La La Land

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.66 / 5

User rating: 3.66

Based on 354 votes and 149 reviews


  • User rating: 3.66 52.07%
  • User rating: 3.66 8.28%
  • User rating: 3.66 9.47%
  • User rating: 3.66 13.61%
  • User rating: 3.66 16.57%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 149

User review rating: 0 June 10, 2017

lamest "musical" ever. dancing was dreadful, songs were forgettable, acting was terrible, anything to do with jazz was borrrring. most overrated movie I have ever seen in my entire life, and I love musicals.

User review rating: 1 May 08, 2017

I lost a layer of enamel grinding my teeth in frustration: the actors couldn't act, they definitely couldn't dance, and the story "line" was so ginned up it was drunk on its own delusion of grandeur. The only good thing about this film is when they LOST the Oscar at the Academy Awards.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2017

It was wonderful to see the young generation of actors dancing, playing piano and singing! Romantic yet it doesn't always work out the way we plan! Should have won Best Picture!

User review rating: 5 March 29, 2017

Excellent music & acting. Should have won the Best Picture oscar!

User review rating: 1 March 26, 2017

So over rated. It was painful getting though this movie. I don't get what all the fuss was about.

User review rating: 5 March 24, 2017

Beautiful film, beautiful music, beautiful actors. The storyline was captivating and I will watch it many more times in the future.

User review rating: 5 March 24, 2017

Great music. A captivating new song I keep humming and the dancing was supurb.

User review rating: 0 March 23, 2017

Beautiful dancing, anyone who criticizes does not know how to dance. Loved the movie

User review rating: 5 March 16, 2017

Perfection, timing, daring, original. See it, and feel great!

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2017

One of the worst movies I've seen this past year. Way over sold by Hollywood. This movie just doesn't stand up to the greats like Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire. The two actors in this movie can't sing and don't dance much better. Don't waste your time and money on this disaster.

User review rating: 2 March 12, 2017

disappointed in music and story line.

User review rating: 1 March 07, 2017

Boring can't get how it was up for so many awards.

User review rating: 2 March 05, 2017

Personally, I don't understand why this movie was up for so many awards. I was quite disappointed!

User review rating: 5 March 04, 2017

Loved this movie! Like old Hollywood. Performances by Ryan and Emma were incredible. Great storyline too!

User review rating: 4 March 03, 2017

Sorry to say but I was very disappointed. Not at all what I had expected! The movie was slow and frankly speaking boring! I like Ryan Gosling and do not mind Emma Stone. She seemed to juvenile to play this part. She was like a woman in a child's body. Just odd! I just think this movie was very over-rated.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2017

thanks to the jazz music , I would rate it as a 3 , we both thought the movie was Boring !!!

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2017

Most Best Picture winners are boring, stuffy affairs, but not La La Land. 5 out of 5 stars.

User review rating: 5 March 01, 2017

For once the Academy got it right - La La Land is a deserving Best Picture winner.

User review rating: 2 February 28, 2017

Please don't make any more like this....................it sucked until John Legend appeared, then some good music, the it sucked all over again. Fred and Ginger are rolling over in their graves - LAUGHING ! Not a dominant voice in the whole show, and very few that tried couldn't carry a tune in a bucket. Richard Gere can't sing but he was SOOOOOOO much better than this loser.

User review rating: 1 February 27, 2017

The actress has bug eyes. Couldnt get over that! Yuck. Horrible singing, if you call that drival singing. Don't waste your money.

User review rating: 1 February 27, 2017

Blah blah land. Neither can sing or dance. More of Hollywood patting each other on the back. Blaaah

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2017

Feel good again by treating yourself to another screening of this year's Best Picture! 5/5

User review rating: 0 February 27, 2017

The first musical since Slumdog Millionaire to take home an Oscar for Best Picture!

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2017

Perfect in every way! No one should be surprised this won Best Picture.

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2017

Wonderful music and dancing makes this Best Picture winner a real toe-tapper!

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2017

The Hollywood Musical lives! Winner of 7 Academy Awards, including Best Picture!

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2017

This year's Best Picture winner is an absolute delight! You'll be grinning from ear to ear and singing at the top of your lungs!!!

User review rating: 2 February 27, 2017

This movie is a blur. It has about 5 plus theme to it. I found it to be very amateur, fragmented. Yes, I felt I was in la la land all right. I closed my eyes and slept in the long boring monologue and silences. I would not recommend it to anyone or ever want to see it again. It was a waste of time and money. I thought it was poorly cast except for the actual musicians. In fact that was the only memorable element of this movie was the actual jazz musicians. The performance in the Oscars for this movie was better than the set design for the movie and the dancing for that matter. Movies like this make me never want to see another movie in the theater. The trailer was very deceptive. I could have been enjoying the nice weather and fishing instead. I can't believe this movie won any Oscars at all. It is a travesty towards the art of film making. It appeared to me he took themes from several movies. Jazz movies. Dr. Seuss, Wizard of Oz, Dancing in the rain, Chicago, All that jazz, fame, and a collage of animations. The acting was marginal and unconvincing. One could have made 5 different movies out of this movie at least. I said "oh brother" out loud in the theater when they floated up to the sky in the planetarium they apparently had a key to. Also, I always wonder the director who includes a lot of empty streets with a girl walking alone in 5 inch high heels for blocks on end in the middle of the night. What was the point of this? Lots of questions, lots of loose ends, lots of la la, blah blah If you want to see a well done movie see HIDDEN FIGURES. It is interesting, good pace, consistent, logical, good acting, a well done and thought out film, that will stay with you forever and inspire you to overcome any bigotry one may have knowing talent is not dependent on the color of ones skin.

