The Glass Castle

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.12 / 5

User rating: 4.12

Based on 80 votes and 32 reviews


  • User rating: 4.12 60.00%
  • User rating: 4.12 15.00%
  • User rating: 4.12 12.50%
  • User rating: 4.12 2.50%
  • User rating: 4.12 10.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 32 of 32

User review rating: 4 October 08, 2017

Very well done and powerful film about the adventures of a nomadic , dysfunctional family with an alcoholic father. A film like this is bound to have some unpleasant scenes which makes it that much more realistic. Also, some very touching and tender moments. Excellent acting. Liked the way it ended and very pleased I saw it. Even more impressive that this film is based on a true story. Will be on my mind for quite some time.

User review rating: 5 October 06, 2017

Loved it ... had me thinking about it for day!

User review rating: 5 September 26, 2017

so glad I went.

User review rating: 3 September 20, 2017

If you like this movie - the book is 1000 times better - great read!!

User review rating: 5 September 19, 2017

Well done drama, great acting! Really felt bad for the children. Heart breaking to know that this kind of neglect really does happen in the world, and probably in this day and age as well.

User review rating: 5 September 18, 2017

Great movie about family dynamics, relationships and resiliency. Acting is phenomenal by all.

User review rating: 5 September 15, 2017

Great acting with an especially powerful performance by Woody Harrelson. Some omissions but mostly true to and respectful of the book. Wonderful closure at the end, with photos and actual presence of real life characters, as well as the mother's paintings.

User review rating: 5 September 11, 2017

Realistic and true fiber that portrays the hardships of a family through life's footprints of growing up with the guidance and maturity of a young girl beyond the age of a responsible role.

User review rating: 5 September 02, 2017

Great performance by Harrelson and all the little girls who played Jeannette. The fact that it was based on Jeannette Wall's memoir made it even more special. This is a must see.

User review rating: 5 September 01, 2017

So good. Excellent acting by all. Great story about the trials of this fsmily and the power of love.

User review rating: 0 September 01, 2017

Love this movie, and a true story ! Great acting by Woody Harrelson Brie Larson...

User review rating: 3 August 29, 2017

The Glass Castle is the name of the book by Jeannette Walls, written in 2005. The recently released movie of the same name is based on her memoirs. I read the book just over ten years ago. What I recall was a harrowing tale of a dysfunctional family. This movie, produced 12 years after the book, has been watered down and portrays a father through more sympathetic and understanding eyes (perhaps after years of therapy). It is amazing that Jeannette, her brother Brian and sister Lori over came a life of poverty and abuse to become the successful people they are today. The youngest, Maureen, was the most scarred and troubled. Having an alcoholic father, Rex and artist mother, Rose Mary, who are immature, self centred and in many ways suffering from their own traumatic upbringing, loved their children in their own special way. There are elements of mental illness, being delusional, abusive, neglectful, and a desire to reject societal norms. Really great acting by Woody Harrelson (Jeannette’s father, Rex); he is almost unrecognizable. All the actors are strong and believable from Brie Larson, who portrays the adult Jeannette, to Naomi Watts as Rose Mary. The cinematographer really captures the towns, the run down homes and both the pathetic and successful people, who enter Jeannette’s life. We can pick our friends but we can’t pick our families.

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2017

Best movie I've seen in years!!!! A true depiction of a alcoholic situation and all the underlying emotions. It should get awards for acting for sure.

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2017

One of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Great acting, solid story line, does not preach nor give a pat answer. Every movie goer will find parts to relate to and pieces of truth. For a tough subject I left feeling positive. Enjoy.

User review rating: 3 August 24, 2017

Naomi watts woody Harrelson Brie Larson and who ever played 10 year old Jeanette were outstanding However I hated how it seem to make it ok for the children to be neglected and abused These were terrible parents who never should have been allowed to keep their children You want to live in one dump to the next go ahead But don't pull your family through it

User review rating: 5 August 23, 2017

Excellent movie, held my interest for the entire time. Woody Harrison's acting was excellent. Highly recommend.

User review rating: 4 August 23, 2017

Excellent movie! I read the book and thought movie was well done.

User review rating: 5 August 21, 2017

A must- see movie of the season. A drama that is piercing and profound on family dynamics and the underground of abuse, poverty and addiction. All actors are very well chosen and it is a movie that is one of the few that are so well made that you want to see them again and read the book or reread if you have already done so.

