The Glass Castle

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.87 / 5

User rating: 3.87

Based on 30 votes and 8 reviews


  • User rating: 3.87 53.33%
  • User rating: 3.87 13.33%
  • User rating: 3.87 13.33%
  • User rating: 3.87 6.67%
  • User rating: 3.87 13.33%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 8 of 8

User review rating: 3 August 16, 2017

I felt the acting of Woody Harrelson, Naomi Watts, and the young Jeannette's (Ella Anderson and Chandler Head) were awesome. I did not care for the older Jeannette (Brie Larson) at any age. I felt she came across as stiff and I could not bond with her or feel sympathy for her at all. I think it may have been a director's miscall though. Too many long close ups, where she was recalling? thinking?, agonizing? Overall . . . I cannot recommend this movie.

User review rating: 5 August 15, 2017

best film as in craftmanship and acting that I have seen in eons-- every actor-- is on his mark- moves you, yet does not weigh you down to a miasma , simply brilliant film making and acting.

User review rating: 5 August 14, 2017

Such a well done movie. Actors did an awesome job potraying the actual family.

User review rating: 4 August 13, 2017

Very well acted. Did read the book. So well done, that I left! Why? Came too close to home, too believable, too stirring. Had to leave...but the movie is good, providing you don't relate to it...like I did.

User review rating: 5 August 13, 2017

The Glass Castle is clearly a contender for the Oscars as are the performances of Woddy Harrelson, Brie Larson and Naomi Wattts. This film is based on the book and real life experiences of Jeanette Walls who grew up in poverty with an alcoholic father and delusional mother who, along with their 4 children, lived like gypsies in the early sixties and seventies.. This is an outstanding, dramatic film which is directed with perfection by Destin Cretton. Don't miss this one. It is a work of art

User review rating: 1 August 12, 2017

I feel like it was not a dramatic movie at all. It was slow moving and boring. I went there thinking I was going for drama and a thriller, not at all. I would have enjoyed the movie next door much more, Kidnap. Was disappointing Husband and wife, won't let me check both genders.

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2017

Amazing and interesting movie. Read her books years ago, and this movie is true to book events. Interesting to watch, and wonder how the kids survived.

User review rating: 4 August 10, 2017

The Glass Castle is the name of the book by Jeannette Walls, written in 2005. The recently released movie of the same name is based on her memoirs. I read the book just over ten years ago. What I recall was a harrowing tale of a dysfunctional family. This movie, produced 12 years after the book, has been watered down and portrays a father through more sympathetic and understanding eyes (perhaps after years of therapy). It is amazing that Jeannette, her brother Brian and sister Lori over came a life of poverty and abuse to become the successful people they are today. The youngest, Maureen, was the most scarred and troubled. Having an alcoholic father, Rex and artist mother, Rose Mary, who are immature, self centred and in many ways suffering from their own traumatic upbringing, loved their children in their own special way. There are elements of mental illness, being delusional, abusive, neglectful, and a desire to reject societal norms. Really great acting by Woody Harrelson (Jeannette’s father, Rex); he is almost unrecognizable. All the actors are strong and believable from Brie Larson, who portrays the adult Jeannette, to Naomi Watts as Rose Mary. The cinematographer really captures the towns, the run down homes and both the pathetic and successful people, who enter Jeannette’s life. We can pick our friends but we can’t pick our families.

Change Location