Rise of the Planet of the Apes

Thank you for rating this movie!

Rise of the Planet of the Apes Movie Poster

4.31 / 5

User rating: 4.31

Based on 888 votes and 221 reviews


  • User rating: 4.31 58.21%
  • User rating: 4.31 26.37%
  • User rating: 4.31 8.21%
  • User rating: 4.31 2.99%
  • User rating: 4.31 4.23%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?




Type the code:


 

Showing 101 to 150 of 221

User review rating: 5 October 24, 2011

great movie, loved it!!!!! please see, if you like the planet of the apes movie this shall not disappoint you

User review rating: 3 October 23, 2011

Good pre-quel, best CGI yet, the role the James Franco has is too small.

User review rating: 4 October 23, 2011

surprisingly good. Cgi apes allow so much humanity into the apes you really care for them

User review rating: 5 October 23, 2011

Great movie! Entertaining, good storyline, cast was great - really no complaints! Thought that the CGI was fantastic, and the fact that the movie had me acting emotional towards an 'ape' really demonstrates the successfulness of the director. A must-see!

User review rating: 4 October 23, 2011

Good reworking of the franchise.

User review rating: 5 October 23, 2011

Loved this movie. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised as I wasn't too sure I would actually like it.

User review rating: 3 October 23, 2011

Entertaining; kept my attention throughout the movie, i enjoyed it.

User review rating: 5 October 22, 2011

probably the best movie of the summer. they are really getting good with the cgi. andy serkis is the king of motion capture.

User review rating: 4 October 22, 2011

Really good - not only did my 10 year old love it my husband watched it twice with him. Two thumbs up for me. Good story line with how the whole medical/drug industry plays God etc... and the reprecutions of that.

User review rating: 4 October 20, 2011

A good rethinking.

User review rating: 4 October 20, 2011

I was not disappointed

User review rating: 3 October 20, 2011

nothing to write home about

User review rating: 5 October 20, 2011

Great movie, if you are a planet of the apes series fan then this is an amazing opportunity to discover how it all began. It is in my opinion one if not the best movie of the year!

User review rating: 5 October 20, 2011

Wayyyyy better than the first one!!! Just remake the first one and forget about Mark Wahlberg! Please make a second or a third!

User review rating: 5 October 20, 2011

I loved the originals and I just watched one again last night. This is way better than that crappy Mark Walberg one from a few years back. I really like how the story evolved, explaining with a believable pitch in how the whole ape thing got started. Really well done.

User review rating: 5 October 11, 2011

Saw it twice, my buddy saw it three times. Can't wait for the sequel! The film did well to capture the theme of the oppressed rising against the oppressor. I would agree that one down side of the movie was the fight on the bridge, while it was exciting to watch and showed the intelligence of the apes to be superior to that of the humans it could have been more realistic. Why didn't the helicopters see them? How did the apes not get shot down with all those guns blazing? Why didn't the apes use the guns if they were so smart? 5 stars for a captivating story.

User review rating: 5 September 16, 2011

Great stuff. My favorite part is, on the bridge the gorillas pushing the bus. The music is awesome.

User review rating: 4 September 14, 2011

Story was a little different than I expected which was a good thing. It is well worth going to see.

User review rating: 1 September 06, 2011

I was surprised after all the fantastic reviews at just how dull this movie was. I guess you love it or hate it. I thought it was predictable worthless junk and could not for the life of me get into the stupidity of it. I did try.

User review rating: 5 September 05, 2011

by far, the best of the year.

User review rating: 5 September 04, 2011

I think some people just like to rate movies badly for some sort of sport because this was an excellent movie. It used some real science to explain the accelerated evolution of the apes. Perhaps some people didn't understand it enough to enjoy it.

User review rating: 5 September 03, 2011

It was well done, loved the special effects and the story line.

User review rating: 1 September 03, 2011

terrible. As if they couldn't just nuke the bridge and kill all the apes right there. BOOOOOOOOOOOORING

User review rating: 5 August 31, 2011

Great plot! Apes are super cute!

User review rating: 5 August 30, 2011

Just watched the movie with my two sons 19 and 20 years of age ,we all agreed that the movie was well done and kept our interest throught out the lenght of the show

User review rating: 3 August 29, 2011

Poorly made adaptation from what used to be the original. Easy to see that if enough money is made. The story is heartbraking, yet make3s us remeber how lucky we are as ( humans). But odly enough , it also points out truth,we are not the smartest are we?

User review rating: 4 August 28, 2011

Good Plotline, amusing, had some heart in it. A good movie for Animal Lovers. Nothing like the '68 original, but still a really food film!