User review rating: 5 August 21, 2017

A very well-made adaptation of Jeannete Wall's book based on her own experiences of growing up: roving as gypsies with a dysfunctional family . The generational abuse and poverty, how it has affected the children , how it made their father an alcoholic is all interspersed with charming memories of the knowledge and teachings learned by the children . How 3 of them remarkably attain successful careers is a feel-good surprise . The youngest sibling , however, loses her path. It is a story based on true events that transpired. A perspective on family backgrounds and hidden aspects of the under-life. Woody Harrelson deservedly should get an Oscar nod for his remarkable performance as the father. Naomi Watts is exceptional as the Bohemian artistic mother. And Brie Larson carries her lead role with aplomb.

User review rating: 4 August 20, 2017

Worth seeing. Great acting, great story. It's a drama, not an action movie. Many layers to the cast....and well done. A love/hate relationship between parent/child.

User review rating: 5 August 19, 2017

Best movie I've seen in years...much better than I expected! Another reviewer said it romanticized neglect - I don't see that at all. The neglect was hard to watch but the movie is so much more than that. Highly recommend.

User review rating: 1 August 19, 2017

Horrible neglect and abuse of parents was romanticized.

User review rating: 5 August 19, 2017

Absolutely PHENOMENAL!!' Read the book and the movie was actually better!' Woody H. Could not have done a better job..... I wasn't a fan until I watched this performance!' Emotionally exhausting..... brilliant!!! A must-see!!!

User review rating: 4 August 18, 2017

Exceptional acting, especially Woody Harrelson in an emotional story of a dysfunctional family and how the children were effected by an alcoholic but well meaning father and artist mother. I recommend this movie to any true film goer.

User review rating: 3 August 16, 2017

I felt the acting of Woody Harrelson, Naomi Watts, and the young Jeannette's (Ella Anderson and Chandler Head) were awesome. I did not care for the older Jeannette (Brie Larson) at any age. I felt she came across as stiff and I could not bond with her or feel sympathy for her at all. I think it may have been a director's miscall though. Too many long close ups, where she was recalling? thinking?, agonizing? Overall . . . I cannot recommend this movie.

User review rating: 5 August 15, 2017

best film as in craftmanship and acting that I have seen in eons-- every actor-- is on his mark- moves you, yet does not weigh you down to a miasma , simply brilliant film making and acting.

User review rating: 5 August 14, 2017

Such a well done movie. Actors did an awesome job potraying the actual family.

User review rating: 4 August 13, 2017

Very well acted. Did read the book. So well done, that I left! Why? Came too close to home, too believable, too stirring. Had to leave...but the movie is good, providing you don't relate to it...like I did.

User review rating: 5 August 13, 2017

The Glass Castle is clearly a contender for the Oscars as are the performances of Woddy Harrelson, Brie Larson and Naomi Wattts. This film is based on the book and real life experiences of Jeanette Walls who grew up in poverty with an alcoholic father and delusional mother who, along with their 4 children, lived like gypsies in the early sixties and seventies.. This is an outstanding, dramatic film which is directed with perfection by Destin Cretton. Don't miss this one. It is a work of art

User review rating: 1 August 12, 2017

I feel like it was not a dramatic movie at all. It was slow moving and boring. I went there thinking I was going for drama and a thriller, not at all. I would have enjoyed the movie next door much more, Kidnap. Was disappointing Husband and wife, won't let me check both genders.

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2017

Amazing and interesting movie. Read her books years ago, and this movie is true to book events. Interesting to watch, and wonder how the kids survived.

User review rating: 4 August 10, 2017

The Glass Castle is the name of the book by Jeannette Walls, written in 2005. The recently released movie of the same name is based on her memoirs. I read the book just over ten years ago. What I recall was a harrowing tale of a dysfunctional family. This movie, produced 12 years after the book, has been watered down and portrays a father through more sympathetic and understanding eyes (perhaps after years of therapy). It is amazing that Jeannette, her brother Brian and sister Lori over came a life of poverty and abuse to become the successful people they are today. The youngest, Maureen, was the most scarred and troubled. Having an alcoholic father, Rex and artist mother, Rose Mary, who are immature, self centred and in many ways suffering from their own traumatic upbringing, loved their children in their own special way. There are elements of mental illness, being delusional, abusive, neglectful, and a desire to reject societal norms. Really great acting by Woody Harrelson (Jeannette’s father, Rex); he is almost unrecognizable. All the actors are strong and believable from Brie Larson, who portrays the adult Jeannette, to Naomi Watts as Rose Mary. The cinematographer really captures the towns, the run down homes and both the pathetic and successful people, who enter Jeannette’s life. We can pick our friends but we can’t pick our families.

Change Location