The Promise

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.84 / 5

User rating: 4.84

Based on 566 votes and 142 reviews


  • User rating: 4.84 92.24%
  • User rating: 4.84 4.74%
  • User rating: 4.84 0.43%
  • User rating: 4.84 0.43%
  • User rating: 4.84 2.16%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 142

User review rating: 5 June 26, 2017

A story that must be told!!

User review rating: 5 May 28, 2017

Incredible movie

User review rating: 5 May 16, 2017

The best movie I have seen this year. It is historical, heart wrenching, and devastating, to go through such an outrageous, inhumane, and barbaric treatment of the Armenians, by the Ottoman Empire. My thanks go to Krikor Krikorian, for fully funding this movie. It is about time to tell this real tragic story, the TRUTH, to the whole world. This should never happen to any nation ever. Must see. I encourage everybody to go and see this movie.

User review rating: 5 May 13, 2017

Best film on the Armenian genocide to date! A must-see!

User review rating: 5 May 12, 2017

The promise was a great introduction to history without excessive violence. Christian Bale performed well as the journalist and the love story that transcends the movie brought the complex plot together. Worth watching

User review rating: 5 May 10, 2017

IT WAS VERRY EMOTIONAL AND TENSE MOVIE AND ABOUT LOVE. TOO BAD THEY DIDN'T DO THIS MOVIE A LONG TIME AGO, ESPECIALLY WHEN IT'S ALL TRUE

User review rating: 5 May 09, 2017

Incredible movie. The lead actor was mesmerizing. While this is about the Armenian genocide, it is important to understand the connection btw this genocide and the Holocaust. The Germans and Turks were allies in WWI. The Germans learned that genocide is a profitable business and decided to implement it on the Jews in WWII, with the help of Haj amin al Hussani (who also served in the Ottoman army). It is important to learn about the Armenian genocide, to honor the victims and also to understand how this opened the gate of hell, to the worst genocide of all times.

User review rating: 5 May 07, 2017

A beautiful love story that reveals the suffering and human losses inflicted on armenians. It is an inspiring movie that is accessible to every human being concerned about life.

User review rating: 5 May 07, 2017

Great movie. Held my attention the entire time.

User review rating: 5 May 06, 2017

Beautifully directed and acted movie. Great job! This movie brings the forgotten real history to the world- the first genocide of the 19th century executed by the Ottoman Empire, The Armenian Genocide. The truth is a truth no matter how many years pass.

User review rating: 5 May 06, 2017

Must see - excellent!

User review rating: 5 May 06, 2017

A must see .Very well done .Great acting .It shows the suffering the Armenians went through under the ottoman Empire . It is about the Armenian Genocide .A critic compared this movie to Shindler,s list a movie about the Holocust . Very emotional for me .My grandparents ,my uncle my aunts walked from Aintep in the desert for days and they arrived to Aleppo Syria they were among the lucky ones who made it . The last part of the movie a German writer wrote a book about those Courageous Armenians who fought the Turkish Ottoman soldiers for 40 days .It is called the 40 days of Musa Dagh . I saw the movies two times .Go and see it you will not regret it and you will have learnt a part of history that took place in 1915 against the Armenians Thank You .

User review rating: 5 May 06, 2017

Excellent one of my top three movies i've seen

User review rating: 1 May 05, 2017

Waste of time

User review rating: 1 May 05, 2017

Another propaganda movie. Done poorly.

User review rating: 5 May 04, 2017

A sensitive depiction of the attempted Genocide of the Armenian people by the Turkish government. They show some of the terrible things that were done to the Armenians but without the the visuals of blood and gore in order to be able to use this film as a teaching tool when out of the theaters. Please go and see some of the things that happened to my ancestors - aunts. uncles and grandparents. The scene where they reach Musa Dagh toward the end of the film doesn't tell you that the Armenians who fought to survive there lasted 40 days.

User review rating: 5 May 03, 2017

Best film of the year!

User review rating: 5 May 03, 2017

A compelling film and a must-see.

User review rating: 5 May 02, 2017

Best movie I have seen in a very long time. A solid 10/10! You will not be disappointed.

User review rating: 5 May 02, 2017

This movie was Excellent. It told the story of the Armenian Genocide which is a story that must be told so that history doesn't repeat itself.

