Midsommar

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.88 / 5

User rating: 3.88

Based on 150 votes and 43 reviews


  • User rating: 3.88 60.00%
  • User rating: 3.88 13.85%
  • User rating: 3.88 3.08%
  • User rating: 3.88 0.00%
  • User rating: 3.88 23.08%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 43 of 43

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2019

Brilliant.

User review rating: 4 July 15, 2019

Another really cool movie from Ari Astor!

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2019

Saw this movie two weeks ago and still thinking about it. Reminded me of psychological horror movies from the 60s and 70s. Liked it a lot.

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2019

An incredible movie,a 2 1/2 hour panic attack. Beautifully shot and so in touch with how women grieve,handle emotion and have shitty boyfriends

User review rating: 1 July 15, 2019

A waste of time and money. Not worth watching

User review rating: 1 July 14, 2019

Really! It was ridiculous

User review rating: 1 July 13, 2019

One of the top ten worst movies of all time.

User review rating: 5 July 12, 2019

Definitely not a movie for every one, but if you enjoy a movie that doesnt completely lay out the plot for you and leaves you with questions at the end, this is the movie for you. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and highly recommend it.

User review rating: 1 July 11, 2019

one of the most stupid movies i've ever seen. i left half way thru it.

User review rating: 5 July 11, 2019

Soooooo good best movie I’ve seen this year

User review rating: 1 July 10, 2019

Happy when it finally ended.

User review rating: 1 July 10, 2019

Avoid - strange movie, slow storyline. It felt weird to sit through.

User review rating: 4 July 10, 2019

Visceral, emotional, deep and dark; if you liked Hereditary you'll really like this (although it is much gorier and somehow even weirder). Ari Aster continues to work with grief thematically, which Florence Pugh delivers with heart wrenching ferocity. Enough moments of uncomfortable laughter to lift you out of the lake before dropping you back in. If you're into jump scares and CGI, then this isn't the movie for you but if you want to be haunted....

User review rating: 1 July 09, 2019

WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 1 July 09, 2019

Bad, boring, stupid

User review rating: 1 July 09, 2019

I WANT MY MONEY BACK! Repulsive/Sick/Stupid

User review rating: 3 July 09, 2019

Kind of a bust... Ending didn't deliver for the 2 n 1/2 hr long ride. You go in waiting for shit to really hit the fan, but it never does. Also your given just enough in hopes of some crazy payout, but also never delivers. You just go from scene to scene and then it's over. This is what it feels like to have horror movie blue balls. Visually the movie was amazing and the main role did a good job acting. There's just enough to keep you to the end but when you get there it's kinda disappointing... 5 out 10.

User review rating: 5 July 08, 2019

If horror movies with cheap jump scares where the actrors fight hand to hand with demons or ghosts is your thing, chances are you're not going to like Midsommar. This movie exemplifies the real horrors of everyday life like psychiatric illness, fanaticism and substance abuse. Real horror to me is more appealing because what are the chances of me having to fight a demon or ghost in my life. Anyway, kudos to the creators. I hope to see more movies like this in the future.

User review rating: 5 July 08, 2019

Amazing visuals. It’s not for everyone but if you like weird and if you like to be shook I highly recommend.

User review rating: 4 July 08, 2019

Chilling and empowering. Terrifyingly powerful.

User review rating: 4 July 08, 2019

It was a pretty good movie. Not for everyone, some people might think it’s slow but in my opinion it was paced pretty good

User review rating: 5 July 08, 2019

Exceeded expectations, jaw dropping. I do not have words to describe the horror, the excitement, and mind boggling features of this film. It did not follow the norms of a cookie cutter horror film, the ending kept me wanting more but in a good way. It created an amazing and realistic example of a cult like situation.

User review rating: 5 July 08, 2019

Great movie and a treat for fans of horror and psychological thrillers. Acting was phenomenal, very believable protagonists. Would watch again. 5/5

User review rating: 4 July 07, 2019

I thought the cinematography was outstanding along with the soundtrack. All of the leads I thought were great as well. I prefered Hereditary to this one, felt as though this one had a long long buildup to an overall weaker/predictable ending. It was very unsettling. I thought it could have been 30 mins shorter as well, thought it was dragged out at times. Overall I did enjoy it, just felt that it was missing something at the end.

