The Big Sick

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.74 / 5

User rating: 3.74

Based on 170 votes and 64 reviews


  • User rating: 3.74 40.00%
  • User rating: 3.74 33.75%
  • User rating: 3.74 6.25%
  • User rating: 3.74 0.00%
  • User rating: 3.74 20.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 64

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2018

Loved it!

User review rating: 4 November 11, 2017

A very funny movie, while managing to deal with a few serious issues. It was a wonderful role for Holly Hunter!

User review rating: 5 October 06, 2017

Loved it. Funny, topical, innovative, good stuff!

User review rating: 5 September 17, 2017

I adored these characters. Could have spent another hour with them!

User review rating: 5 September 16, 2017

Amazing, I live the same story ,I'm muslim girl with Chinese guy, I live the best life on this earth, I hope We can marry with our family's blessings .

User review rating: 4 August 22, 2017

very real and down to earth, Love is love and given challenges the truth shines bright.

User review rating: 1 August 03, 2017

Terrible actors/actresses

User review rating: 5 July 29, 2017

made me cry ... still bowing my nose at the end while the credits rolled.

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2017

very good movie i enjoyed it

User review rating: 0 July 24, 2017

I thought it was very enjoyable! Really a delightful romantic comedy that one should go to. Acting was great too!

User review rating: 5 July 23, 2017

great movie. loved it. at first i thought it would be predictable little mosque on the prairie fare, but no. totally different, very funny, believable (it is a true story), and relevant. Some classic scenes ... Go see it!

User review rating: 4 July 23, 2017

Very relatateable story line.

User review rating: 1 July 23, 2017

Horrible not funny at all. Don't know how it was rated 4 stars!! Only a few people in theatre even chuckled!

User review rating: 5 July 22, 2017

A must see! Wonderful story of relationship told with humor and depth!

User review rating: 4 July 22, 2017

Shows how different cultures are. And Love always is strong.

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2017

Have not laughed so much at a movie !!! Went with a girlfriend and both thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I loved it so much I will probably go to see it again

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2017

A must see! This was an amazing movie. I laughed and cried through the entire movie. Well worth seeing, don't listen to the negative comments - you'll love it!!

User review rating: 5 July 20, 2017

It's nice to go to a comedy that has more than a couple of laughs that you've seen already in the trailer. This one has dozens and dozens of funny moments. The comedy plays out against the backdrop of a touching love story. Very good film...93/100..guru Bob

User review rating: 5 July 20, 2017

I loved the movie

User review rating: 1 July 18, 2017

the big suck errrrrrrrrrr I mean sick sucks

User review rating: 5 July 18, 2017

Best more real depiction of multiracial dating I've seen in a while. Amazing true story. Wow

User review rating: 3 July 18, 2017

Boring! Nothing great in this movie! Don't rush to see it.

User review rating: 4 July 17, 2017

I enjoyed the movie with the stupid title. I still don't get how people have sex the evening that they meet, although I know they are telling their own story.

User review rating: 4 July 16, 2017

Good story. Lots of laughs and some tears too.

User review rating: 4 July 15, 2017

A beautiful story, and true, how someones love for another can't be broken even for cultural or religious reasons. Loved it!!!!

User review rating: 0 July 14, 2017

This movie was overrated dump, boring and stupid. Don't waste your money for this movie

User review rating: 0 July 14, 2017

Someone asked "Who writes this crap?" If you did a little research you would know that it was written by the two people who were actually telling their story. Everyone's story is different, and what you experienced was your story. Maybe you should write your own movie.

User review rating: 0 July 13, 2017

Awesome movie. Funny, heartwarming and great story line.

User review rating: 5 July 12, 2017

Absolutely hilarious! I went with my boyfriend and two 72 year old ladies and everyone was laughing out loud throughout. This is the best romantic comedy I've seen in a very long time.

User review rating: 5 July 11, 2017

Very funny and smart, original.

User review rating: 1 July 10, 2017

Total stereotyping...

User review rating: 5 July 08, 2017

Wonderful movie. It will make you laugh, and cry, and cheer for the good guy. The importance of family and culture and love. I loved it. Great script , great acting.

User review rating: 5 July 08, 2017

It was very funny and very sweet

User review rating: 4 July 07, 2017

Very enjoyable movie!

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2017

Excellent story.

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2017

Really sweet with true-to-life and complex characters. I love it when I can genuinely laugh and cry in the same film and walk out feeling challenged and refreshed. Everyone gives an incredible performance.

User review rating: 4 July 07, 2017

Great characters.

User review rating: 0 July 06, 2017

I really liked this movie. It was a love story that was surprisingly sweet & about how important family is. Not what I was expecting. Liked that it was funny, but not laugh track type funny.

User review rating: 4 July 06, 2017

Pleasantly entertaining.

User review rating: 4 July 06, 2017

It was a funny movie with a good message and relevant for today.

User review rating: 3 July 06, 2017

I did enjoy it, but thought it would be funnier. Maybe I was so tired going to this movie that I missed a lot. My friend thought it was really good though.

User review rating: 5 July 06, 2017

This movie has everything - laughs, tears, fears. Best part is that it is based on real life events. Go see it!

User review rating: 4 July 06, 2017

Funny and sweet.

User review rating: 4 July 06, 2017

In spite of that terrible title (which seems to be designed to drive people away), it's surprisingly good. Unfortunately it introduces several characters who are quite interesting; but, it can't seem to resolve how to deal with them. And it kept stumbling into promising situations that it didn't have the wherewithal to explore further. For instance, I would've liked to know more about all those prospective Pakistani brides who were smart & funny & elegant. And those poor kids slaving away hopelessly with tired & terrible routines in the comedy clubs. And why did the hero absolutely need to have a blonde white woman who was written as being a bitch anyway. I would've liked an explanation.

User review rating: 5 July 06, 2017

I'm so very glad I was able to this movie. It is everything promised and more. The actors were well chosen and the chemistry was obvious. I really enjoyed learning something from this. Absolutely a must see.

User review rating: 4 July 06, 2017

I found it was really funny. I enjoyed how it emphasizes cultural differences in a funny way and it was not shy to poke fun at issues facing society today. The ending was predictable but cute

User review rating: 5 July 06, 2017

Saw this movie with three friends. We all agreed it is a 5 star movie. Good mix of comedy and real life issues. Loved Holly Hunter's comedy club meltdown!!

User review rating: 3 July 06, 2017

I enjoyed the movie. I like learning about different customs and traditions. I wish there were more movies like this one. I think what we understand takes the fear of out guessing. Thank you for picking my name.

User review rating: 5 July 06, 2017

Very funny and heartwarming! These characters were so sweet together. I was pleasantly surprised by this movie! I recommend!

User review rating: 4 July 06, 2017

My friend and I loved this movie. It was touching, funny and heart-warming. A real life love story complicated by cultural impediments and a severe health crisis sensitively portrayed. Highly recommend!

Change Location