Free Solo

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.86 / 5

User rating: 4.86

Based on 78 votes and 28 reviews


  • User rating: 4.86 91.43%
  • User rating: 4.86 2.86%
  • User rating: 4.86 5.71%
  • User rating: 4.86 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.86 0.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 28 of 28

User review rating: 5 March 20, 2019

F Epic!

User review rating: 5 March 06, 2019

Amazing! A must watch even if you're not a climber

User review rating: 5 March 06, 2019

Thrilling and inspiring! Thanks to Paloma for having this. One of best pictures of the year.

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2019

I liked everything about this movie.. had my hands over my eyes a lot!!!! I liked the personal , the filming and the marvel!!!

User review rating: 5 March 01, 2019

Amazing - Guy is Crazy AF though :)

User review rating: 5 February 08, 2019

I liken Alec Honnold to Leonardo da Vinci, a genius who kept meticulous notebooks of his inventions. Similarly, Honnold prepared for his climb by writing voluminously about each crack and crevice on the face of the monumental rock slab. He is quirky, probably on the autism spectrum, but that only adds to his appeal. Get yourself to this movie while you can still see it on a large screen. Alec is brilliant, and his feat far outshines any individual Olympic achievement.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2019

Intense, very personal, you feel like you are there. A very unique view of an incredible person's physical and mental battles.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2019

WOW very well done.. Cinematography was dead on makes you feel right there every step his climb. See this doc if you can not to miss

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2018

Edge of seat intensity! Photography is phenomenal!

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2018

A Herculean effort and unbelievable accomplishment that is beautifully filmed.

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2018

Free Solo is INCREDIBLE. The cinema photography is amazing. But what Alex did blows everything away. If you like suspense/thrillers you must see this movie, you will be on the edge of your seat and you already know the ending.

User review rating: 3 November 26, 2018

He is really good at climbing mountains.

User review rating: 5 November 20, 2018

One of the greatest individual achievements of all time. And the photography and overall direction are in a class by themselves, as well. The Emmy award for Best Documentary awaits, no questions about it.

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2018

Wonderful story, and wonderfully filmed. A real nail bitter.

User review rating: 5 November 13, 2018

Amazing video work of an amazing feat ,with breathtaking scenery . However I found watching Alex somewhat disturbing , I felt like I was watching a dead man who hadn't died yet.

User review rating: 3 November 08, 2018

Why risk your life & encourage young people to do stupid, dangerous things? Compare to Sharkwater Extinction which is educating us to save sharks by challenging corrupt govts & weak conservation laws. Respect both, idolize saviours first.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2018

Literally the best movie I’ve ever seen in my life. And I’ve seen a lot of movies. I love the development of the community of climbing that you are able to see through the eyes Of Alex Honnold as well as his friends. It is inspiring to see a community that supports each other and the photography of the movie is perfect for capturing the impossibility of his Climb. I walked away believing that when your mind is focused & you shut everything else out, you can do anything. It has every aspect a Movie should have, amazing cinematography, social interest, attachment to a couple of characters in the movie and a sense of inspiration mixed with the possibility of disaster. This is a true hero Movie. There’s no need for superman when you have the real deal climbing a cliff with no ropes. Marvel movies just looks silly now.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2018

Literally the best movie I’ve ever seen in my life. And I’ve seen a lot of movies. I love the development of the community of climbing that you are able to see through the eyes Of Alex Honnold as well as his friends. It is inspiring to see a community that supports each other and the photography of the movie is perfect for capturing the impossibility of his Climb. I walked away believing that when your mind is focused & you shut everything else out, you can do anything. It has every aspect a Movie should have, amazing cinematography, social interest, attachment to a couple of characters in the movie and a sense of inspiration mixed with the possibility of disaster. This is a true hero Movie. There’s no need for superman when you have the real deal climbing a cliff with no ropes. Marvel movies just looks silly now.

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2018

Epic!

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2018

OMG!!! If you like “Meru” you will love this, but even more intense! Just go see it on the biggest screen possible. The cinematography is over the top and free soloing parts are unbelievable!

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2018

Amazing!

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2018

Will win Oscar for best documentary and possibly Cinematography. An amazing feat to capture the whole thing on film. My hands are still sweating.

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2018

Excellent movie, must be seen on the big screen to be fully appreciated. The heights are staggering and terrifying.

User review rating: 5 October 30, 2018

Fantastic movie, wonderful camera work and epic views. Probably one of the greatest physical feats ever accomplished! Will see it again.

User review rating: 5 October 28, 2018

Wow! An incredible feat. This shows what focus and determination to achieve your goal can accomplish. Truly inspiring.

User review rating: 5 October 24, 2018

Great Movie! Unbelievable feat and spectacular scenery! Needs to be advertised more so everyone can be aware and see it!

User review rating: 5 October 14, 2018

I worked in Yosemite 40 years ago and watching that movie.honored the unbelievable scenery we woke up in every day. All coaches should have their teams watch this in order to show the pursuit of excellence and overcoming challenges, both individual and team!

User review rating: 5 September 25, 2018

In a world of over-rated spoiled celebrities and athletes, Alex Honnald shows what a true hero is made of. Go See This Movie!

Change Location