MOST CANADIAN THEATRES ARE NOW CLOSED UNTIL APRIL 2, DUE TO COVID-19.

Just Mercy

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.77 / 5

User rating: 4.77

Based on 144 votes and 52 reviews


  • User rating: 4.77 92.75%
  • User rating: 4.77 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.77 2.90%
  • User rating: 4.77 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.77 4.35%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 52

User review rating: 5 March 13, 2020

Absolutely awesome!!

User review rating: 5 February 18, 2020

it was wondwerful

User review rating: 5 February 12, 2020

Excellent movie, so very interesting and very well acted.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2020

I'm an inveterate movie goer and can truthfully say that "Just Mercy" is probably the best overall movie that I have ever attended. It is rich in its reality and so well directed and presented that I give it this high rating. It's a learning experience. iIt's a must see movie.

User review rating: 5 February 08, 2020

Absolutely excellent. Best movie in a long time.

User review rating: 5 February 08, 2020

This is not just another good movie - it is an EXPERIENCE. Be prepared to feel every emotion from joy to sadness and everything in between. Will go down as one of the most significant movies ever.

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2020

Loved this movie from start to finish.

User review rating: 5 February 01, 2020

An excellent movie. The best I have seen in the past year.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2020

Everyone should see this movie especially the youth

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2020

I LOVED THE MOVIE!!!! BEST BLACK HISTORY MOVIE EVER!!! PROBABLY THE BEST MOVIE EVER!!! BE PREPARED TO LAUGH, CRY, AND GET ANGRY BECAUSE THIS MOVIE IS AN EMOTIONAL ROLLER COASTER!!! ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING!!!!

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2020

Everyone should see this movie. An excellent teaching moment

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2020

Having lived in the Deep South in the late sixties, the movie really resonated. I think it is an important well told story and a first rate film. Credit goes to a screenplay that was not overdone and yet unflinching in its portrayal of the injustices done to death row inmates who were primarily black. That the film is based on actual events is all the more significant and is an important commentary on the importance of fair trials and the need for just outcomes. Great cast led by Jamie Foxx.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2020

Very good acting and terrific story!

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2020

"Just Mercy," is a movie that captivated my attention. It is a truth that pains, yet, a truth that needs to be recognized and remembered. The movie reminded me of the lives that were sacrificed for justice. It also reminds me of the courageous men and women who fought for justice and who prevailed in their effort. "Just Mercy" deserves the attention and recognition of the Oscar for best picture in 2020!

User review rating: 3 January 26, 2020

I know the movie which, based on a true story... but it is kind of unbelievable that a Harvard law grad would work pro bono cases for a living. Especially right out of college when students are facing huge student loan debts. I think the movie story tellers could have fill-in some drama in order to fill this gaping hole in the reality aspect, to make the story better. Also, the defence team basically tanked at the end of the movie giving Michael B. Jordan's character an EASY win. This may have been how the case played out in real life but it really lacked the Hollywood drama that is expected in movies which have such a premiere cast. Expected more.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2020

Just an old fashioned great movie, superb acting and intelligent

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2020

Fantastic Oscar material!

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2020

I see most movies that are not animated. Best movie in a very long time. Sickening these types of movies are based on true stories. Should never happen to anyone. I would be disappointed if no academy awards are given to this. Great acting by everyone.

User review rating: 1 January 25, 2020

Yet another movie with a politically motivated agenda exercising sanctioned hate and bigotry while claiming others are doing the same.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2020

If I could give it a 10 I would. Best movie, best actors. So glad I got to see it.

User review rating: 5 January 22, 2020

Everyone should see this movie. Outstanding.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2020

Great movie,good acting,it's amazing these things are still happening in the good old USA

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2020

excellent !!!

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2020

Great emotional tense movie show what happened then is happening today

User review rating: 3 January 18, 2020

I went to this movie based on all the positive reviews. Although it's a good story, the movie itself was somewhat cheesy and over-dramatized. I've seen this same kind of story in many movies before. It actually would have been much better as a documentary.

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2020

Great movie, great actors, great story that open our eyes and heart !!!

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2020

Sad story....excellent movie!

