On the Basis of Sex

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.13 / 5

User rating: 4.13

Based on 98 votes and 33 reviews


  • User rating: 4.13 73.91%
  • User rating: 4.13 2.17%
  • User rating: 4.13 4.35%
  • User rating: 4.13 2.17%
  • User rating: 4.13 17.39%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 33 of 33

User review rating: 5 March 20, 2019

A wonderful portrait of a true America (s)hero! A chapter of history that everyone should be taught.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2019

Well told story. Realistic portrayal of the times, especially on how society viewed what the role of women should be in the academic, social, and business world. The movie effectively reflects RGG's transition from a supportive wife to a capable, self confident lawyer and jurist of extraordinary intelligence in the face of obstacles from many sources. Th factual portrayal is understated leading to a climax that is dramatically explosive as she fully asserts herself . The epilogue depicts her many accomplishments.

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was well acted. The script was well written. The choice of actors was superb and plausible. Unfortunately, I'm not sure the action adventure crowd will go for it. No explosions or wise cracks just a well told true story. Bravo!

User review rating: 3 February 06, 2019

As far as movies go, it is well made with few if any flaws. This is unfortunate, because future generation will judge RBG by this movie. She is no heroine and does not deserve this kind of acclaim.

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2019

Outstanding, best movie of 2019. The only people who would not like this movie are the uneducated people who still support pathological liar Trump first, Russia second and the USA last

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2019

Watch the CNN documentary on Ruth Bader Ginsburg. She accomplished more than so many in her lifetime.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2019

The guy who wrote that Ruth is no hero should get a reality check on life. He is ignorant beyond words. What she has done for women has been absolutely amazing. I guess it depends on how much a person respects women

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2019

What an amazing movIe

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2019

Great fantastic movie

User review rating: 1 January 28, 2019

Ruth is no hero, in fact she represents everything that honest and moral people abhor. This movie is about steering a narrative.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2019

Great performance and message.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2019

First rate movie

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2019

Second Review - I don't look at this movie from a political perspective. I look art it as a woman (or man) who is ambitious in doing the right thing & correcting injustices to whom ever the injustice applies to , but is oppressed for being a woman, but has the fire in her to pursue her initial dreams eventually, in part , with the help of here husband As important ; the respect, support & sometimes protective nature of her husband in helping his wife fulfill her dreams. Excellent model of a couple . And a shout-out for director Mimi Leder who often don't get the credit they deserve. (until Award time, maybe).

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2019

It's really sad to see how many men out there hate women and resent their successes. It's been many years since women have been proved to be just as intelligent as men, equal in every way except possibly size/muscle and as capable and driven as any man. Thank god there's finally a #metoo movement so men who consider women to be objects can no longer do terrible things to women and girls without being punished and thank god for women like Ruth Bader Ginsburg.

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2019

Amazing portrayal of this amazing Justice! Any woman who has been discriminated against (and it's all of us) will relate to this, and every man will understand while being entertained. This woman has done more for women and human kind than we know. Great entertainment, good story, good cinematography.

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2019

Not sure what the negative reviews are about. Apparently everything recounted in the film itself is true, whatever else you like/dislike about RBG. Seriously, people, try to imagine this kind of drive without hating her for being a woman. Try. You can do it.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2019

An amazing story about well told. A bit of history all should know about. RBG is an incredible woman.

User review rating: 3 January 21, 2019

Interesting movie. I did not realize how influential Mrs Ginsberg's husband was in her pursuit of women's rights. Her story shows how great the successes can be when a wife and husband actually work together on something. Should be a lesson to us all. Filming and acting were great.

User review rating: 1 January 21, 2019

She should be in prison for violating oath of office. Not having a B.S. movie being made for her.

User review rating: 1 January 21, 2019

Moronic portrayal of the life of the most under qualified justice in history. No reason to honor someone that betrays the oath to uphold the Constitution on a daily basis and tells other countries not to use ours as a basis for theirs.

User review rating: 1 January 20, 2019

A horrible, propaganda filled movie.

User review rating: 2 January 19, 2019

It's ok but seems to be a bit politicized when you know how she is as a jurist who is supposed to judge based on the constitution

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2019

Fantastic movie! RBG is my hero and I am so grateful for what she has done for women. It was great to be able to learn more about the process. The last few minutes of the movie were the best part!

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2019

This was just an excellent, excellent movie! I did not realize how good it would be! I have encouraged everyone I know to see the movie! This movie helped me understand what an amazing, brilliant woman is RGB!

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2019

Excellent performance by all. Great movie!

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2019

Fantastic film! RBG was,and still is, an inspiration! Not just for my generation (baby boomers), but for women and men of all ages. Millennials: Wake Up and Pay Attention!

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2019

This is an excellent biopic of Ruth Bader Ginsberg. Contrary to the negative review below, it is an honest depiction of Ginsberg's rise to the Supreme Court. She is an American heroine in my opinion!

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2019

A fantastic depiction of an important time in the early days of women's struggle for equal rights. Gloria Steinem was just beginning to light a fire that spread and grew. I lived through those days and thank RBG for her tireless efforts, through many decades, to win equality for women in the workplace. Note: what little bits of fiction that were added (she didn't really attend her husband's classes for him or flub her opening statement) did not detract from the truth of her story.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2019

I thought it was well done and I enjoyed it.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2019

Great movie & well acted in presenting the little known silent heroes; Someone who persists, in spite of the odds in the pursuit of righting wrongs, Now if only we had a hero today to fix our political system , corporate-run gov't & wall street. I don't think I've ever seen a movie where the highlight of the movie, (where applicable), is the courtroom drama. Any body remember "And Justice For All"?

User review rating: 1 January 10, 2019

It's a glorified political commercial that combines half-truths in order to propel a completely false narrative.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2019

Inspirational, educational and we'll acted!

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2018

This was great ! Ten times better than the docudrama :RBG. that came out last year. Emphasis upon her great women's rights accomplishments.

Change Location