Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice

Thank you for rating this movie!

5.00 / 5

User rating: 5

Based on 44 votes and 16 reviews


  • User rating: 5 100.00%
  • User rating: 5 0.00%
  • User rating: 5 0.00%
  • User rating: 5 0.00%
  • User rating: 5 0.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 16 of 16

User review rating: 5 November 02, 2019

A beautiful documentary about one of the most extraordinary singers ever. I knew many of her songs and enjoyed seeing her sing them again. I had never given any thought about what it was like for a woman to succeed in what was then a man's world. But she did give thought to it and voiced those thought in one of the interviews included in the documentary. She was one intelligent woman! Her range as a singer was unbelievable. I had no idea she performed brilliantly in the Pirates of Penzance and was a spectacular mariachi singer was well. The closing scene was bittersweet as Linda, who has Parkinson's Disease, tried and ultimately succeeded in singing a short Mexican song at home accompanied by her nephew and another man. One leaves the theater feeling as though one has been given a marvelous gift.

User review rating: 5 October 20, 2019

Grew up listening to her music and it brought back so many memories! She is an amazing woman and I highly recommend this movie to anyone. Well done Linda!

User review rating: 5 October 09, 2019

The wonderful documentary reminds us of the myriad reasons Linda Ronstadt is a national treasure.

User review rating: 5 October 07, 2019

A beautiful documentary that captures the essence of one of the greatest singer/songwriters in America.

User review rating: 5 October 05, 2019

Fabulous documentary that shows how hard it is to predict what will be successful or a failure. It also communicates Linda's authenticity in her artistic choices. Linda also had great artists and producers to work with.

User review rating: 5 October 02, 2019

An incredible story of Linda's life, trials and tribulations! One of the best documentary films I have seen! Wonderful music and I had no idea the range of her talent. A must-see movie if you lived in the 60's and 70's. Best voice of all times!

User review rating: 5 October 01, 2019

Good overview of her singing career with some of the personal issues as well. Loved it!!!

User review rating: 5 September 28, 2019

Best movie in theaters now.

User review rating: 5 September 26, 2019

I thoroughly loved this movie. I had forgotten what a great singer Linda Ronstadt was in so many different genres of music. I went with 2 other people and they loved it as well.

User review rating: 5 September 24, 2019

Linda Ronstadt was simply one of the best over the past 50 years. I went to one of her performances in Ohio in the early 1970’s at an outdoor amphitheater. Her voice was so powerful a microphone seemed unnecessary! Her versatility is unmatched. The Nelson Riddle albums were fantastic. I wish this movie was more widely released.

User review rating: 5 September 21, 2019

Linda's talent was extraordinary -- but beyond that the film underscores what a true trailblazer she was and even more importantly what a decent, caring person she is. Her innate musicianship honed by a close and remarkable family. I cried through much of the film reflecting on music that I love but was reminded how powerful and poignant her music was-- and still is. A lovely tribute to an amazing and determined artist.

User review rating: 5 September 19, 2019

One of the best female vocalists of all time. A very well done documentary.

User review rating: 5 September 19, 2019

Loved it!! What a talent! A great success story!!

User review rating: 5 September 18, 2019

What a beautiful tribute this was to Linda Ronstadt. My tears flowed the first minute it started! What a story to share with all her fans around the world. Thank you! I'm going to see it with my son today again and have called my family and friends to do see it as well. Bravo to such a beautiful woman inside and out. Thank you for sharing a part of your life with all of us.

User review rating: 5 June 21, 2019

Makes a sound case for Linda Ronstadt as one of the most potent vocalists of the 20th Century. Oh and she was super adorable.

User review rating: 5 June 20, 2019

The archival footage of Linda live was enthralling. Vocalist extraordinaire, with a vibe all her own. Fascinating eyewitness to American music history surrounded by devoted musicians and friends. She didn't let the showbiz hell hounds drag her down. Well done, deeply poignant music documentary.

Change Location