Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.52 / 5

User rating: 3.52

Based on 214 votes and 77 reviews


  • User rating: 3.52 48.98%
  • User rating: 3.52 12.24%
  • User rating: 3.52 7.14%
  • User rating: 3.52 5.10%
  • User rating: 3.52 26.53%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 77

User review rating: 5 September 26, 2017

The movie was a visual treat. The two young leads gave a solid, captivating performance. The trailer didn't give folks much of an idea what the movie about but this movie was terrific!! It was visually stunning and was exciting from front to end. If you haven't seen this yet, get out and check it out. You will not be disappointed!!!

User review rating: 5 September 24, 2017

soooo visually stunning, this will be a bigger cult classic than any of Besson films to date

User review rating: 5 September 02, 2017

Great movie. visual well done, very similar to Star Wars

User review rating: 5 August 13, 2017

Great film sorry for the folks that did not understand it fully.

User review rating: 4 August 12, 2017

Fun and incredibly well-done visuals. Really just a feast for the eyes. Plot is '70s style comic book (think Heavy Metal). Don't take this too seriously and its enjoyable. Felt it kind fell apart a bit at the end.

User review rating: 0 August 12, 2017

Great movie!

User review rating: 5 August 10, 2017

I hate the rating that all of the professional movie goers give, they suck. It was a fun action packed movie. The story was fun and funny to watch. Reminds you of what it takes to get a good woman in your life. Special effects were awesome and would recommend it to friends and family.

User review rating: 5 August 08, 2017

SO glad I disregarded the reviews and made my own opinion, this movie was a BLAST!! They managed to capture the feel of "old school" comics- both visually and in the dialogue, The graphics were SO great! Felt like I was in a video game version of the comics, if that even makes sense to you. So..summary: REALLY glad I went. Loved it.

User review rating: 3 August 08, 2017

I went in thinking it would be visually great and poor acting as many have already said and that was basically what I saw. Had so much more potential with good acting! 3 stars for the big screen effects...1 star for the acting!

User review rating: 4 August 07, 2017

I liked it, corny at moments, but it pulled through. Would like to see sequel :)

User review rating: 5 August 07, 2017

Some of the best CGI I have ever seen. So believable. Actually beautiful! Better than Avatar. We loved this movie. Great story, great humor.

User review rating: 5 August 05, 2017

Very clean good special effects, and actors, makeup artist on time

User review rating: 5 August 05, 2017

Very clean good special effects, and actors, makeup artist on time

User review rating: 1 August 04, 2017

Good lord !!!! Who makes movies likes this ? Straight garbage

User review rating: 4 August 04, 2017

Stunning visuals, suspenseful and fun. The plot doesn't wander off in a thousand different directions, so I could understand what was going on. The criticisims of DeHaan have merit, but he's good enough for the part. Overall, a job well done.

User review rating: 1 August 04, 2017

This was one of my worst movies of all time. The acting was so weak. Where do they get these useless baby driver kind of male actors, kindergarten obviously. Special green screen effects were endless and boring. I felt stupid sitting through the entire flick. Save your money.

User review rating: 1 August 03, 2017

I never walk out on movies. I sat through "The Rum Diaries". I sat through Johnny Depp's other dumpster fire "The Libertine" and others much worse. This movie was so horrible that I had no choice. Please save yourselves the agony and see something else. Thank you for your time and kind indulgence.

User review rating: 1 August 02, 2017

Horrible! As an adult that has always enjoyed a good sci-fi space movie, this was simply awful. If this was a book it would appeal to a Young Adult audience... maybe to those 11 - 12 years old. A long, drawn out show that I thought would never end. 1 - 1 1/2 Stars. RAN

User review rating: 5 August 02, 2017

I read the comics a long tome ago. I loved it . This movie respect the world,the universe of this comic

User review rating: 5 August 01, 2017

I see people complaining that it looks like a video game but that's kind of the point it's like the simulation theory of the world. Y'all just need to watch a Shane Dawson simulation theory video and then you'll understand. Look it up on YouTube. Valerian was AMAZING.

User review rating: 5 August 01, 2017

LOVE IT SO MUCH. MY NEW FAVORITE MOVIE. BETTER THAN STARWARS AND STAR TREK. Maybe not as popular but definitely better to me personally. I love that it's funny, scary, sci fy, action, and romance all in one. I LOVE that it takes place in the future and touches on the simulation conspiracy theory of life and the future.

