The Promise

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.99 / 5

User rating: 4.99

Based on 262 votes and 80 reviews


  • User rating: 4.99 99.15%
  • User rating: 4.99 0.85%
  • User rating: 4.99 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.99 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.99 0.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 80

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2017

OMG !!!! I loved it !!! A must see!!! Tells all the truth about the Armenian Genocide, despite the denial machine going against the movie! Kudos to Terry George and the wonderful cast!

User review rating: 0 April 26, 2017

Excellent movie

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2017

Amazing movie about The Armenian Genocide! Loved the fact that real historical characters were also included ! A must see to get a sense of the enormity of this inconvenient & forgotten Genocide!

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2017

Must see!

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2017

Amazing film !!!! A must see movie

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

Absolutely great! I would have loved it if it was just a fictional story, but to know that it's based on the truth of the hardships endured by the Armenian people made it even more heart-wrenching! A must see by everyone!

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

Extremely touching! I would recommend everyone watch this movie. I had no idea what armenian people have gone through, absolutely cruel and inhuman.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

Great great movie

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

This film educates those individuals who are unaware of the Armenian Genocide and its atrocities that took place from 1915-1923.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

Great.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

It educates people about horror of genocide committed by Turks against Armenians, Greeks and other minorities in Ottoman Empire.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

Very interesting and emotional movie.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

Something to talk about ! Yes!

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

We went with 15 members of the church choir, the all loved it! Great movie.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

I encourage all Berkeley professors to go watch the Promise. Take all your students treat them to this powerful eye opening movie!

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

You do your best to watch the PROMISE with all of your family. Owe it to humanity! Don't waste your time watching other Hollywood movies till you see this. Beautiful! Powerful!

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

Background music from the beginning of the just melted my heart! Great actors. Very touching. My 14 year old loved it. The Greek lady sitting next to me broke in tears:( be strong, you need to see this movie)

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

Such an incredible movie.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2017

A powerful artistic film crying out for recognition of the Armenian genocide at the hands of the Turks during WWI. They were murdered because they were christians! Today we see this same genocide of ancient christians once again and it must be stopped!!!! We all call upon President Trump to protect christians throughout the world!

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2017

Absolutely loved it - amazing movie. A must see.

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2017

True story. Amazing cast and masterfully done.

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2017

Great movie, a real masterpiece.

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2017

Amazing love story taking place during the Genocide of the Armenian's by the Ottoman Empire in the early 1900"s. Well done movie, love story and the history of what the Armenian's endured by the Turks.

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2017

Excellent

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2017

Excellent ! Should win Oscar! Bravo👏👏👏

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2017

I was not aware of this conflict during the First World War. Humanity can be so cruel. These stories should be told and not hidden. The movie was very well done.

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2017

This film is based on the true events of the Armenian Genocide by the Turkish people of the Ottoman Empire. It makes me and my family so proud to have a piece of our story and history shared on a global scale. Our ancestors will always be remembered and this film brings to life the true struggles, endurances, deaths, and survivals that Armenians faced. Thank you to everyone involved in this film and making our voice heard on the big screen. One significant thing to take from this film for anyone watching is that reporters, such as Christian Bale's character, are what made the evidence we have today, with their articles and photographs. I'm so thankful for those reporters for their bravery and risky and dangerous jobs, all based on their goal to bring these stories out to all people around the world so they know what kind of terrible acts against humans are being made and historically documenting these true facts. I was brought to tears watching this film and it truly is great. Don't believe anyone who rates this less than 5/5 or 10/10 stars. Go see the film and do some of your own research online on articles and images of this day in history and you will see that although we faced it all, we still stand tall and proud today because we are Armenians. We never give up and always fight for what's right.

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2017

Excellent movie !!!

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Best movie ever

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

perfect way to have our story brought out to the world

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Based on a real story, very touching.

