The Dark Tower

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.74 / 5

User rating: 3.74

Based on 224 votes and 60 reviews


  • User rating: 3.74 30.43%
  • User rating: 3.74 39.13%
  • User rating: 3.74 16.30%
  • User rating: 3.74 2.17%
  • User rating: 3.74 11.96%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 60

User review rating: 4 August 16, 2017

As a #1 King fan there was Just soooo much missing from book. It was expectef tho cause no way can all that is told in the book can fit into a movie time span. I am hoping for sequels. What was there was interpreted very well. Loved loved loved all the images inserted thru out the Dark Tower movie from other King books/movies that only a fan would spot!

User review rating: 2 August 16, 2017

The movie was too hokey. Just a way to get out of the heat.

User review rating: 4 August 15, 2017

I never read the books but will now. The movie was great and the three main characters were well cast. I have talk to friends who have read the book and it sounds like the movie deviated from the story but what's new. I recommend people see this one on the big screen.

User review rating: 3 August 15, 2017

Too short for the story it is trying to tell. Rushed arcs, hurried development, and rapid resolutions. It should of been at least two and a half hours but they crammed it into 95 minutes. It will leave you wanting.

User review rating: 1 August 14, 2017

Awful.

User review rating: 4 August 14, 2017

AWESOME

User review rating: 4 August 14, 2017

Knew it couldn't capture all of the books. They did get the spirit of Jake and the gunslinger. I actually enjoyed the movie despite some bad reviews.

User review rating: 0 August 14, 2017

I didn't read books, but I thought the movie was fantastic! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

User review rating: 5 August 13, 2017

It was awesome!! Just the start to more stephen king!!

User review rating: 1 August 12, 2017

Boring and slow. I actually fell asleep at one point. Very little character development and back story. I think Ron Howard fell asleep when he was producing it. Stephen King's epic story was botched here and I am very dissapointed with this result.

User review rating: 5 August 12, 2017

Loved it! I hope to see sequels to help scratch the surface of what the books offered.

User review rating: 4 August 11, 2017

we enjoyed the movie it was very very good

User review rating: 4 August 11, 2017

I loved the movie it was an amazing film !

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2017

THAT WAS AWESOME AND AMAZING

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2017

Always liked Stephen King, this is one novel I didn't read, but it is a fantastic movie, action packed, good special effects, total fantasy sci fi.

User review rating: 3 August 11, 2017

I love anything Idris Elba is in. A must see

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2017

Excellent story and effects.

User review rating: 0 August 10, 2017

This movie is very very cool!!!!!

User review rating: 4 August 10, 2017

Wonderful job capturing the feel of the book.

User review rating: 3 August 10, 2017

This movie was really great and awesome!!!

User review rating: 0 August 10, 2017

Enjoyable non-stop action.

User review rating: 5 August 10, 2017

Most excellent in every way...will see it again.

User review rating: 4 August 10, 2017

I enjoyed this movie, was not boring. actors fit their characters well..

User review rating: 1 August 09, 2017

Junk movie see it on the $6/day.

User review rating: 0 August 09, 2017

I love the Stephen King's book, but a lot different when it comes to the movie, and love how the kid and Matthew play their characters.

User review rating: 4 August 09, 2017

I haven't read the books but I've looked into them enough to have a sense of them. I am pretty sure anyone who read the books isn't going to think much of this movie. And that is totally fair. As someone who hasn't read the books, I thought it was not bad at all, and will probably watch it at least once more when it's released on dvd. And I loved Idris Elba as the Gunslinger and hope they proceed to do a television show with him followed by movie sequels as they said they were interested in doing.

User review rating: 1 August 09, 2017

This series is the most amazing thing i have ever read. This movie is probably the furthest thing from what the books are. Aside from a few cheesy lines and Roland loading his gun super fast, it didn't have anything to do with the actually books.

User review rating: 1 August 09, 2017

Absolutely terrible, Mr. King and Howard should feel very guilty cashing the $$$ they were paid for this waste of time. Read all the novels in the series and the title is were the movie stopped being based on them.

User review rating: 5 August 09, 2017

Good movie. I might end repeating the movie again soon.

User review rating: 0 August 09, 2017

COOL MOVIE WITH GREAT ACTORS!!!!!

User review rating: 1 August 09, 2017

WHERE DID THEY GET THIS PIECE OF sh*t. THE STORY HAS NO RESEMBLANCE TO THE GREAT WRITINGS OF STEVEN KING. THE GUNSLINGER IS A VISUAL EXTENTION OF KING HIMSELF. I WAS GREATLY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS REDICULOUS ATTEMT TO TELL AN EXCITING RENDITION OF A GREAT SERIES.

User review rating: 4 August 08, 2017

I loved it very good movie!!!

User review rating: 4 August 08, 2017

Good movie

User review rating: 2 August 08, 2017

Of course there was no way to fit a seven book epic into a 90 minute movie, but you think they'd at least try to capture the spirit of the thing; it's how Game of Thrones continues to be great despite having been off book for some time. This is not my Roland, this is not my Mid World, this is not my Dark Tower.

User review rating: 1 August 08, 2017

At one-star, this movie is way over-rated. Garbage. I'll never buy a Lincoln after watching this crap.

User review rating: 1 August 08, 2017

Too much tell. Not nearly enough show. Not a bad for a tv episode, not not enough to represent King's best work.

User review rating: 5 August 07, 2017

Idris carries himself with a gravity that surpasses the best! MM knows the meaning of being a top notch "bad guy" and what else do you need?! Enjoy this one!

User review rating: 3 August 07, 2017

Pretty good, I'm a big Stephen King fan but the movie was a little dry, I wish they'd done a little more with the story.

User review rating: 0 August 07, 2017

Idris Elba just rocked this movie!!!!!

User review rating: 0 August 07, 2017

Matthew McConaughey has done it again! AWESOME

User review rating: 3 August 07, 2017

The movie holds its own as a good stand alone with solid acting and neat effects. However, if you are a fan of the series and have read the books, it was at times painful to watch as it loosely utilizes the lore from Stephen Kings magnum opus. 8/10 As an avid movie fan, 2/10 as a Dark Tower fan, worth going to see however.

User review rating: 5 August 07, 2017

The best since THE TWO TOWERS.

User review rating: 0 August 07, 2017

Very good future western action movie.

User review rating: 1 August 07, 2017

BORING!!! AND MATTHEW MCCONAUGHEY IS UGLY!

User review rating: 1 August 07, 2017

The mumbo-jumbo/purple prose quotient was off the charts, but couldn't disguise how empty the film really is. Set your sights elsewhere.

User review rating: 0 August 06, 2017

Really enjoyed this movie....one of the summer best action movies!!!!

User review rating: 5 August 06, 2017

Best movie of the summer

User review rating: 5 August 06, 2017

Proof once again that critics should be ignored. Great movie. Rare can it be said that a movie adaption stands alone quite as well as the dark tower has accomplished. Glad it's doing so well despite the hate from the media and self described critics!!

User review rating: 4 August 06, 2017

I never read the books but I really enjoyed this movie. If you haven't read the books then you will most likely enjoy this movie

User review rating: 3 August 05, 2017

"The Dark Tower" books were probably my favorite Stephen King series. And although this movie captured some of the gist of the story, that powerful sense of wonderment and mystery that the book created was sadly missing here. There some good action scenes and I thought Matthew McConaughey played a convincing villain. However if you loved the book(s), I think you'll be disappointed in this movie. RAN

Change Location