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2020

Good movie that we all need to see.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2020

Great movie which allows the viewer to see the injustices of law. Few people have the conviction to stand up for the disadvantaged, should be shown in schools. Enough of the PSA, a solid movie and you know it's good when you don't hear a whisper from anyone in the theatre.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2020

Absolutely, a great movie!!

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2020

Excellent movie. God bless the lawyer and everyone else like him today. Racism is simply stupid since our only difference is colour.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2020

Give this movie based on a true story an OSCAR for best picture & the main actors. It was an amazing & heartbreaking movie

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2020

It was so realistic to the innocents of being lied & lack of evidence to being placed in death row. Just because you're of low income & black. There is too much bigotry & hatred in the Deep South. They need the FBI to take a good look at the police force down there. I cried when through trials & tribulations was finally set free. What a remarkable lawyer for standing up for the innocent victims. May he Rest In Peace for all the good he has done for his follow man. And all those men & women who continue to fight & never give up. You are wonderful keep up the good work

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2020

This was a fantastic movie and I love the fact it's based on a true story! The casting was excellent, the actors did a great job of bringing this story to life, and the time just flew by as it captivated me from beginning to end. I find it truly shocking that people continue to be treated like that, even in modern times. Anyone with a heart can expect to get emotional in parts, but when it's over you'll be very glad you saw it. I highly recommend it !!!

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2020

Rivetting movie, a must see.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2020

Factual. In your face racism. Thank God this man was finally free. Must see

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2020

So honestly frightening that our world can be so self-serving and blind. Fantastic acting. Totally captured my emotions.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2020

Great movie! I couldn't help but cry during the movie. This is a must-see true story. I would like to see schools, church groups, civic clubs and community groups, etc. see this movie.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2020

This is a must see movie. The acting is beautiful. Based on a true story of the wrongfully accused in the deep south, and yet in our times, 1987. Its hard to believe that this is still happening, and thank God for the courageous young black lawyer that took the cause and has built a fair charitable justice organization as a result. These are stories worth telling, these are stories worth seeing. This is Oscar worthy entertainment.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2020

Just Mercy is an OUTSTANDING portrayal of speaking TRUTH to POWER. Bryan Stevenson’s iconic VISION to use his HARVARD law degree to raise critical, courageous questions which address the bigotry of INHUMANE and illegal judicial practices heaped strongly upon the impoverished. Stevenson’s premise consistently shows the violated criminal proceedings and snatches credibility when he frames the legal parameters around Courageous legal briefs, petitions and motions. PERHAPS more profound than the RIGHT to LIVE Bryan raises the question: Does the judicial system have the RIGHT to KILL?!

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2020

The unbelievable truth in this movie and how it was produced was wonderful. As painful as it was to watch, at the same time it was a very fine movie. The truth does hurt and it is rewarding that there are those individuals who keep pushing for justice and speak on behalf of the people.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2020

This is a movie everyone should see. We left the theater in awe of the story and the Oscar worthy performances by Michael B. Jordan and Jamie Foxx. I loved the book but was not expecting much from the screen version. Boy, was I wrong. Although the story took place in the past ; it is very relevant in today's world. I am urging all my friends to go see it.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2020

What a Amazing movie it’s hard to believe this actually happened Michael B . Jordan was amazing and Jamie Fox brings life to his character on death row convicted of a crime he did not commit two great characters in this movie , bring your tissues this is brilliantly done ?

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2020

An amazing movie! It's unbelievable that this actually happened in the 90's in which you would think people would be more tolerant. Michael B Jordan was excellent and you really felt compassion for Jamie Foxes character. A must see!

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2020

Beautiful acting. Honest and riveting. A must see movie.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2020

OSCAR CONTENDER - Hard to watch, excellent acting and casting of stars in this film .Reminder it is never too late for justice with God as your witness and a good lawyer. Movie well done. I recommend seeing it.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2020

I dislike the fact that white people still look at blacks as not being human, but as no good dogs. Although we have an excellent bloodline running through our veins. Black has always been treated unfairly because White’s think they are more than black, they would like to keep them in slavery but there’s a new generation coming up that will pull down these barriers.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2020

If you have very little spare time you should make time to see this movie. It is that good!

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2020

One of the best scripts, subjects and acting you'll see this year. Brilliant team.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Incredible story. Michael B Jordan and Jamie Foxx are amazing .

Change Location