Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.91 / 5

User rating: 3.91

Based on 170 votes and 62 reviews


  • User rating: 3.91 58.02%
  • User rating: 3.91 14.81%
  • User rating: 3.91 3.70%
  • User rating: 3.91 7.41%
  • User rating: 3.91 16.05%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 62

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2018

I loved the movie and I absolutely loved Frances McDormand in it. She was brilliant!

User review rating: 1 February 16, 2018

I would not recommend this movie to anyone. The language was vulgar and not necessary. I walked out of the movie. The storyline could have been presented in a much more professional acting manner without the vulgar language.

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2018

Anybody who didn't like this movie probably thought that gigli was movie of the year Way too many swears for no good reason But frances absolutely destroyed the part and WILL win the oscar Sam Rockwell was really good too

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2018

Wow! Great Movie! several unexpected twists and turns. The Characters were very well developed and the acting was so flawless that all of them were completely believable.

User review rating: 1 February 09, 2018

Not a very good movie even if the acting was good, couldn't save it!

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2018

OMG....Frances McDormand really outdid herself on this one!! LOVE this actor!! Couldn't have chosen a better star for the part! No wonder there were so many awards handed out for this movie....totally deserved. Don't miss this one!

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2018

The worst movie i have ever seen! Should have walked out with the first g.d. word.

User review rating: 2 February 05, 2018

Movie was advertised as comedy,drama & l am still searching for some humor. Disliked the vulgar language

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2018

Fantastic,I feel numb!

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2018

Great movie, the ending leaves you guessing, but that's because it's based on a true story and an unresolved murder. Frances McDermott is spectacular.

User review rating: 2 January 28, 2018

Interesting movie for about the first half. Then falls apart at the end with a meaningless ending. I walked out feeling cheated and wishing I had not come. Like "Moonlight" from last year, I don't get what the fuss is about. See Darkest Hour instead. Or the Post.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2018

Absolutely stellar!!! Frances McDormand is a powerhouse and Sam Rockwell’s performance is outstanding!!! Loved the realism, themes, and dialogue...the wit and humour that punched through the drama. I smell a few more Oscars...

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2018

Best movie of 2017

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2018

This movie is spellbinding and has some of the best acting I have seen in a very long while. Frances MacDormand is outstanding and worthy of the awards she has won.. Hopefully, this will include an Oscar in the future. I wish this movie were showing for an extended period of time at AMC Lennox.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2018

Brilliant movie - my favorite of 2017. 2nd is Darkest Hour. Frances and Gary for Oscars.

User review rating: 3 January 19, 2018

It was okay, but not as great as the hype would lead one to believe. It is not as artful as it thinks it is, and McDormand is good but pretty one-note throughout. I thought Margot Robbie in "I, Tonya" had better range, personally. Not sure what the Dinklage plot was doing in there, and the turnaround of the Rockwell character isn't believable. Harrelson is good, but overall this was not all that memorable. And I thought the ending made the entire moral of the story ridiculous. Not a must on the big screen -- wait for Netflix.

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2018

This was an excellent movie! The acting was superb all around. You really felt for the characters, especially the woman that Frances McDormand portrayed.

User review rating: 1 January 19, 2018

I really wanted to like it. Lord knows you can't away from all of the critical praise that has been heaped on it. I just thought it was GARBAGE. End of.

User review rating: 2 January 19, 2018

Pretentious.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2018

Frances McDormand is amazing. An angry, powerful, emotional darkly comic story. Awesome!

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2018

The movie captures you from the start and doesn't let you go.

User review rating: 3 January 14, 2018

This movie could have easily received five stars.... but what could have been a masterpiece had one real flaw in the addition of a plotless character. The over clever writing of the conclusion was a real flaw that gave no validation or vindication for any of the masterfully crafted characters. The performance given by the cast was stellar and it was a real disappointment that the story told, fell short in the end. I did not expect a cheesy, feel good ending, just something as thoughtfully written as the rest of the script.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2018

Best movie I've seen in a long time!! It drew you into the lives of three main characters, very personal, intimate. I loved the pace of the movie, not rushed. I found it to be quite unique and therefore not a movie for everyone. I was very pleased it won Golden Globe for Best Picture!

