. So, the friendship with Abdul makes sense. He provided her good company and being an outsider, who was hated by the system she did not trust, made it easy to trust him over them. Prince Edward was the eldest son of Queen Victoria. Queen Victoria and Prince Edward were not close, according to reports. Nonetheless, he was the Queen's heir apparent. He became King upon her passing. He did have Adul's papers burned and have Abdul returned to India. Some papers survived the burning. Later discovered and is the basis of this movie. There is some dramatization in this movie on some of the facts. These notes hopefully should not hinder your enjoyment of the movie. Instead, aid you when you reach the end of the movie.

User review rating: 4 October 10, 2017

I enjoyed this movie even though it was slow sometimes. It was very touching at times and Judy Dench is her wonderful self. The actor playing Abdul was a delight. I would recommend this to people who like history and emotion.

User review rating: 3 October 09, 2017

Some funny moments but pretty slow overall. Judy Dench is very good. Sad to see such British colonial prejudice displayed so believably on the screen, probably 3.5 is the correct score for this one.

User review rating: 4 October 08, 2017

Sweet but sad. Loved it

User review rating: 2 October 08, 2017

The acting was superb ... The story line was disturbing in this day and age. Can we not see more movies with positive messages, morals and stories. Where has all the happiness gone.

User review rating: 1 October 07, 2017

The actors were great in this movie but on an entertainment level, the movie sucked.

User review rating: 1 October 07, 2017

One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Judy densch was fantastic....as for the ongoing racism on both sides ... I could have done without it. I'm actually sorry I saw this movie.

User review rating: 1 October 07, 2017

Horrid little Hollywood fantasy.

User review rating: 5 October 07, 2017

I loved this movie, interesting and warm film about a wonderful friendship. I will see it again this weekend.. Yes it’s that good!

User review rating: 5 October 07, 2017

Victoria and Abdul is charming film based on real events- Judy Dench: A queen personified and Ali Fazal: Great acting of an innocent Indian attendant. One of best film I have seen this year.

User review rating: 5 October 06, 2017

Very enjoyable movie . Some humor and drama

User review rating: 4 October 05, 2017

At the start of the film, “Victoria and Abdul”, there is a disclaimer: “Based on True Events, mostly”. This helped to set the mood of the film. Judi Dench, deserves an academy award for her fabulous acting, as angry, crotchety, obese, selfish, shrewd, Queen Victoria. She was leading a life of isolation, fear and distrust until Abdul Karim (Ali Fazil) enters her life. This lowly prison clerk was chosen to go to England to present the Queen with a commemorative coin (although in reality he was chosen to be an Attendant for a Year). The acting, costume design, cinematography and story line were all excellent. This is a captivating story of the bond that developed between Queen Victoria and Abdul Karim and how they learned so much from each other. There are the subplots of prejudices, racism, class divide, snobbery and elitism verses true friendship, respect and trust. Although the Queen learned that Abdul did not always tell her the truth about himself, she never doubted his dedication and desire to ensure her happiness, unlike the members of her family and household servants.

User review rating: 4 October 05, 2017

I have enjoy very much the movie.Very good story ,it show you can be very lonely at the top even for a Queen. Good Actors and the roles very well played. Good film to see .:) M-s .C

User review rating: 3 October 05, 2017

enjoyable .. surprisingly funny

User review rating: 5 October 05, 2017

This movie was very entertaining. The acting and characters were superb. My only regret is I don't know how much of it was based on history and which part was created to embellish the plot. But all in all, very enjoyable.

User review rating: 5 October 05, 2017

An amazing blend of comedy and very human moments; Victoria and Abdul showcases the seemingly unlikely friendship between the queen of at that time half the world and an Indian servant. Judi Dench and Ali Fazal shine as the title characters with some of the best lines coming from Adeel Akhtar who plays Mohammad, the forgotten other servant. They in turn are backed up by some of the best British actors that currently tread the boards. I laughed so much and I cried.

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2017

OH HI WELL I LIKE THIS MOVIE VICTORIA AND ABDUL MOVIE SO MUCH . AND I WILL SEE THIS MOVIE IN THE MOVIE CINEMA AGAINS AND AGAINS TOO . AND THANKYOU VERY MUCH. AND IF ANY ONE WHO LIKE THIS MOVIE VICTORIA AND ABDUL TOO PLEASE SEND A NOTE FOR ME PLEASE TO LET ME KNOW HOW DO YOU LIKE THIS MOVIE TOO PLEASE AND THANKYOU VERY MUCH.

Change Location