Moonlight

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.44 / 5

User rating: 3.44

Based on 318 votes and 49 reviews


  • User rating: 3.44 48.00%
  • User rating: 3.44 12.00%
  • User rating: 3.44 4.00%
  • User rating: 3.44 8.00%
  • User rating: 3.44 28.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 49 of 49

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2017

WOW. ...a powerful movie,great acting...absorbing. ...

User review rating: 5 March 18, 2017

Coming of age is even harder when you are gay, black and your mom is a crack addict, but Chiron finds unlikely help in Liberty City i the 90's, Miami's toughest section. Wonderful acting and sensitive in its look at homosexuality where it is least tolerated.

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2017

I liked the brilliance of the director's creation of intimacy. I loved the characters. I loved the casting and acting. The only thing I had trouble with was believing that the last actor in the grown-up phase of the protagonist's life was the same physical person as the younger actors in the boy's earlier life. You just have to forget the physical differences. I think one of the greatest scenes was the young man and his mother,her honesty in acknowledging her neglect of him. this was a compassionate and intimate movie with great character portrayals and emotional depth..

User review rating: 1 March 13, 2017

Terrible movie! Do not waste your time or money. Cannot believe it won best picture!

User review rating: 1 March 13, 2017

DISLIKED ALL OF IT! WORSE MOVIE OF THE YEAR!!!!!

User review rating: 5 March 13, 2017

The kind of movie that opens your eyes. Amazing cast. Music that reflects the atmosphere beautifully. Stunning to watch this one particular child grow up. I was thrilled it was recognized at the Oscars.

User review rating: 1 March 11, 2017

I didn't like this movie at all it really confused me. I wouldn't see this movie any more I didn't think it was good at all.

User review rating: 3 March 11, 2017

A good movie but it doesn't deserve to be the golden globe winner for best picture

User review rating: 5 March 11, 2017

This is what film and characterization should aspire to be. Making ones way towards self realization under very difficult circumstances. And a really great score.

User review rating: 3 March 10, 2017

Good acting, decent idea but storyline didn't flow. Lots of holes, slow-moving. Was expecting more.

User review rating: 1 March 07, 2017

How could this movie ever have been chosen as Best Picture??? The Oscars have absolutely no credibility.

User review rating: 1 March 07, 2017

Probably the worst movie that has ever been selected as Best Picture in the history of The Oscars!!!

User review rating: 1 March 07, 2017

Saw it recently because of the Oscars and some of my favorite actors are in it. But sorry to say I didn't enjoy it. Had no sympathy for the characters. Thin story line and characterization. Confusing in many places. Never a fan of the shakey camera technique either. The dialogue was often hard to understand. Very disappointed and would not recommend it. See Hidden Figures ! It's the best movie of the year.

User review rating: 2 March 07, 2017

Expected to see a great movie since it was nominated best movie! Wasn't impressed. Did not see any redeeming value in the subject! Not my pick for best movie. I would have chosen The Shack, Fences, etc. anything but!

User review rating: 2 March 07, 2017

There must have been some redeeming value but it didn't come through. Depressing, but similar to Manchester by the Sea -- slow and depressing.

User review rating: 1 March 07, 2017

Review below keeps changing because it is not even worthy of one star. Boring, Bad acting, How did this win an Oscar????

User review rating: 5 March 06, 2017

I keep trying to rate this movie 5 stars but it keeps changing. Rated 5 stars!

User review rating: 2 March 06, 2017

I agree it was boring and slow. Still not sure why M. Ali won best supporting actor for this. His role was short and OK.

User review rating: 1 March 05, 2017

If you want to see something more exciting and entertaining go and watch paint dry. The Oscars have officially lost all credibility. Winning one obviously means nothing about the quality of a film.

User review rating: 1 March 05, 2017

The real Oscar night mistake for best picture of the year, was giving it to Moonlight. This was movie was slow, boring and missed the mark when trying to make a social statement of a given community. The continuity of the film just wasn't executed well. Scenes were so disjointed it almost seemed as if it was mis- edited. No great memorable scenes or acting here either. If this movie received such acclamation while Hidden Figures was passed up at the awards as it was, then there is a bigger problem in Hollywood than led to believe.

User review rating: 1 March 04, 2017

Boring

User review rating: 1 March 03, 2017

Over-hyped load of twaddle.

