The Grizzlies

Thank you for rating this movie!

5.00 / 5

User rating: 5

Based on 122 votes and 19 reviews


  • User rating: 5 100.00%
  • User rating: 5 0.00%
  • User rating: 5 0.00%
  • User rating: 5 0.00%
  • User rating: 5 0.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 19 of 19

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2019

A fantastic film that clearly depicts life in Nunavut. Having lived and taught there it stars up many memories. People from away will think that life portrayed is just a Hollywood version. It is not! This is a true to life depiction and the real life realization of the continuing struggles of the inuit as seen through the eyes of a white teacher trying to help his students.

User review rating: 5 August 07, 2019

A gritty but heartwarming and sometimes hilarious Inuit Canadian perspective of life in small town Nunavut. It's interesting that most of the population of Canada's most northern territory is young. Because the film is all about the youth there. This is not a "white saviour" movie as some critics suggest. Far from it. I watch a lot of First Nations film and television. And Canada rarely - if ever - produces fakery when it comes to their issues. Most people in cities across Canada saw "The Grizzlies" last spring. I had one day and time to see it in my BC Interior town. Terrible to think that Hollywood superhero flicks have such a grip on the Canadian psyche. That they take up so much money and space in our cinemas; at the expense of such a fine film like "The Grizzlies."

User review rating: 5 June 06, 2019

Fantastic! We need more films like this.

User review rating: 5 May 20, 2019

Excellent movie. I’m a 69yr old man and I was teary through many parts of this movie. Very inspirational also.

User review rating: 5 May 13, 2019

Engaging from start to finish. Well done.

User review rating: 5 May 08, 2019

Excellent movie and a sad reality

User review rating: 5 May 05, 2019

Excellent!!! Such an impressive movie. The story is both heartbreaking and uplifting at the same time. The cast is brilliant for a group of mostly unknown actors. It’s laugh-out-loud funny, it’s tearfully heart-wrenching, and it’s deeply thought-provoking. It’s so beautiful on so many levels. Definitely worth watching again. Emerald and Booboo are simply magnificent. And the dude on the ATV. He cracked me up.

User review rating: 5 May 04, 2019

I loved the realism of this movie. It gives us a glimpse of the harsh reality that Inuit youngsters face every day but also shows the human spirit. The acting by the Inuits and the professional cast is excellent!

User review rating: 5 May 04, 2019

An emotional rollarcoster that showed the raw and real side of what life is like for many up north. 10/10 would recommend to anyone and everyone

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2019

Incredible movie, every Canadian should see this movie. The acting and story was incredible, those of us in the south get a look at what it’s truly like living in the North and growing up in the North.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2019

Very well done. PG rating might be a bit too low. Hard life moments portrayed. So glad I went to see it.

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2019

This movie was powerful. Really well done with an amazing cast. It made me cry so much, bring kleenex!

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2019

Thank you to all involved in making this illuminating movie! With humility and awareness, we see and hear and feel the day to day trauma and difficulties faced by these teenagers, and their quiet strength and courage, how they survive or do not. It's about the need for actual understanding of the past and present, our willingness to see and to learn, to really care and do something. The belief in hope and possibility is profound and inspiring. The movie is an example of 'reconciliation.'

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2019

The most inspiring and must see movie for everyone! Outstanding acting by many first time Inuit actors - Emerald MacDonald is amazing!

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2019

Inspiring true story of one man's efforts to help change a community through sport. Change a kid - change a family - change a community.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2019

Thought this was a wonderful and thoughtful movie. Certainly brings home the problems that the Inuit face. Was really glad to see at the end of the movie just how all the characters had moved on with their lives. Would have liked to know what happened to the teacher though. I hope he stayed in the community. would definitely recommend to others to watch.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2019

Movie tackled a hard topic. Truly inspirational The Inuit actors are too notch. Great movie!

User review rating: 5 October 19, 2018

This is an inspiring true story that tells about the hardships of the Inuit in the north and how one man turned things around. Be sure to see it.

User review rating: 5 October 06, 2018

I love how Russ inspired the kids and the kids inspired Russ. The end is we are all inspired by this movie

Change Location