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2018

Great acting! Saw this movie twice, and it only gets better.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2018

To all the haters here and writing negative reviews....uhmmm, guess which movie won golden globe for best film?! 3 BILLBOARDS!!! Wooohooo, said it from the beginning that this movie was gonna win tons. Anyone who hasn’t seen it yet, ignore all these negative reviews and give it a chance. :)

User review rating: 1 December 31, 2017

Hardly a "diamond" of a movie given the many holes in the plot and despite the many good reviews (imho) even with the often excellent acting. The lack of any even slightly likeable characters made the movie an arduous grind to my wife and I and we were glad when it was finally over. Ebbing MO, albeit a fictional town, is one angry and twisted place that should be passed by. There are also so many unbelievable and unlikely people, actions, and scenes in this story it does make me wonder, wth were the writers thinking? This movie also had a pretty short run in my city, which is telling, and I was not at all surprised once I had seen it and noticed a very small crowd in there with me. But no matter what anybody says (incl me) go see it if you want to (that is if you can find it still playing), but my best advice based on my personal opinion of the movie, would be to wait and watch it on PPV, or better yet, when it's on a free movie channel. That's all folks!

User review rating: 0 December 25, 2017

Absolutely outstanding movie. It's the best film of 2017 so far. Anyone who says this movie is horrible wouldn't know a diamond if they held it in their hand. Read all the excellent reviews. Look how many Golden Globe nominations it got. Go ahead see it on the big screen.

User review rating: 1 December 23, 2017

Horrible movie. No real plot. A racist cop thrown in for no reason at all. McDormand has a stiff upper lip, a stiff lower lip and a general hatred towards everybody. Not a likeable or sympathetic character at all.

User review rating: 1 December 21, 2017

This is not a well written movie! I am such a fan of most of the actors in the movie but the characters weren't believable and the story line was even worse. Others in the movie theatre seemed to share my viewpoint. I only heard one guy laugh when Frances kicked the teenage girl in the crotch. Such a lame movie.

User review rating: 4 December 18, 2017

A well done movie from start to finish. Expect Oscar considerations. A nice departure from mindless action , CGI and cheesy endings. This movie feels real. 4/5

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2017

Absolutely fantastic story and acting!!

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2017

Brilliantly written, cast, directed, shot.

User review rating: 1 December 11, 2017

I think this last review is the worse review I ever read. Are they actually attacking another reviewer? That what it reads like, almost looks like cyber bullying to me.

User review rating: 4 December 11, 2017

For the snot who wrote HOLLYWOOD CRAP, you should have researched the film before seeing it, doofus. For those that don't need a story to be fed to them like pablum, this is an intriguing and dark vision into a mother's living hell. Her daughter has been murdered and no one seems to be trying to find the killer. Great acting (McDormand and Rockwell are amazing) and a convoluted script make it imperative you pay attention. If you want special effects and mindless drivel, don't bother with this film. Not for most tastes that want a neat little bow tied at the end but I really enjoyed the trip.

User review rating: 1 December 11, 2017

Probably the worst movie I've seen this year. Hollywood crap.

User review rating: 4 December 10, 2017

A sad subject with humerous dialog. A very good movie. Should be in the running for some oscars.

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2017

Excellent plus! Best of the year! If you can look beyond the bad language, a must see!

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2017

Wow. Acting terrific. Story fascinating.

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2017

great

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2017

Three Billboards lingers, not only because of the richness and complexity of the characters but because of the choices McDonagh makes in bringing this story to the screen. His approach is specific and uncompromising. It’s not safe. Approached with lesser actors or a wavering confidence, the result could have been deemed an “interesting failure.” But there’s not a whiff of failure about this movie. The best of the year? Could be. If not, it will certainly be in the conversation.

User review rating: 4 December 08, 2017

Lol wow people reviewing here need to relax... when did this become a debate forum? I happen to love this movie and think it will be an Oscar contender. Shape of water was amazing too so not sure. Yes it was over the top and had unrealistic bits but it’s NOT a movie based on true events so just go in for the crazy ride.

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2017

It sucks you in, holds you there, then forcefully spits you out.... great pacing, exceptional acting. People are as cruel as depicted here, you just may not know many of them.