User review rating: 1 March 02, 2017

boring

User review rating: 1 February 28, 2017

No plot. I couldnt watch the whole movie. Boring

User review rating: 1 February 27, 2017

boring ,boring,boring!!

User review rating: 4 February 27, 2017

I feel that this would have been more deserving of Best Picture, but that's just me.

User review rating: 1 February 26, 2017

Whenever I look at my watch several times during a movie and keep asking myself when the story is going to start is when I know I'm looking at a boring movie. The acting was great but a good movie is not just about the acting.

User review rating: 5 February 17, 2017

Everything I wished Boyhood would've been.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2017

introspective.... bias is in every community. behave yourself and be nice. you most likely have similar views as the bigots and racists, of other communities. this story should move your mind toward understanding human nature. most individuals may not recognize their likeness to those they fear. get some help with your insecurity. *****

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2017

Boring. The only reason I gave it one star was because there was no provision for no star.

User review rating: 2 February 05, 2017

What was the point? No plot line. Long, boring.

User review rating: 2 January 27, 2017

No real plot and too much sexual content very dissatisfied would not recommend it

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2017

I feel very bad for the person who gave it 1 star and said that it was boring and that he didn't get all of the 5 star ratings it was getting, down below.

User review rating: 4 January 12, 2017

GREAT MOVIE

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2017

Beautiful storyline...Beautiful cast...BEAUTIFUL!!!

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2017

Beautifully acted, written, filmed and directed. Definitely recommend!

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2017

A beautiful masterpiece.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2016

Moonlight interweaves dialogue, silences, looks and gestures to reveal several experiences through characters. These characters nudge Little from Chiron to Black. The crucial philosophy in Moonlight is the caretaker, which is everyone's hand minus a fingertip--the gap that the protagonist must fill in to grow into himself. Once he listens to all of whom he is, Black becomes the dawn to that moonlight.

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2016

I found this ,ovine to be emotionally draining due to the outstanding performances. It really hits home during the current political climate & opiate epidemic.

User review rating: 1 December 14, 2016

Vey disappointing movie - very boring. I cannot understand all the 4 star ratings it gets

User review rating: 1 December 03, 2016

I grew up in a very poor black neighborhood in the 80's and NOBODY dressed the way the characters did. The housing was not anything like portrayed here. The relationship between crack heads and the dope dealers was not real here either. I never remember anyone questioning a 6-8 year old about their sexuality either. The gay black men that I remember had very feminine and promiscuous. This movie is way off base upon reality and written by someone who did not have any idea as to what really happened. Some one is trying to soften the reality of growing up poor and the life of a junkie.

User review rating: 4 November 25, 2016

'Best movie of the year' hype is a bit of an overstatement. Solid character study. Nicely filmed. Well acted. Interesting mix of soundtrack.

User review rating: 5 November 22, 2016

I have already seen this movie twice and am hoping to go see it a third and fourth time. It's an absolute knockout. When the movie ends, you'll wish there was at least another half hour. A very poignant and thought-provoking film experience. And what a cast and musical score ... MASTERPIECE!

User review rating: 5 November 22, 2016

Best movie I have seen in YEARS ... an instant classic. Gorgeous storytelling that never tries to shove any message or agenda down your throat. If you're into car chases, explosions and special effects - stay away. If you're into character studies, this is the movie for you.

User review rating: 2 November 18, 2016

Very slow, really not much of a story line. About being gay kinda. Would not recommend. Can't see how anyone gave it 5 stars.

User review rating: 5 November 17, 2016

Its time that the movies actually represent struggles real people go through. LOVED! approach and the open-endedness of the film. Definitely re-watching!

User review rating: 4 November 16, 2016

Elegant and knowing treatment of how difficult it is to grow up gay in hyper-masculine cultures without becoming hard and disillusioned or worse. This film suggests rather than exploits the problems and uses cinematography to mediate the expression for viewers, softening and making iconic by turns. Uses a delayed audio feature that is worthy of further consideration. Occasionally pious and stereotypical but that doesn't seem to undermine the effort. Very internal story. Requires commitment from viewers but film gives much in return.

User review rating: 5 October 24, 2016

get out your brooms people; Moonlight will sweep the Oscars!

User review rating: 5 October 19, 2016

One of the top 3 or 4 movies I saw at TIFF this year, I can't wait to see it a 2nd time when it comes out soon.

Change Location