User review rating: 5 February 26, 2017

La La Land was wonderful. Only those who appreciate the musical of the olden days can appreciate the fresh updated musical. The songs were beautiful. The only thing I didn't like was the way it ended. But it was beautiful. 👍

User review rating: 1 February 24, 2017

Bored I had to leave early

User review rating: 5 February 24, 2017

great music & dialog, top rated acting and a good story

User review rating: 5 February 23, 2017

Best movie, musical, directors, actors. Loved everything about this movie!! Extremely talented in every aspect! A wonderful love story that is so very real!

User review rating: 5 February 23, 2017

This movie genre is a flashback to the 1960's when I grew up watching musicals such as the Sound of Music. I think the low reviews are from younger viewers who were raised on gratuitous violence, sexually explicit, one dimensional movies. If you are unsure, take a chance on this movie and expand your horizons (a phrase not seen much these days). The cast is very good, the direction even better. Enjoy.

User review rating: 1 February 21, 2017

Found La La Land incredibly boring. Thin plot, songs blah. No "Singing in the Rain". Would have assigned zero stars if possible.

User review rating: 1 February 21, 2017

0 star total crap dont know why its getting so many nomanations

User review rating: 5 February 21, 2017

I guess those who rated this movie below a 4 star just could not get over the fact that there was no violence, gratuitous sex or extreme language. I found this movie to be a refreshing change from the shooting, vulgarity and sex scenes. The development of the characters was entertaining and enjoyable.

User review rating: 5 February 20, 2017

Love the movie. The ending moved me to tears. Great acting from a superb cast. Go see it if you haven't done yet.

User review rating: 5 February 20, 2017

This is such a beautiful film about following your dreams and pursuing your passions. My all time favorite film, La La Land is like stumbling on a view on a lovely night, capturing a sunset in a frame, or waltzing in a city of stars. Emma Stone is as radiant as the sun, portraying her emotions with perfection and vulnerability. The whole cast is superb, but Emma is brilliant! The filming and style of the movie is wonderfully nostalgic, and the music is phenomenal. I have had the soundtrack on repeat since I watched this movie! I recommend it to anyone who like romance, musicals, comedy, Emma, Ryan, or simply having a good cry. La La Land, I believe, wholeheartedly deserves all of its Oscar nominations and previous wins at the Golden Globes, BAFTAS, and SAG Awards. This is a perfect and glorious film, for the fools who dream.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2017

I loved everything about La La Land. Exceptional musical score, acting, lighting, production, photography. Close to being my all time favorite movie.

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2017

Amazing music and imagery. The ending was so emotionally heart wrenching!!

User review rating: 2 February 16, 2017

this is a so-so movie. it's the safest of safe picks for the whitest of audiences, where a white boy knows more about jazz than anyone else. please. go see moonlight.

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2017

I went to this with my 24 year old daughter. I'm so glad she saw this, it was a bit of old style and new and I loved it! people comment about their dancing and singing being poor but that's not what it's about. It's about love and passion of the arts. Don't give up on your dreams. Loved this movie! So refreshing!

User review rating: 3 February 15, 2017

Not the greatest. seen better

User review rating: 2 February 14, 2017

wasn't WHAT THE HYPE MADE IT OUT TO BE. iT WAS CUTE BUT THAT'S IT.

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2017

So amateruish. The picture was dark and fuzzy. Emma Stone's singing was pathetic.

User review rating: 5 February 12, 2017

I loved the music, dancing and singing. How refreshing to see talented actors. No violence or sex - that was so novel as well. It was a sweet positive uplifting story. Truly a Non - Hollywood movie as they usually have tons of sex and guns, even though they profess to want to bans guns in America. Ha!

User review rating: 1 February 12, 2017

Ummm.... Oscar so white last year, and now this year the main attraction is a musical about how a WHITE MAN SAVES JAZZ? Wow.

User review rating: 3 February 12, 2017

Okay, it was cute and uplifting, but NO profound insight into the human condition, not particularly moving or funny, the story was rather routine for a musical - THIS WAS JUST OKAY. Oscar worthy? NO

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2017

Great movie about dream, sacrifice and love! The acting was great and nuance of the play was fantastic. This is fine art!

User review rating: 2 February 05, 2017

Sorry, guess I don't have any taste. Just don't see what all the hoopla is about. I found it boring, boring, boring....

Change Location