The Shack

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.38 / 5

User rating: 4.38

Based on 378 votes and 137 reviews


  • User rating: 4.38 80.34%
  • User rating: 4.38 3.93%
  • User rating: 4.38 1.12%
  • User rating: 4.38 2.25%
  • User rating: 4.38 12.36%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 137

User review rating: 1 May 23, 2017

a religion movie and is not good

User review rating: 1 May 20, 2017

One star

User review rating: 5 May 18, 2017

I read the book some years ago, saw the movie and just re-read the book. It was very motivating and helped me to understand God as a Holy Trinity. The questions we all tend to ask were there. Forgiveness, trust in a all knowing - all loving God and repentance is implied. The beauty of the message is we need to RE-Turn to God as we are, not with a burden checklist of things to do, in order to receive His Mercy & Grace. To know that He is not behind the bad things that happen, but can help us thru them if we trust and have an open/constant relationship with Him. See the movie helped me better understand the Bible and release the great sadness.

User review rating: 5 May 13, 2017

This movie was very powerful and showed the importance and need to have FAITH IN AND TRUST IN GOD ALMIGHTY!

User review rating: 5 May 09, 2017

Awsome!! It touched my soul!!

User review rating: 5 May 08, 2017

Fabulous! Great illustration of how the trinity is separate but still unified in purpose.

User review rating: 1 May 07, 2017

Not a good movie, poor acting and story doesn't mean a thing, Do better.

User review rating: 1 May 05, 2017

Very disappointing.

User review rating: 4 April 26, 2017

It was a good movie about the 5 stages of overcoming grief. The stages were not as clearly defined as in other movies but the message got through. To have the holy trinity take responsibility for the recovery is one way to look at it.

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2017

This was a very inspirational movie and yet it is has received harsh criticism from Christian reviewers that seem to miss the point. I am Christian. The point of this movie is about love, forgiveness, and that life can and does go on past the tragedies of our lives. It seems to me that so many Christians have a need to "pigeon hole" who or what God is, who Christ was/is, what the Holy Spirit is and what Wisdom is. These entities have as many dimensions and meanings as there believers. This movie touched me in the deepest and most profound way. I saw it twice and it left me even more breathless the second time. The effect it had upon me was to bring me to a place of forgiveness in an area of my life that I was not able to. If a movie can do that to one person, well, then it is worth every penny it took to make it. But I have talked to countless many who saw this movie and one of the fruits was that of forgiveness. This movie paralleled the book like most do not. It was very well done and I just might see it a third time. I am not one to see a movie even a second time. Kudos for the producer and director.

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

I've never been so inspired by a movie as I was by "The Shack". I've held on to grudges and hates for many years and this beautiful movie taught me how to let go of all of those negative feelings. The story line is beautifully crafted, the acting is real to life and I highly recommend this to everyone who needs a relief from holding on to past events that are keeping you from being the happy and spiritually healthy person you want to be. Forget any negative press you may have read....it's just the negative forces trying to prevent you from knowing that our Heavenly Father is always with us and loves us unconditionally. Can't wait for it to come on Blu-ray.

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

This is the BEST movie ever....please don't listen to the negative reports, nothing could be farther from the truth!! Beautifully illustrates God's unconditional love, grace and forgiveness for ALL.

User review rating: 5 April 18, 2017

This is the most spiritual and accurate account of what faith is. An absolute must see. I have seen it 2 times and plan to see again tonight and purchase as soon as available!

User review rating: 5 April 14, 2017

Wonderful story. Touched my heart and spirit. Coming to see it again Easter Sunday. I've read the book three times, and this will be the third time I will see the movie again. I will buy the movie when it comes out. I am a Christian as well.

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2017

This movie touched my soul

User review rating: 0 April 10, 2017

A thought-provoking and fascinating movie with many levels of meaning to understand. It is not just a story but a personal spiritual journey. I want to see it again. Very meaningful. I loved it so much.

User review rating: 5 April 10, 2017

Excellent story...as good as the book

User review rating: 5 April 08, 2017

Wonderful presentation of God's love and forgiveness. The actors were great! Nothing was lost from the book to the movie. I loved it, shed some tears and was encouraged to keep trusting God.

User review rating: 5 April 07, 2017

Represents the book well. Beautiful scenery,healing message.

User review rating: 5 April 06, 2017

Beautiful

User review rating: 1 April 06, 2017

Sam Worthington was in WAY over his head. The film drives its points home like the audience is a bunch of 8 year-olds. It's TERRIBLE!!

User review rating: 1 April 04, 2017

Too melodramatic!

User review rating: 1 April 04, 2017

Won't see it. I refuse to pay to see a movie that forgives a killer, drives parents insane enough to think they got a letter from God which then explains the horrific truth from a twisted mind that somehow sees his 'work' as beautiful.

