Hereditary

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.76 / 5

User rating: 3.76

Based on 286 votes and 82 reviews


  • User rating: 3.76 59.69%
  • User rating: 3.76 9.30%
  • User rating: 3.76 1.55%
  • User rating: 3.76 6.20%
  • User rating: 3.76 23.26%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 82

User review rating: 4 July 28, 2018

By the end of the movie... I had to sit and think.... "WTF did I just watch???"

User review rating: 5 July 28, 2018

I really hope Toni Collette gets an Oscar nomination. I know this is not a genre that gets recognized often but watching her unravel was just incredible. The film is fantastic, not your typical horror so it won't appeal to everyone - but I loved it. A slow-burn of a movie that keeps you guessing.

User review rating: 5 July 27, 2018

People will say that the Exorcist sucks. People will say that Jaws was a comedy. Some people say Get Out was "okay". The thing is, people's subjective viewpoints do not stop this film from being a masterpiece. Don't listen to the layman. If you are a REAL horror fan, you will love this.

User review rating: 5 July 27, 2018

Strong resemblance to the feeling given in Rosemary's Baby, this film will eventually be seen as a staple in the horror movie genre that every fan should see.

User review rating: 4 July 27, 2018

Not many jumpscares, which I appreciate. A good film director knows how to keep things scary without the use of jumps (there are a few). The artistic nature of the film impressed me very much, and they conveyed the relationship of the family very well. I am only confused with the ending, as I believe it convoluted a message that the movie was intentionally trying to make about the nature of obsessive motherhood. Other than that, the movie would have easily attained 5 stars.

User review rating: 1 July 25, 2018

Who the heck were all those naked people, and how did grandma get up in the attic? Fortunately I went on bargain night so it only cost me $5.

User review rating: 5 July 23, 2018

Well done! Creepy as hell, and totally original.

User review rating: 5 July 16, 2018

For once I completely agree with professional critics, this is a great movie. It's very smart and keeps you guessing what the hell is going on until the very end. What more can you ask for?

User review rating: 4 July 16, 2018

Horror movies that focus more on a family than on a monster or demon are always special in my opinion. That's because, in most viewpoints, that can be the scariest thing, a death in the family. The acting all the way through this film is spot on, the script is great and smart. Overall a great time.

User review rating: 4 July 16, 2018

Quick thoughts on Hereditary. Awesome movie if you like classic spooky psychological horror. Toni Collette is a bad ass. The ending is a bit of a let down. Highly recommend.

User review rating: 4 July 16, 2018

highly unsettling and disturbing, displays so many raw and honest emotions, one of best movie of 2018 so far.

User review rating: 5 July 16, 2018

defiantly not for everyone. very disturbing but defiantly one of my favorite horror movies.

User review rating: 5 July 16, 2018

Toni Colette is as often a revelation and the movie was so unusually terrifying in its approach to horror: I can only highly recommend it to anyone who likes Horror but it might still be too weird for many.

User review rating: 4 July 16, 2018

Really enjoyed this movie. The ending reminded me of Rosemary's Baby a wee bit. I didn't see that coming.

User review rating: 5 July 16, 2018

One of the greatest horror films of all time! It covers all genres of horror: it's a psychological thriller, it's gory, it's paranormal, it's a possession movie, and it sheds an uncomfortable and honest light on the realities of the stages of grief and how truly terrifying that is. Highly, highly recommend for those who enjoy a different, disturbing kind of horror story!

User review rating: 5 July 14, 2018

Top 10 of best movies we've ever seen. Perfect in every way!!

User review rating: 1 July 11, 2018

Top 10 of worst movies we've ever wasted money on. Had so much potential but was a real snoozefest.

User review rating: 1 July 10, 2018

The first half is boring. The second half has some genuine scares, but the ending just ruins everything.

User review rating: 2 July 10, 2018

It started out OK'ish, but it really went downhill toward the end. It almost made me think they were trying to make a really bad movie with a cult-like following - because it was that bad.

User review rating: 4 July 03, 2018

A strong film that attempts to explain away its weaknesses within a convoluted set of antagonist intentions - Hereditary is a film that is well worth the watch but will leave the viewer complaining about parts that could have been stronger or tied together tighter.

User review rating: 4 July 03, 2018

I rarely give a movie a 5 star review after just one viewing, but this one comes pretty darn close. Loved it, and cannot wait to see it again as I'm sure I didn't pick everything up first time around.

User review rating: 5 July 03, 2018

One of the best movies I've seen so far! Very well written, great music, great cinematography, great directing! And last but not least....AN AMAZING PERFORMANCE FROM TONI COLLETTE!! Her acting is so good she scares! Never have I seen great acting from any other movie!! This movie has real horror, not jump scares, but its very horrifying!!!

User review rating: 5 July 03, 2018

This is a REAL scary movie. It's not cliche. It's very well thought out, about everything. It does involve a little bit of deep thinking, and picking up clues. But, it kept me and my whole family on our toes, and left me feeling very eerie and unsettled, which is EXACTLY what I want in a horror movie. There's A LOT I could say, but just extremely well done!

User review rating: 5 July 03, 2018

Insane!! Completely reversed all of my expectations. The trailer doesn't expose what actually happens. Watch this movie.