User review rating: 4 May 02, 2017

While I agree with the critics that the "love story" portion of the film was distracting and unnecessary, the movie itself was worthy of high praise. An interesting storyline based on facts was well paced and well developed. A combination of excellent photography and music assisted the story telling of an event that has not had much play in the Western media. Well worth seeing.

User review rating: 4 May 01, 2017

Well-acted and brings focus to the Armenian genocide within the Ottoman Empire.

User review rating: 5 May 01, 2017

Great movie

User review rating: 0 May 01, 2017

Excellent

User review rating: 5 April 30, 2017

The cast and story were amazing. Very moving and gripping. Why is this movie rated so low? I never realized this happened.

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2017

Informative and touching movie

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2017

Great movie !

User review rating: 2 April 29, 2017

With all these well known Actors, you would have thought that they would have done research on the calamitiea of the War of 1890 to 1920 not just focuses on the Atmenian losses but lives of other citizens of the Ottomans at the time. After 100 years, are people realizing that it was a Genocide. What a one sided movie this was. Were the "Dashnag" , Armenian army formed to be terrorist completely innocent in this Civilian War. Genocide denotes an intent to eliminate a race, and this was not the case of the Ottaman Empire in that era.....

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2017

This is a beautifully directed and acted film about the Turkish Genocide against the Armenians! I encourage everyone to see The Promise--in honor of those of us who grew up with grandparents and great grandparents who survived horrific cruelty, and who witnessed their homes being burned, their villages being invaded, and their families slaughtered. This film honors my ancestors and all Armenians, and it brings to light the greatest denial of Genocide committed by the Ottoman Empire.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2017

It is an excellent movie,depicting how cruel the Ottoman Turks were at that time.It is so shameful that they have denied over a hundred years about the Armenian Genocide.I guess the Turkish government never taught them in school about the real facts about the massacres.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2017

Denying the past we destroy the future.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2017

A sobering take on the Armenian Genocide, a crime against humanity still being denied 102 years after its execution by its perpetrators. Very touching.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2017

Touchy and informative.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2017

A great movie with a great story.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2017

A truly excellent film in the same league as the great epics of the past, like Ben Hur, Dr Zhivago and the like. A love story set in the middle of the historically accurate Turkish Genocide carried out against the Armenian population. This must be a contender for an Oscar or BAFTA. Great story, great acting, great everything.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2017

Excellent movie.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2017

Very well presented the whole truth, this happened to every single Armenian family, forced to leave their city and country to Dehr Zor Desert in 1914-1915.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2017

It is an amazing movie that brings out a century old hidden truth to 21st century audience. this is the most effective way to learn from past mistreats toward reconciliation. We all belong to this world and together we will take care of this wonderful world!

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2017

Effective!

User review rating: 4 April 27, 2017

Excellent movie. Director Terry George masterfully incorporated complicated and thorny historical facts with a love story. This movie follows the fine tradition of David Lean and other movie directors filmmaking. The Promise should be nominated for an Oscar.

User review rating: 4 April 27, 2017

If you are disgusted from what is happening in Syria and Iraq, please see this movie. Great movie to watch and learn from. This love story has a sad background, which depicts the twentieth century's first Genocide. Go and see, you will change, or maybe learn something.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2017

A must see for everyone...

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2017

A must see for everyone. Just to see what kind barberic atrocities people can do

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2017

Such a great and touching movie.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2017

What a movie ! Learned a lot about the armenian genocide.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2017

Really recommend it

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2017

A must see movie! Thank you Kirk Kerkorian and the entire production team too!

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2017

It was an important film which depicted the Armenian Genocide. An important part of history that needs to be told in order to prevent future genocides. Christian Bale was amazing along with the rest of the cast. Great Movie! Must see!

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2017

This movie tells the story about a tragic event that happened a hundred years ago. The story needs to be told and we need to understand that if it happened once it can certainly happen again. Much like the Holocaust - never forget.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2017

Unbelievable story and great production. Amazing cast and awesome presentation of Armenian Genocide. Did not show blood and torture but the story tells you the atrocities of that era! I saw it twice. Going to see it again with friends.

Change Location