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Epic scale movie, based on the true events of the Armenian Genocide. It builds up through fire and torment to the legendary resistance of Musa Dagh. Christian Bale, Oscar Isaac, Charlotte Le Bon, Angela Sarafyan, James Cromwell, Jean Reno and Shohreh Aghdashloo convene to give the depth and shine of a constellation to the film!

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Amazing movie !!! Heartbreaking !!!must see.

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Must see movie ! I was impressed how well this movie is made , and seeing the torture of Armenian people was very emotional .

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Excellent!

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Amazing movie every one should watch it

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

A must see movie!!

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Amazing !

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Totally wonderful portrayal of Armenian genocide. Great casting, excellent follow through.

User review rating: 0 April 23, 2017

Two thumbs up. Great film and worth going to see on the big screen. Thrilling to see Star Wars hottie Oscar Isaac in the lead in a much meatier, more intense role! Nice chemistry with him the co-stars Charlotte Le Bon from 100 Foot Journey and Christian Bale, who will always be the kid from Empire of the Sun to me (he is great in just about anything). Given the setting and the subject matter this movie is compelling but hard to watch at times. There are moments that show that how chilling these events from a century ago foretold WWII and resonate in the mess that is Europe/the Middle East today, just turn on the news. You don't have to be Armenian to be moved by this, just human. Be warned, bring a couple of Kleenex. A girl in my row at the theatre was bawling her eyes out. An important story that deserves to be heard.

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Amazing movie… must see!! Could not stop crying at the end. I am Armenian myself and the movie did reveal in general what happened during that period, however it is far worse than what was filmed in the movie. My father used to tell me stories and it was all horrific and no one could ever imagine that it could happen!! Yes the Turks till this moment, deny the Genocide of Armenian Christian. They wanted to exterminate, eliminate and wipe out our nation (Armenian Christians). We are here still and we want to show the whole world that we still EXIST and will reveal the truth about the history and what happened was cruel and not describable. Proud being Armenian Christian.

User review rating: 0 April 23, 2017

Amazing movie… must see!! Could not stop crying at the end. I am Armenian myself and the movie did reveal in general what happened during that period, however it is far worse than what was filmed in the movie. My father used to tell me stories and it was all horrific and no one could ever imagine that it could happen!! Yes the Turks till this moment, deny the Genocide of Armenian Christian. They wanted to exterminate, eliminate and wipe out our nation (Armenian Christians). We are here still and we want to show the whole world that we still EXIST and will reveal the truth about the history and what happened was cruel and not describable. Proud being Armenian Christian. The Islamic Leadership countries are still doing the same and no one is doing anything to stop them. Wonder when!!!!

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Excellent movie and a story that needs to be told...don't let the movie critics so so reviews stop you from seeing this well done film about the systematic murder of Christians by the Turks of the Ottoman Empire. The Germans had their hands dirty in the Armenian Genocide and to this day the Turks (Islamists) deny it ever occurred.

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2017

Excellent ! Historically true story, very touching movie. You must see it.

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

Top notch performance from Oscar Isaac and Christian Bale. This amazing historical movie depicts what's still happening today in different part of the world: the genocide of Christians under Muslim rules(Islamic) and the obliteration of people. EXCELLENT movie!

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

The film should make us all proud as Canadians. US gov't archives are full of eye witness accounts of diplomats, missionaries, doctors, nurses, relief workers but the Canadian gov't was first to " call a spade a spade ".

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

I wish they teach this horrible crime in schools. I know some Armenians whose grandparents don't want to talk too much about this incident,

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

This movie was so inspiring. What an amazing group of people to have gone through this horror but to have survived. I wish this piece of history were taught in schools.

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

Incredible movie! So many people didn't realize what the Armenians had to go through under the last days of the Ottoman Empire and then "modern" Turkey. Must See. Genocide of the Christians under Muslim rules are happening again today, 102 years after this Genocide.

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2017

Amazing movie ..

Change Location