User review rating: 2 December 05, 2017

I concur with the last reviewer here, particularly about their comments on the movie and that it was not a good movie at all. The reference point of creating a review is in fact the movie (to say it's " just a movie" with the assumption that a person should loosen their opinion , by someone who attacks another individual's review, is short-sighted, and sadly reflective of an inability to grasp with their own convictions, in that they strive for popular consensus by attacking the reviews of others who are rightfully able to review a movie)Defensiveness for one owns opinion is grossly representative of self absorption, while defending another's opinion on ethically sound principles is reflective of the heroic qualities that this movie lacks. Now then since that is out of the way, the 'Just a Movie" here that offers reflection is that the semblance of popular opinion amongst a brash view is not heroic from an ethical standpoint. If ethics matters to someone they can rightfully attest to this, equally if ethics does not matter to somebody they can equally attest to their opinion. Its not a matter of right or wrong, but if we look closely all the opinions here are based on the approximation of ethical reference that the writers of opinion or reviews have for themselves. Simply put, I rather hated the movie, thought it was rubbish, but suspect that I have offended some readers who might want to convince me otherwise, that is the mystery we should ask ourselves and uncover to see the whole picture (no pun intended).

User review rating: 0 December 04, 2017

To the person who was at TIFF to see this movie. I am the person who wrote the 3 star review that wasn't very complementary to the movie. But remember, I did give it 3 stars overall because it did have its moments of greatness. First of all this is a forum for people to give their own honest opinion about a movie and NOT a place to complain about or criticize another persons opinion. 5 stars and Oscars as some people like you say? Maybe, and maybe not. Time will tell won't it. Ok everybody at TIFF clapped. So what? People in crowds behave as the crowd does, ie; clapping, so as to appear to fit in and not be the only one who is not clapping, and often doing so whether or not they actually feel as though clapping is really deserved. Btw, nobody clapped in the theater I was in (or laughed much either). Additionally I simply said F McD's character was so over the top angry that it bordered on evil, as did some of the others, and that they weren't the types I cared to be watching or those whom I could like either, and believe me I tried hard to cut her some slack because of what happened to her daughter, but she went to the dark side so bad, she just lost me. As far as realism goes, yes it is just a movie (thanks for pointing that out btw lol), but as a career firefighter (who has also been around death and destruction too many times), the scene with the fire extinguisher was just totally ridiculous...for more than a few good reasons. Just as ridiculous was the fact that out of the other heinous crimes committed during the movie...nobody went to jail. I mean come on. Yes it was "just a movie" but apparently unlike you, I demand a bit more out of what I pay to watch, especially with the talent in this movie. So I think it could have been easily written a bit better so as to not have been so over the top outrageous as it was more than a few times. Therefore, I predict this movie will have a short theater life and not be remembered long term as all that great of a movie b

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2017

Loved it loved it loved it go see it :)

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2017

I was the premier of this movie at TIFF with a 1000 other people & the director present. Every single person in that theatre was clapping. From start to finish, it was entertaining. I rarely write reviews but for those saying it was unrealistic and vulgar and violent, ummmm first of all it’s a freakin movie and second of all, the mother is grieving and seeking answers for her daughter who was raped and murdered! Put yourself in her shoes! Of course she was angry and hostile but it comes from a place which you would NOT understand unless you lost a child. Even though the topic at hand is very serious, the movie has amazing dark humour and raw emotional moments. I recommend everyone watching this movie and judging it for their own selves despite the negative reviews.

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2017

Excellent movie...held my interest throughout...great acting and won’t be surprised if the 3 main characters garner Oscar nominations....McDormand’s best role since Fargo and was pleasantly surprised by Rockwell. I thought Harrelson was better here than in LBJ. It’s a thought provoking movie but not for everyone. I can understand why many people would be turned off by the language and violence, but I thought it fit the story and characters and wasn’t gratuitous. Not your usual film where things are resolved either positively or negatively. Ending for me was a little reminiscent of No Country For Old Men.

User review rating: 4 December 01, 2017

Good movie. Dark, quirky and comedic. I thought the actors did a good job. Just when you think things are over, they aren't.

User review rating: 2 December 01, 2017

This is the opposite of a feel good movie. It is a feel bad movie. See it if you want to end up with a bad taste in your mouth about the state of humanity. The only redeeming character in the movie is played by Woody Harrelson and even he comes to a bad end.

User review rating: 4 November 30, 2017

A thought provoking movie that was both funny and serious.I was definitely entertained which hasn't happened with many of the recently released big budget movies.

Change Location