Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.78 / 5

User rating: 3.78

Based on 68 votes and 30 reviews


  • User rating: 3.78 46.88%
  • User rating: 3.78 25.00%
  • User rating: 3.78 3.13%
  • User rating: 3.78 9.38%
  • User rating: 3.78 15.63%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 30 of 30

User review rating: 1 December 11, 2017

I think this last review is the worse review I ever read. Are they actually attacking another reviewer? That what it reads like, almost looks like cyber bullying to me.

User review rating: 4 December 11, 2017

For the snot who wrote HOLLYWOOD CRAP, you should have researched the film before seeing it, doofus. For those that don't need a story to be fed to them like pablum, this is an intriguing and dark vision into a mother's living hell. Her daughter has been murdered and no one seems to be trying to find the killer. Great acting (McDormand and Rockwell are amazing) and a convoluted script make it imperative you pay attention. If you want special effects and mindless drivel, don't bother with this film. Not for most tastes that want a neat little bow tied at the end but I really enjoyed the trip.

User review rating: 1 December 11, 2017

Probably the worst movie I've seen this year. Hollywood crap.

User review rating: 4 December 10, 2017

A sad subject with humerous dialog. A very good movie. Should be in the running for some oscars.

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2017

Excellent plus! Best of the year! If you can look beyond the bad language, a must see!

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2017

Wow. Acting terrific. Story fascinating.

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2017

great

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2017

Three Billboards lingers, not only because of the richness and complexity of the characters but because of the choices McDonagh makes in bringing this story to the screen. His approach is specific and uncompromising. It’s not safe. Approached with lesser actors or a wavering confidence, the result could have been deemed an “interesting failure.” But there’s not a whiff of failure about this movie. The best of the year? Could be. If not, it will certainly be in the conversation.

User review rating: 4 December 08, 2017

Lol wow people reviewing here need to relax... when did this become a debate forum? I happen to love this movie and think it will be an Oscar contender. Shape of water was amazing too so not sure. Yes it was over the top and had unrealistic bits but it’s NOT a movie based on true events so just go in for the crazy ride.

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2017

It sucks you in, holds you there, then forcefully spits you out.... great pacing, exceptional acting. People are as cruel as depicted here, you just may not know many of them.

User review rating: 2 December 05, 2017

I concur with the last reviewer here, particularly about their comments on the movie and that it was not a good movie at all. The reference point of creating a review is in fact the movie (to say it's " just a movie" with the assumption that a person should loosen their opinion , by someone who attacks another individual's review, is short-sighted, and sadly reflective of an inability to grasp with their own convictions, in that they strive for popular consensus by attacking the reviews of others who are rightfully able to review a movie)Defensiveness for one owns opinion is grossly representative of self absorption, while defending another's opinion on ethically sound principles is reflective of the heroic qualities that this movie lacks. Now then since that is out of the way, the 'Just a Movie" here that offers reflection is that the semblance of popular opinion amongst a brash view is not heroic from an ethical standpoint. If ethics matters to someone they can rightfully attest to this, equally if ethics does not matter to somebody they can equally attest to their opinion. Its not a matter of right or wrong, but if we look closely all the opinions here are based on the approximation of ethical reference that the writers of opinion or reviews have for themselves. Simply put, I rather hated the movie, thought it was rubbish, but suspect that I have offended some readers who might want to convince me otherwise, that is the mystery we should ask ourselves and uncover to see the whole picture (no pun intended).

User review rating: 0 December 04, 2017

To the person who was at TIFF to see this movie. I am the person who wrote the 3 star review that wasn't very complementary to the movie. But remember, I did give it 3 stars overall because it did have its moments of greatness. First of all this is a forum for people to give their own honest opinion about a movie and NOT a place to complain about or criticize another persons opinion. 5 stars and Oscars as some people like you say? Maybe, and maybe not. Time will tell won't it. Ok everybody at TIFF clapped. So what? People in crowds behave as the crowd does, ie; clapping, so as to appear to fit in and not be the only one who is not clapping, and often doing so whether or not they actually feel as though clapping is really deserved. Btw, nobody clapped in the theater I was in (or laughed much either). Additionally I simply said F McD's character was so over the top angry that it bordered on evil, as did some of the others, and that they weren't the types I cared to be watching or those whom I could like either, and believe me I tried hard to cut her some slack because of what happened to her daughter, but she went to the dark side so bad, she just lost me. As far as realism goes, yes it is just a movie (thanks for pointing that out btw lol), but as a career firefighter (who has also been around death and destruction too many times), the scene with the fire extinguisher was just totally ridiculous...for more than a few good reasons. Just as ridiculous was the fact that out of the other heinous crimes committed during the movie...nobody went to jail. I mean come on. Yes it was "just a movie" but apparently unlike you, I demand a bit more out of what I pay to watch, especially with the talent in this movie. So I think it could have been easily written a bit better so as to not have been so over the top outrageous as it was more than a few times. Therefore, I predict this movie will have a short theater life and not be remembered long term as all that great of a movie b