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2019

Great film! Absolutely brilliant! I have to see what else this writer/director’s done.

User review rating: 1 July 07, 2019

THE MOVIE IS RATED WRONGLY...IT IS A TRIPLE X MOVIE...IT WAS DISGUSTING AND I AM SORRY WE WENT TO SEE IT. THE THEATER SHOULD NOT SHOW THIS MOVIE ANYMORE..ON TOP OF BEING PORNOGRAPHIC, IT WAS ALSO BORING. WE HAVE A RESPONSIBILITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY OF WHAT IS BEING SHOWN TO THE PUBLIC AND THE PEOPLE WHO ALLOWED THIS X-RATED FILM TO BE SHOWN SHOULD BE ASHAMED. IT WAS HORRIBLE!

User review rating: 4 July 07, 2019

A beautifully haunting traumatic experience that will leave lasting feeling long after the credits role. At times the plot is slightly disjointed and character development minimal. It is more than made up for with the sheer terror it enacts leaving you confused on why it was so beautiful.

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2019

This is a movie without jump scares, but is one with a slow building sense of dread that will keep you thinking about it hours after the movie has ended. Absolutely awesome film.

User review rating: 4 July 07, 2019

It is not for the faint of heart, using a cult environment to express the process of grief will be hard for some people to understand. Although I cannot blame some people for not liking it since the little gore it has. It is disturbing. I'll definitely recommend for those who like movies that have double meanings.

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2019

Deeply disturbing for me personally, everything I wanted in a modern horror film, made me lose my appetite and questions the Swedes. LOL.

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2019

2 for 2! Loved Hereditary and now I love this!! Keep 'em coming Ari Aster!!!

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2019

I actually agree with the critics on this. It gives you the Wicker Man feel without the Wicker Man.

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2019

A beautiful juxtaposition of visual pageantry and horror. This director's style is not for everyone, but I adore it.

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2019

Everything was soooooo well done. Scene changes were seamless and so much was going on and you were not necessarily on edge but definitely attentive. This is probably one of the best psychological horror movies I've seen. It feels so real and you can really put yourself in the characters' shoes and I feel this is where the true horror lies.

User review rating: 4 July 07, 2019

I had not seen Hereditary, but I was aware of the following behind Ari Aster’s work. It becomes very apparent within the first 10 minutes of Midsommar that the following two hours of film would be handled by a genius in Cinema. I was a little underwhelmed by the plot, but the directing and cinematography throughout is something no director has been able to illustrate as well as Aster has.

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2019

Beautifully shot and scored. The dread and unease is so pervasive throughout the film. Totally worth watching.

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2019

Loved Hereditary and I absolutely loved this movie too!! Deeply disturbing, well acted and thought provoking. This will be an addition to my library for sure.

User review rating: 5 July 07, 2019

Incredible movie by Ari Aster, cinematography was incredible and the story was very deep and compelling. The people complaining that didn't make sense or was very strange, are too dumb to grasp a great movie this was, may rewatch it.

User review rating: 1 July 05, 2019

Very strange and highly not fit to loose money on this movie-Your theater is better than movies like this.

User review rating: 1 July 05, 2019

People....please listen to me...DO NOT go see this!! It is so strange & when it ended everyone in the theatre just looked around because the ending was stupid. That is, those that had not walked out.

User review rating: 1 July 04, 2019

Stupid. Made no sense. Hardly any talking or explanations. Just people moaning and doing weird drugs. The sex seen I can’t Unsee. People laughed through it. Not worth your money find something else to do instead of seeing this movie. 2 1/2 hours you can’t get back.

User review rating: 1 July 04, 2019

May be the worst movie I have ever seen - no audience connection to anyone, nothing set up is paid off, no tension, long slow and boring, made no sense - just plain stupid.

User review rating: 5 July 03, 2019

Wow! I don't know how to begin reviewing this flick . Very strange but in an oddly enjoyable way .Out of a hundred people reviewing this film ,I think you will get a hundred different reviews . I would suggest not reading the reviews and see it for yourself . Just my opinion .

Change Location