Godzilla Minus One

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.92 / 5

User rating: 4.92

Based on 72 votes and 29 reviews


  • User rating: 4.92 91.67%
  • User rating: 4.92 8.33%
  • User rating: 4.92 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.92 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.92 0.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?




Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 29 of 29

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2024

Pleasantly surprised at how great this movie was. This film has a perfect balance of compelling human drama with “edge of your seat” action sequences. A must watch at the theater!

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2024

Not cheesy, but a straightforward retelling of the original Godzilla 70 years ago. Character driven with a relentless aggressive, violent Godzilla. Dialogue is easy to follow in the subtitles. No long paragraphs to read. Short and to the point of the story and characters

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2023

Contender for Best Godzilla film of all time. This is a TOHO movie front to back, no Hollywood studio can create the awe and ethos of Godzilla the way the Japanese can. The story is engaging and well paced and the monster is beautifully rendered. Five stars.

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2023

....this is not simply a "great Godzilla" movie, but rather its a GREAT FILM that happens to be a Godzilla film. This is actually MUCH MORE an incredibly well written redemption story that also touches on the greatness of the individual human spirit during times of terrible adversity. Parents should bring their kids to this movie because this teaches great morals without being WOKE or preachy. You will also learn what it was like for Japan during the years following the end of WW2. This is so much more than a mindless Kaiju monster movie (of which I ALSO enjoy) and should definitely be in the running for "Best Picture"-Yes!-its THAT good! The romance story is also richly developed and you will wind up being brought to tears for all the right reasons! And the effects surpass most films that cost 10 times what this one did to make! This film is so much more than any of the trailers show you so go see it-You will thank me later!

User review rating: 5 December 29, 2023

Anger on all sides of this battle ridden movie

User review rating: 4 December 29, 2023

If you're planning to see "Godzilla: Minus One" in a local theater, here are two things you need to know beforehand: This is a foreign film....a Japanese film. So, the Japanese language is SUBTITLED. A little reading is required. Secondly, this Godzilla movie is preoccupied with the rich development of the human characters, so it's not just a mindless special effects extravaganza. If you suffer from cinematic attention deficit syndrome, this film is probably NOT for you. THIS FILM IS SMART. Now....having said that, I'm here to tell you that the action sequences are exceptional....especially, for a Godzilla installment. The human performances are OUTSTANDING! While watching them, I found myself moved, and I remained emotionally invested. Godzilla himself appears as an unstoppable, destructive force of nature, who seems to actually know that he's crushing people beneath his enormous feet. The ocean attack scenes are even more intense than when Godzilla makes landfall. The sound editing and musical score are nothing short of spectacular, as we are treated to several familiar theme cues that feel right at home when coupled with this material. This movie is not just a good Godzilla movie. It's good enough (in my opinion) to easily receive an Oscar nomination for BEST FOREIGN FILM. Takashi Yamazaki delivers a prime package!

User review rating: 4 December 28, 2023

OMG the movie has a decent plot. Told by the perspective of the Japanese. A welcome alternative to the Hollywood drivel of late. Well worth the watch

User review rating: 5 December 26, 2023

This was hands-down one of the best movies I’ve ever seen in any genre. The writer(s) could have tweaked the story a little to leave out Godzilla, and it still would have been incredible. But it also has the baddest Godzilla ever! Just amazing.

User review rating: 5 December 23, 2023

It was well done for a sub titled movie and it contained just the right amount of action to be enjoyable and not over the top with silly Hollywood garbage

User review rating: 5 December 22, 2023

I never liked any Godzilla movies. This is an exception! My husband & I loved it. It has a good storyline which keeps your attention. And Godzilla is one angry BEAST who you just want to see him get what’s coming to him. I loved his blue heat ray spines popping out. LOL. GREAT MOVIE!

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2023

Note to Hollywood. This is how to make a movie.

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2023

Insanely good film. The acting in this is amazing. The special effects are fantastic. The music score is perfect. This is by a longshot the best release of 2023. And knowing the budget was less than $15 million makes it even more impressive. Deserves all the praise it's been getting and then some.

User review rating: 5 December 14, 2023

I'm an old guy who remembers going to the original Godzilla movies in the 60s and this is way better than any of those. I tricked the missus into coming along, and she actually liked it. She reads Bronte, Austen, and Wheately, so you know what a stretch that was for her. Good job. Make more good movies.

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2023

This movie was great. Forget The Marvels or Wonka, this is the movie to see.

User review rating: 5 December 12, 2023

Emotional and sweeping . Godzilla is terrifying!

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2023

This deserves a theatre seat. Best movie of the year, hands down. Only cost $15M. Genius work. Incredible storytelling and visuals. Go see it.

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2023

Good story was real close to Draculas latest !

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2023

I loved the clever plot that allowed a epic monster film. It's got a $15,000,000 budget, which might not cover catering on a Marvel or Disney pic. The practical special effects are as good as any Marvel, Witta, or ILM CGI. I forgot it was a guy in a suit. The old miniatures looked better than Marvel's CGI. The script had no logic holes, I cared about the excellent but unknown actors. Godzilla was a a thousand metric tons of reckless hate. This Godzilla is an angry bastard.This is how you make a movie. I've seen Oppenheimer, Barbie, and Napoleon, Godzillia Minus 1 is the best picture of the year.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2023

How do you make a Godzilla movie for 15 million, write a kick axx script. Just not expecting layered screen play, oh and Godzilla is a bad guy,, No ambiguous he means we'll , no he's the villain , straight up. It took getting use to , we all want to be his friend, riding on his back,but this is old school,it's us against him. WOW.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2023

I loved Godzilla movies 50 years ago and still love them today. This movie is fantastic and must be seen if you ever were a fan. The setting is post WWII which brings in a human story of a recovering country and people. There is something for everyone, I even shed a few tears.

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2023

This movie though only costing 15-million to make has story and visual qualities that make oh so many mega million productions pale in comparison. Even before the first reel is done one will find themselves emotionally invested in ways they have not felt in years. The practical effects of Godzilla are breath taking in ways CGI cannot hope to capture. The miniatures sets are pure works of art that in a moment are rent asunder, yet you find yourself reveling in the rampage. It is a continuation of the classic that is a joy to see once more on screen. This film must be seen in theater, I do not think it would have near the impact on the small home screen. So, treat yourself to something special.

User review rating: 4 December 07, 2023

He/she is one big mf

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2023

I had heard it was good, that being said I was surprised at how much I liked it. The Zilla scenes looked very real. Definitely must be seen on the big screen

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2023

Great story line with Godzilla along for the ride,

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2023

Godzilla lives again and it's glorious. This is Japanese of course. Only the Japanese can do Godzilla well. Americans should leave Godzilla the hell alone.

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2023

Loved the graphics, love story, friendships, team work. Opened new doors for more to come. I grew up on monster movies and with the new technology its knocking monster movies out of the park.

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2023

This movie reverts the Godzilla franchise back to its original historical origins. It can be watched as a monster movie, as historical fiction, and as a human interest story - all given due consideration in the movie and all well interwoven. Excellently done.

User review rating: 5 December 02, 2023

It was better than latest movies.

User review rating: 5 November 30, 2023

This is the greatest of all GODZILLA movie I have ever watch!!! You will not be disappointed!!!

Change Location