User review rating: 2 August 01, 2017

I so wanted to like this movie. I am a fan of Luc Besson and had really high hopes for the movie. I liked the story line. The CGI and cinematography were breathtaking. However, Dane Dehaan is apparently the love child of Keanu Reeves and Kevin Kostner and brings new lows to wooden acting. I was left feeling that Dehaan singlehandedly brought down what was visually a thrilling, rich visual experience and sucked every ounce of humor and vitality out of the script.

User review rating: 5 August 01, 2017

I will watch it again and again. There should be more movies like this. Lots of the ideas were original and the movie is definitely one of my favorites. Luc Besson did a terrifix job with this movie. My favorite movie is The 5th Element. But do not go in comparing this to that it is it's own unique story telling experience and different ideas.

User review rating: 1 July 31, 2017

Complete lackluster script, I'd be ashamed of producing a farce like this

User review rating: 2 July 31, 2017

Awful Script and cast

User review rating: 4 July 30, 2017

What a visual spectacle!! The make-believe world just blew my mind! The story keeps you entertained from start to finish with lots of action, humour and a little romance ;) It was an bsolutely fun day at the theatres.

User review rating: 5 July 29, 2017

this wasnt a movie it was more like an amazing ride through another atmosphere!! kids and i loved it in 3D , wouldnt have watched it without 3D

User review rating: 5 July 29, 2017

Great special effects. Probably mostly for kids. Loved the beautiful people of Mul. Also a strong performance by Haley Berry. Over all well worth the money and I am an older person.

User review rating: 1 July 28, 2017

If you like shitty movies this one is for you

User review rating: 1 July 28, 2017

WTF did I just watch, Worst story line and acting I ve seen in a long time

User review rating: 5 July 28, 2017

Psychedelics and this movie equals a GREAT time. I read this in comic form decades ago and Luc Besson NAILED it. Incredible visuals. Engaging actors. Interesting plot. Go see it!

User review rating: 0 July 28, 2017

WORST MOVIE EVER

User review rating: 5 July 28, 2017

Amazing just to look at and it delivered a really good ride.

User review rating: 5 July 28, 2017

It was very entertaining action and sci fi on the move constantly love it

User review rating: 3 July 28, 2017

This is visually stunning and yet disappointing. It is Star Wars on steroids with many characters and images borrowed from the blockbuster film series, most obviously Jabba the Hut. If you are not concerned so much with plot and character development, this could be your movie; but be warned, it looks more like a video game.

User review rating: 5 July 27, 2017

stunning a must see!!!!

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2017

Amazing!

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2017

Great movie for all ages. Great storyline

User review rating: 4 July 26, 2017

the 3D must see movie of the summer.

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2017

Fantastic CGI

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2017

Loved it

User review rating: 3 July 26, 2017

Good adventure

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2017

Sweet!

User review rating: 4 July 26, 2017

Just a comment for those saying that the plot is old and "déjà vu" and the actors look like comic book characters: do remember that this is based on a comic book from the 1970's... And Besson wanted it to stay close to the original story and feel. If you go in expecting Star Wars or Avatar you'll be disappointed. If you go in with an open mind to see an old comic book on film, you'll be pleasantly surprised.

User review rating: 4 July 26, 2017

Nice and stays true to the original story but with some sections too long and lame.

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2017

Fantastic cgi, storyline, characters, and scenes. The Major looked tired with bags under eyes. Wonder what the future, humanity, and civilization holds.

User review rating: 1 July 25, 2017

Interesting idea, different species living in peace but then a war happens. Great animation (and art production) mixed with live action but in the end I could not suspend my disbelief -- an advanced civilization depends on two teenagers to be their superheroes? So sad -- a very sad statement about OUR civilization.

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2017

This was very well done in both special effects & acting - a lot of twist & turns & unusual events happening not seen in other Science fiction movies - go see it for yourselves if you are a Science fiction fan - if not you most likely will not like it!

User review rating: 1 July 25, 2017

Unbelievably bad - like watching a bad, cheesy, made for TV movie. But at home, you'd turn away after 20 minutes. Painful to sit through. Maybe a 10 year old boy would like it?

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2017

Loved it......

Change Location