User review rating: 4 July 03, 2018

A well acted, slow burn family tragedy with solemn and moody storytelling. First time director Ari Aster gradually and effectively unveils enough sinister happenings to keep the audience on edge, until it all spirals out of control in a more unsubtle but undeniably hair-raising shock fest that will delight any fan of the occult and classic horror tropes.

User review rating: 1 July 01, 2018

The most f**king ridiculous horror movie I have seen after “it follows”. No plot, no saving movie moment. The writer is an idiot!!! Please save your $14.

User review rating: 5 July 01, 2018

Instantly became one of my top 3 horror movies of all time. Outstanding cinematography and acting, nail-biting atmosphere and a story that has so many twists and turns you don't ever feel like you know where it's gonna go next. If you like adult horror, go see this movie.

User review rating: 5 July 01, 2018

A horror film that's not for everybody. A very well told story, with unexpected plot points. I love it!

User review rating: 4 July 01, 2018

Deeply engrossing. An original concept, with elements I never saw coming. Lost a star for pacing, but overall, Hereditary is unsettling, haunting, and visually incredible: everything a horror movie should be.

User review rating: 5 July 01, 2018

Messed up in every way possible. Its been a while since I had a horror movie give me goosebumps. The acting was just so amazing and the amount of weirdness was just an epic win for me. I loved that it was a horror movie and it didn't use elements of surprise as a way to get reactions from audiences. It was more focused on the sound and that nice build up that makes u cringe. I definitely need to watch it again because I can 100% accept that I didn't understand a thing, but it's definitely one of those movies that you watch several times and little by little you uncover totally different meanings.

User review rating: 4 July 01, 2018

So creepy and f**ed up.

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2018

This reminds me of a classic midcentury thriller/horror movie. There are several small details to clue you into what is happening overall. Minimal jump scares, the terror is more cerebral. You will be on the edge of your seat waiting for scenes to resolve. If you are a fan of The Shining or Rosemary's Baby, you will appreciate this film.

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2018

BEAUTIFUL CINEMATOGRAPHY, great plot, perfect combination of suspense and horror. There are some disturbing scenes that will shock anyone. I just loved it. It was bold and well made.

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2018

A case study in flawless story delivery and directing.

User review rating: 4 June 30, 2018

Hereditary is not your run of the mill horror films. If you're looking for an over-the-top, scare a minute movie, you'll be greatly disappointed. Hereditary is 3/4 psychological horror and 1/4 WTF. That's the best way I can describe the film without giving anything away. The film does start out awfully slow. It has a longer build up that promises a satisfying payoff. Believe me when I say that the ending is worth the previous 90 minutes. Toni Collette puts on a fantastic performance in this movie. It may even be one of my favorite performances by her. You can definitely feel the passion and the slow loss of reality emanating from her character. I became enthralled with what came next for her. What was next? You should definitely see Hereditary in your local theater. If only to hear the scattered cries of "what the hell?!" as the credits roll.

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2018

Hereditary is a smart scary movie. The way the story told is not everyone cup of tea. The first 30 minutes of the film might be too slow but it's necessary to make a presence until the end of the movie even the character is dead. And to understand the movie, you need to pay attention to every detail that the director shown to you. And also what the main character said the whole time. Toni Collette deserves an Oscar for her performance. She is really damn good.

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2018

Great horror flick which seems hard to accomplish these days. I can't recall another movie that kept me guessing what direction it was headed in, what would happen next, and how it would end. This movie certainly isn't a slasher blood and gore flick but it certainly provides plenty of scares.

User review rating: 5 June 30, 2018

Absolutely loved it! Great story, super creepy with fantastic acting. Really hope Toni Collette gets an Oscar nod, she was brilliant in an under-appreciated genre. Need to see it again!!

User review rating: 1 June 27, 2018

It was the worst scary movie I have ever seen. After reading everything about it I was very excited to see it. It was not scary at ALL & I have seen my share of scary movies. They’ve always been my favorite genre. Please don’t waste your money. Wish I could have given it a zero star. Didn’t make me jump at all. The only nice thing I can say is Toni Collette did a marvelous acting job.

User review rating: 1 June 25, 2018

first hour wasn't even necessary. Long dull slog with typical demonic gore time 3rd act.. boring.

User review rating: 1 June 25, 2018

It sucked, not exactly a horror movie to me.

User review rating: 5 June 24, 2018

I thought it was hilarious how the the mother of Charlie was going ape on the ceiling with her head

User review rating: 4 June 23, 2018

We enjoyed the movie - had a lot of jump scares and very intense and creepy scenes. The ending should have ended 5 minutes before it did as it got really silly and kind of tainted what was other wise a good movie.

User review rating: 1 June 23, 2018

Boring, unscary movie. No slow burn - just a dying ember from the start.

User review rating: 1 June 21, 2018

Satanic and a rejection of the Trinity. Worst movie I have ever seen.

User review rating: 2 June 20, 2018

Very slow moving, not enough action until the very end of the movie. Sorry I wasted my money

User review rating: 1 June 20, 2018

It just got stupid at the end.

User review rating: 1 June 20, 2018

two many directions. The director seem to go into many plots. Spirtualism psycholoigical cults etc, The end of the movies brought much laughter and disgust. worst movie I have seen in a long time.

User review rating: 3 June 19, 2018

Ok movie

User review rating: 3 June 19, 2018

Slow movie

Change Location