The Favourite

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.77 / 5

User rating: 2.77

Based on 218 votes and 90 reviews


  • User rating: 2.77 32.71%
  • User rating: 2.77 7.48%
  • User rating: 2.77 6.54%
  • User rating: 2.77 10.28%
  • User rating: 2.77 42.99%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 90

User review rating: 1 February 19, 2019

It depicted women as either blithering nagging screaming pathetic babies like queen anne, conniving all about eve bitches like abigail or women who will f**k anything to get near and a piece of the power like Lady Sarah Marlborough. In this day and age we don't need yet another movie that denigrates women. Even if its supposed to be a comedy...

User review rating: 1 February 18, 2019

This movie was pure crap!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They just don't know how to make a good movie now a days

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2019

A film for people who like films and not just the recycled garbage of Hollywood, which, it appears from the reviews you see on this site, are what most of the Tribute readers are looking for. This is one of those rare historical films that manages to tell a little know patch of actual history while keeping it pretty entertaining. I should note that some of the event may not have happened it is based on stories from people in the court, including Sarah Churchills own tell all. Beside that, the acting is fabulous and there are a lot of great laughs

User review rating: 1 February 15, 2019

If you are a masochist you may love this film. I’m not a prude but it is beyond me how the Producers raised the millions to make this piece of trash. Story was weak. Music was distracting. Acting was average at best yet somehow it got 10 Nominations. Save your cash money and watch when it is released on DVD if you must. I’d give it Zero or minus if I could but one star for costumes.

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2019

Outstanding(mature only!) lt's an"Amazing" experience.

User review rating: 1 February 11, 2019

Absolutely the worst movie I’ve seen in a very long time. No story line and horrible ending. Don’t waste your time or money. One star is for the queens acting

User review rating: 1 February 07, 2019

Great cast, terrible movie. Boring, not funny or entertaining.

User review rating: 2 February 06, 2019

Very disappointing , acting was very good, Olivia did good job, but movie was quite boring

User review rating: 1 February 06, 2019

So unimportant! No historical significance....only nasty rumored sexual affairs between women. PLEASE do NOT bother.

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2019

A tour de force of 3 amazing performances! One of the best movies of the year!

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2019

Absolute horrid movie from beginning to end! Raunchy, depressing & totally unbelievable! The One & Only saving grace to this movie was Olivia Coleman’s terrific acting!

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2019

The trailers were the best part. Should have read reviews first ~ acting was fine, but the storyline was awful ~ read the other one stars and I would concur. Wasted 2 hours watching hoping for something worth my time. Sorely disappointed ~ not wasting anymore time reviewing.

User review rating: 3 February 04, 2019

This is about the dysfunctional politics of the English court. If you don't go in to it with that in mind you might be disappointed.

User review rating: 5 February 04, 2019

wonderfully acted, costumed and styled.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2019

This is an exceptional period drama/black comedy showcasing three brilliant actresses. Of course, being an entertainment, it squews the facts a little. However, the backbone of the story, the rivalry of two ladies in waiting for Queen Anne’s affection, and the power that is attached to said affection, is historically correct. Olivia Coleman has already garnered the Golden Globes, Best Actress Award for her turn as the declining Queen Anne, emotionally and intellectually ill equipped for her position as Head of State. Of the many highlights of Ms. Coleman’s performance my favorite, (no pun intended), is the one where, in a single, continuous take, she transforms from a happy, smiling observer of her friend dancing, to a woman on the verge of tears, with eyes welling up almost to the point of overflow. While I did not expect this British, period piece to take in a fortune at the American box offices, I did expect those who chose to see it to appreciate it far more than this site suggests. BTW.....the ending had a definite point, for those who thought it disappointing. It brought the younger “Favorite’s” rise and fall full circle. Certainly not uplifting, but very apropos.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2019

Spectacular! I went in not knowing what to expect and it blew me away. Took some liberties with the history, but no one knows for sure what really went on! Some of it was accurate and acting was superb.

User review rating: 4 February 02, 2019

This movie is insane with seriously no point, but if you can be present with it. The acting is genius. Loved it!

User review rating: 1 February 01, 2019

The writers treated the audience (must be idiots to watch this) with as much disrespect as the characters treated each other. I felt I had been beaten with a two by four by the time I left the theater.

User review rating: 1 January 31, 2019

Costume period piece that reminds us that the good old days really weren't so good. Nothing redeeming about this film except sets and costumes. The story, script, acting, film directing, and editing all pure sh*t. A waste of everyone's time and talents including mine. They should burn every copy.

User review rating: 1 January 31, 2019

I'm a fan of Emma Stone & Rachel Weiss, and normally love period / historical pieces. But this movie was terrible; script not clear, score was SO distracting. So disappointed & waste of time!

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2019

GARBAGE!!! A TOTAL WASTE OF TIME!!! Historical fiction at its worst!! If you want to see an ugly 450 lb woman stuff her face, then watch a close up of vomit spewing out of her mouth into a large metal container followed by her in a lesbian love scene while someone is attending to her fat foot (she had gout) - this is your movie. I left after 45 minutes. Had enough of this crap to last me a l o n g time!! DISGUSTING!!! PHEW!!!!