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2017

Loved it loved it loved it go see it :)

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2017

I was the premier of this movie at TIFF with a 1000 other people & the director present. Every single person in that theatre was clapping. From start to finish, it was entertaining. I rarely write reviews but for those saying it was unrealistic and vulgar and violent, ummmm first of all it’s a freakin movie and second of all, the mother is grieving and seeking answers for her daughter who was raped and murdered! Put yourself in her shoes! Of course she was angry and hostile but it comes from a place which you would NOT understand unless you lost a child. Even though the topic at hand is very serious, the movie has amazing dark humour and raw emotional moments. I recommend everyone watching this movie and judging it for their own selves despite the negative reviews.

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2017

Excellent movie...held my interest throughout...great acting and won’t be surprised if the 3 main characters garner Oscar nominations....McDormand’s best role since Fargo and was pleasantly surprised by Rockwell. I thought Harrelson was better here than in LBJ. It’s a thought provoking movie but not for everyone. I can understand why many people would be turned off by the language and violence, but I thought it fit the story and characters and wasn’t gratuitous. Not your usual film where things are resolved either positively or negatively. Ending for me was a little reminiscent of No Country For Old Men.

User review rating: 4 December 01, 2017

Good movie. Dark, quirky and comedic. I thought the actors did a good job. Just when you think things are over, they aren't.

User review rating: 2 December 01, 2017

This is the opposite of a feel good movie. It is a feel bad movie. See it if you want to end up with a bad taste in your mouth about the state of humanity. The only redeeming character in the movie is played by Woody Harrelson and even he comes to a bad end.

User review rating: 4 November 30, 2017

A thought provoking movie that was both funny and serious.I was definitely entertained which hasn't happened with many of the recently released big budget movies.

User review rating: 1 November 29, 2017

could never recommend this movie, very depressing

User review rating: 4 November 28, 2017

Very believable. Great acting! Loved the ending.

User review rating: 4 November 28, 2017

this was not a Coen brothers movie..we were riveted from the first...strong cast..except for woody harrelson's wife..seemed very miscast...highly recommend..

User review rating: 2 November 27, 2017

Similar to the last review on here, I was disappointed in the movie. I thought Rockwell's character was more interesting because of its development twists and turns, maybe the only Oscar worthy performance nomination in my opinion if the movie warrants one at all (cringe). Frances McDormand's character reflected way too much needless anger too the point that it was obvious and boring to me and expressed virtually no heroic qualities which maybe the movie was trying or attempting to do. I would have liked to see more human qualities in her character to balance it out rather than just anger fed hostility towards everyone especially those not involved with the loss of her daughter from a violent crime. The movie just missed the mark for me. and I found it difficult to empathize. It`s too bad because I think it was a good idea to begin with, but just went off the rails . I think its an example of dumbing down audience reaction in hopes of selling a picture.

User review rating: 3 November 27, 2017

Very dark movie with unlikable characters whom I would rather not have spent time watching. I am a Coen bros fan of sorts (Fargo rocks), but this movie was so full of what I thought was over the top violence, anger, and VERY gratuitously vulgar language that my wife and I found it cringe-worthy and quite disturbing to say the least. Frances Mc Dormand's character was so angry that it bordered (and crossed the border) on her being just as evil as whomever perpetrated the crime on her daughter, so I kind of checked out of the movie once I started seeing that. Yes there was good acting, but despite that, this is not a movie I would recommend....for various reasons. There were also more than a few times I found what I was seeing on the screen, either being said or done, was somewhat unbelievable and quite unlikely if it had been real life. All in all, after looking very forward to seeing this movie, I left the theater disappointed and wishing that I hadn't bothered to.

User review rating: 5 November 27, 2017

Outstanding film with an Oscar contending performance by Frances McDormand. Sam Rockwell and Woody Harrelson also have a shot at nominations..............96/100.....a MUST SEE!!!....guru bob

User review rating: 5 November 26, 2017

An in depth look at an unthinkable tragedy and how it affects different characters from various points of view. Great acting by all .

User review rating: 1 November 26, 2017

Save your money. Got up and left half way through

User review rating: 4 November 26, 2017

I liked it but the ending seemed cut alittle short. I was looking for justice or some closure concerning the woman’s daudgters horrible death.

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2017

Brilliant - Frances & Woody both deserve Oscars.

User review rating: 5 November 24, 2017

Profound, Funny - Thought provoking - Dark comedy. Scars; some visible, others hidden; they remain for life.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2017

Best movie of the year!

Change Location