User review rating: 5 August 26, 2011

great movie, entertaing and i loved ceaser. if you love sci fi you'll love this!

User review rating: 1 August 23, 2011

I left after an hour. Not knowing Caesar's mom was pregnant was improbable. Keeping a smart chimp inside for the first three years of his life was improbable. The vet and the genetist being so naive was improbable.....

User review rating: 5 August 22, 2011

I read all the reviews then went and saw it. It is very good.From start to finish it is entertaining: you are not sure what is going to happen, exactly, throughout the whole show. The FX are better than complainers say.They include enough for those who have seen the previous ones to keep you in the know. Watch carfully for those. Watch into the end credits too. Lots of anxiety and suspense. Some moving moments too. What else would want from a movie. I thought it was great. See it.

User review rating: 5 August 22, 2011

This was the greates movie I have ever seen, I laughed, I cried. There were such intense moments of action that I was jumping out of my seat. The apes were so life like. The acting was superb...see this movie!

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2011

I don't understand how many of you actually liked this movie. It was slow to begin with and boring and it never build up from that. As other reviewers said if they really wanted to, they could of shot all the apes and end it there. WORST MOVIE OF THE YEAR SO FAR. Rating 1 star cause can't rate any less, don't waste your money

User review rating: 2 August 21, 2011

Bad FX, bad acting, laughable plot... c'mon don't insult us.

User review rating: 5 August 21, 2011

Best movie of the year!!! I loved that they actually developed the characters instead of just making it all action. It was so good I would pay to see it again. Definitely recommend this movie for adults or teenagers. There are some scary parts that a child may be scared of.

User review rating: 1 August 21, 2011

Who ever said this movie is good, excellent, awesome!!...is lying to you and has a lot of time on their hands to post such nonesense. Don't see this movie. This is the truth. Since you can leave a comment more than once, the review ratings on here are skewed--far from the truth.

User review rating: 1 August 21, 2011

Ummm...pathetic.

User review rating: 0 August 21, 2011

Really??? Save your money. I was bored the whole way through. I didn't stay to watch the end of the movie. Either people are really big liars to say this movie was good or...well, delusional.

User review rating: 4 August 20, 2011

I really liked it!

User review rating: 5 August 19, 2011

I can tell by the reviews, which of you stayed for the end of the movie! It ends inside the closing titles. If you leave when the closing credits start...you miss the ending.... I imagine that the sequel will start with the return of the mars mission, and only apes are left on earth.... If you missed it, it's worth it to go back; and see it again!

User review rating: 5 August 19, 2011

If there were 10 stars thats whats I'd rate it. It was Fabulous!! I was entertained from beginning to end. There were a couple of parts I kind of didn't like, but knew it was for a reason. The scenes weren't that bad, as opposed to other movies because they followed a logical order. When it became apparent the reason those things happened, then the scenes redeemed themselves. Thanks a million for a Great movie, because some as other people have been saying, have been mediocre.

User review rating: 5 August 19, 2011

I like the movie very much now know how the plantt of the apes got started.

User review rating: 5 August 18, 2011

Great movie. It's strange how it's a prequel to a movie made so long ago. I don't know how anyone could make any more ape movie (because there's not much more ground to cover) but if said movie is ever made I look forward to watching it. P.S LOVED IT.

User review rating: 4 August 18, 2011

I thought it might end up being kind of stupid but it was really awesome! Great cinematography, they did a beautiful job making the apes. In a summer that's been a little thin on good movies this is a land mark.

User review rating: 4 August 17, 2011

Wow. I was impressed. I can't say it's believable but they did a damn good job. I was so curious how apes could rule the world as the military would wipe them out but now I see the side effect. Stay till the credits go up!

User review rating: 5 August 17, 2011

Amazing movie very good use of all elements and such very will written

User review rating: 5 August 16, 2011

Wow what movie... Loved it from start to finish. Great build up to rise of the apes. Can't wait to buy blu-ray!!!

User review rating: 5 August 16, 2011

Best movie in 2011!

User review rating: 5 August 16, 2011

Very good science fiction and very well written! James Franco might not have been my first pic for this, but he seemed to work in the roll okay. The real star is, of course, Caesar, amazingly portrayed by Andy Sirkis! This film could be considered a prequel to either POTA's movies! Suspenseful, scary, and thought provoking! I highly recommend it!

User review rating: 5 August 15, 2011

Brilliant! Dramatic and intense! Very good storyline and great acting. It was more like rise of the apes in San Francisco, but hopefully the sequels will expand. Can't wait for more!

User review rating: 5 August 15, 2011

Are you sure it was the movie and not you that's slow? Great pace, and set up for the TRILOGY

Change Location