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2019

ABSOLUTE TRASH GARBAGE ON FILM.... I WANT MY MONEY BACK ASAP!!

User review rating: 1 January 30, 2019

Didn't like me this movie at all , we left before it was over.. Pretty discusting and very boring..

User review rating: 1 January 29, 2019

unbelievably b-0-r-i-n-g - left before the ending, and please, no one tell me it's ending, because I don't care! It was so bad, I couldn't even sleep thru it either.

User review rating: 1 January 29, 2019

This was the worst movie I've ever seen! How critics can say it's good is beyond me. Save your money!

User review rating: 1 January 29, 2019

Glorified porn film. Ugly in sooo many ways. Dont see it. You will reget it for weeks to come.

User review rating: 3 January 29, 2019

Costumes and special effects impressive. Acting superb. Story not so good and a little disgusting. Would have liked to been somewhere else.

User review rating: 1 January 29, 2019

This movie was horrid. Previews are decieving about the lesbian acts performed in the movie. I was very uncomfortable. The film is slow and boring. Waste of time and money.

User review rating: 1 January 28, 2019

Too much gratuitous sex. Sound wasn’t good on the speaking and way too loud for the background “music”. Not a very clear story line.

User review rating: 1 January 28, 2019

The scenes inside of the mansion were impressive as were the costumes. However, the movie was flat. I felt like the the little boy in the fable who was expected to say that the king's clothing was beautiful. Like him, I did not see a good story, engaging dialogs or any virtue worth the time and money for this movie. My advice - skip it.

User review rating: 3 January 27, 2019

Movie about Queen Anne’s reign about 1700 to 1707. I’m not a prude but sure wasn’t expecting to hear the cxxx wors, the fxxx word and scenes about the queen enjoying lesbian sex with her favourites. Good movie depicting the horrible, harsh life in medieval England.

User review rating: 1 January 27, 2019

Not worth watching very poor quality movie and acting and cant believe Emma Stone would go this low. Walked out it wasnt going anywhere.

User review rating: 1 January 27, 2019

So much fingering. It was a wasted time and money. Poor story line it was very slow and the ending was ridiculous

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2019

I hated this movie. I thought it was vulgar and boring. A waste of time and money,

User review rating: 1 January 25, 2019

Pure trash! Don’t waste your money! High school acting. Terrible script.

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2019

Excellent performance by Olivia Colman!!!

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2019

Finally a good movie in Tyler for adults!!!! I loved it!

User review rating: 1 January 22, 2019

I don't even think it is worth rating. I thought it was disgusting! I cannot believe Emma Stone would choose to do a movie like that. I left before it was over. Waste of money.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2019

Awesome story...acting excellent. I did find the ending a bit disapointing.

User review rating: 1 January 21, 2019

This movie is very unappealing dont waste ur time and money. Emma Stone's worst movie ever. It grossed me out.

User review rating: 2 January 21, 2019

With 2 weeks, I saw The Green Book, The Wife and (the movie with Brian Cranston and Kevin Hart) at The Wharf - these were all excellent and I recommended all three to friends. The Favourite was dreadful and made me uncomfortable - as it did many of the people sitting close to me. It was also "panned" by many when we left the movie and were in the ladies' room. I should have walked out. If I was watching it on Netflix, I would have exited it and watched something else. It may well be "true," but the exaggeration and extreme emphasis on sexuality were definitely not my taste; I did see a trailer and read a few reviews, but these avoided the depth of the director's emphasis on sexuality and debasement.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2019

enjoyed the humor and the acting was good - story was not, ending was bad, would have asked for money back, some people did walk out half way through

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2019

You may not learn much about English history, but I really liked this film about social and political intrigue and dynamics in the royal court of England's Queen Anne. Great acting and interacting among the performers; the three female leads were especially wonderful. Costumes, settings were fascinatingly almost modern in an odd way.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2019

Exquisitely acted, masterful use of wit and whimsy, a wonderful collection of stellar talent. Oh, and there are some men thrown in for those that are not sure who to follow...

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2019

I went in not knowing at all what to expect. And was pleasantly surprised. The film was funny, quirky, and excellently acted. I was happy to see the ensemble get the Critics Choice award for acting. Really well deserved. If you want conventional storytelling then, perhaps, this isn't for you. Certainly would go see it again.

User review rating: 1 January 14, 2019

A total waste of $8.50. Wanted to walk out but stayed to see if it got any better. It didn't.

User review rating: 1 January 10, 2019

Based on the queen deciding which female she liked best to give her orall sex. Totally not what my husband and I expected. Wanted to ask for our money back!! A lot of couples that were at the same showing felt the same way. Show didn't start on time.was at 5:35 pm. Did not start until 6:00pm..

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2019

Different take on a period piece that is very clever and quirky in its portrayal of women, sex, and power. Olivia Colman was brilliant!

User review rating: 1 January 06, 2019

I would rate this movie 0 stars if possible. It was the biggest waste of time - 2 hours of life that I cannot get back! Save your $$ and time and go to see something else!

User review rating: 1 January 05, 2019

Acting was good.......story was scummie , R2z. Sorry I went. Want my money back.

Change Location