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2017

You leave the theater with lots of questions answered and lots to think about.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2017

What a fantastic Movie I was afraid it wouldn't be as good as the book. It was even better than the book and the acting was fantastic.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2017

This is a movie you should take entire family to see. In fact most of the theater were kids w parents and grandparents. We have seen it twice and may see it a 3rd time. Serious issues like death, the cycle of abuse, loss of faith are addressed. But so well done you will feel refreshed by the end. With so many dooms day and violent movies, this was a wonderful change.

User review rating: 5 April 01, 2017

This movie was great,makes me want to be even closer to Jesus. This was about relationships..it was a movie about forgiveness, no matter how hard..Jesus says we must forgive so he can redeem.....

User review rating: 5 April 01, 2017

The way Christ has to come to us individually in the state of mind that were in. No cussing, sex or massive killing.

User review rating: 1 April 01, 2017

Just a fantasy of a new age person who hopes God is like this. Not based on scripture or revelation from God. Portrays God as Santa Clause. No repentance required, everyone's sins are forgotten.

User review rating: 5 March 31, 2017

I liked every thing about this movie. I am now reading the book and I plan on seeing the shack again. God was always important to me but I know Jesus died for me and is always with me. Marilyn

User review rating: 5 March 31, 2017

The movie was a stunning non religous picture of Daddy, (Poppa) Jesus and Holy Spirit. For anyone who is looking for a relationship with God, go and see this movie. I read the book a few times and got a lot out of the movie. The visual depiction was delightful. A stunning portrayal of the truth of Who our God really is. Don't go looking for a theological review but go with an open heart and be amazed. It doesn't hurt that the atmosphere is extremely comfortable.

User review rating: 5 March 30, 2017

I read the book four times it was so good. This movie is so amazing, everyone should see it. I plan on seeing it again. The messages were very powerful and uplifting.

User review rating: 2 March 30, 2017

Had really no idea what to expect with this movie , went with a friend she cried through almost the whole movie . Personally I could not wait for it to be over , not my cup of tea at all .The walking on water thing over the top .

User review rating: 1 March 30, 2017

Slow, boring

User review rating: 5 March 30, 2017

5-star!!!! Take your Kleenex! I've seen this movie twice now and taking another friend tomorrow. They do an excellent job showing the love of God and the perfect picture of the Trinity.

User review rating: 5 March 30, 2017

Loved it !! A lovely fantasy portraying GOD's LOVE in a very unique way. Great movie for everyone. Thanks

User review rating: 5 March 29, 2017

My daughter was murdered also. This movie was like watching my emotions on the movie screen. So similar. I loved this movie. Gave me confirmation of what I already believed Brought me even closer to the Lord!

User review rating: 5 March 29, 2017

An amazing understandings of God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit. What's there not to like, fellow Christians? Hummm? Is it because Papa is portrayed as non white??? We all know that God is a spirit however for the purpose of book &. movie production he looks human to us.

User review rating: 5 March 28, 2017

Just amazing!!! Changed my daughter's life for the good..

User review rating: 4 March 28, 2017

The book was amazing. Some feel the story is far fetched or formed in a blasphemous way. Everyone gets a different message when they read the Bible. Even preachers/pastors etc. we are human and we were made to have our own thoughts. This FICTIONAL story is a thoughtful view on the relationship between a man and God. It just gives you a different way of thinking outside of the ways that are pushed on you by others.

User review rating: 5 March 27, 2017

I think the movie was awesome. Show a lot of love and forgiveness. Read the book twice and loved it. I even bought the book to pass it to people to read. Hope they make the movie crossroads by the same author.

User review rating: 5 March 27, 2017

Excellent movie, loved, loved, loved it!!!

User review rating: 1 March 26, 2017

I was scan't looking forward to seeing this movie. Dragged the wife out. It was way too preachy for me. It was like being in church for 2 hours.

User review rating: 5 March 26, 2017

This movie is truly eye opening it really made you think about things once it was over ?

User review rating: 5 March 26, 2017

I thought this movie was very good and thought provoking. I have read the book and like any book that was made into the movie, the book is more detailed. I still think the movie followed the book very closely. It was based on the Bible, showing God's love and forgiveness for all. I know a lot of Christians (Christ followers) are hung up seeing God in the human form. I believe this was because it was seen through the main characters eyes. I really enjoyed the movie and the values it taught.

User review rating: 1 March 26, 2017

movie was big disappointment. book far superior.

User review rating: 5 March 25, 2017

Book was great & movie greater! I love how it shows us how much we are loved by God & He forgave us of our sins, he took all of our sins to the cross before we were born. He just wants us to love one another as He loves us.

User review rating: 5 March 24, 2017

great movie even seen it twice & the feeling of God helping mick,

User review rating: 5 March 23, 2017

Loved this movie. Gave me so much to think about.

User review rating: 5 March 23, 2017

Loved the book. Great movie. Really touched my heart. Shows how much God loves us. How special we are to Him.

Change Location