Dunkirk

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.55 / 5

User rating: 3.55

Based on 418 votes and 158 reviews


  • User rating: 3.55 49.48%
  • User rating: 3.55 8.25%
  • User rating: 3.55 10.31%
  • User rating: 3.55 11.86%
  • User rating: 3.55 20.10%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 158

User review rating: 2 August 17, 2017

jumped around way too much

User review rating: 5 August 17, 2017

This movie does tremendous justice to the actual events

User review rating: 5 August 15, 2017

Brilliant...deserves many awards! Wow 😳 like nothing I have ever experienced before! Gripping from start to finish! Love the triple story/timeline 1 hour, 1 day and 1 week!

User review rating: 2 August 15, 2017

I have to agree with just about all the other 1 and 2 star raters. The movie does no justice to the actual event. This should have been done as an epic. For those who aren't familiar with the historical event, this film leaves you without context, beginning, or end. Just poorly done

User review rating: 5 August 15, 2017

Amazing! Watched twice, took my 15 & 13yr old girls to see it, they LOVED it too! Well done to all involved with the film for portraying such a difficult story and time in history.

User review rating: 4 August 15, 2017

I thought this movie was outstanding! There was alot of hype bout this film and it was a very unique film. The cinematography was great. I would highly recommend this one!

User review rating: 5 August 14, 2017

This movie was amazing! Not only did it have new actors/ new faces it had a great storyline. The main character tommy was executed greatly and was supposed to represent a lot of the soldiers that we did not get the story of. It gave the full story of Dunkirk and I really recommend it!

User review rating: 1 August 13, 2017

One of the worst movies I've seen. Totally unfocused, hodge-podge mess. AND a travesty since the true story is totally remarkable.

User review rating: 0 August 12, 2017

This is a brutally bad movie. Christopher has zero sense of character, much less character development. Choppy disconnected scenes with little dialogue that were INCREDIBLY small, in scale, compared to what actually took place to pull 300,000 men off of those beaches. I feel ripped off. He knows how to film a ship sinking and his sound guy (the ONLY reason to see this in IMAX but there is no reason to see it at all, really) will win an Oscar. Take a break Mr. Nolan.

User review rating: 5 August 12, 2017

I loved this movie! The action was so realistic! It gave the viewer an excellent idea of how horrifying it must have been to be caught on this beach waiting for rescue. One of the best war movies I've seen.

User review rating: 1 August 11, 2017

Such a small movie. I saw this movie in iMAX and it was a waste of money. The miracle evacuation of 300,000 was shown using a few boats, fewer planes, a ship, and a few soldiers. Everything looked cheap and small, more like the evacuation of 300. My favorite reviewer talked about boat guy, plane guy, and soldier guy - no character development, and little story. Small in every way.

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2017

An outstanding film well grounded in what actually happened at Dunkirk during World War II. Tremendous production with very realistic scenes. A significant cinematic achievement and a worthy tribute to those who fought and suffered there.

User review rating: 4 August 10, 2017

A tensely ominous movie about a harrowing WW II situation done stylishly and without excessive blood and gore. And such was not needed as what you couldn't see visually tugged at your vivid imagination, creating a intense range of emotions. Sure, it switches back and forth at times in three different character perspectives--from those stranded on the beach, those coming to the rescue on the sea and the fighter pilots in the air--however, this created a wide view of how those involved came together to help those soldiers stranded on that beach in France and facing certain death from enemy dive bombers and U-boat torpedoes. I do agree the soundtrack at times sounded too futuristic and some dialogue was hard to make out. None the less, this movie reminded me of the older WWII movies from the 1960's--like Battle of Britain--which came after the events of Dunkirk. Go see it if you want to see an overall well done and quick take on this historic event using three varying visually stunning and emotional perspectives. You won't be disappointed if so.

User review rating: 5 August 10, 2017

Best war film ever made. It's not a straight up action movie and doesn't have any superheroes in tights, which is the only explanation for some people giving it a poor review. If you like gritty dramas and/or war films, it's an absolute must-see in theatres.

User review rating: 5 August 09, 2017

go watch spiderman

User review rating: 3 August 09, 2017

As with pretty much all Christopher Nolan movies, the production values were outstanding. Great cinematography and technically sound to be sure. The problem was with the story itself and especially the lack of character development. I had no real investment in any of the characters. I also found the 'suspense' not really that suspenseful as a result. The soundtrack, while decent, never took a break for the entire movie. I can't comment on the historical accuracy so I'm keeping my review to just the entertainment value.

User review rating: 2 August 08, 2017

Boring, not based on historical events, but rather possible historical scenarios. Ending sucked!

User review rating: 5 August 08, 2017

Telling the story is so important. The rescue of the British Expeditionary Force changed the course of history.

User review rating: 5 August 08, 2017

Loved it

User review rating: 1 August 07, 2017

Part of the movie should have been how those men got stuck on shore. There was no beginning. So much repetition of men dying it got boring after a while.

User review rating: 1 August 07, 2017

Story too jumpy; had three stories intertwined; background noise too loud making it difficult to hear what soldiers were saying (needed written words at bottom of screen through most of the movie....for what little dialogue there was). Left feeling the need to google the Dunkirk story to put the puzzle together.

User review rating: 3 August 07, 2017

Good cinematography. Weak plot delivery, noone was sure what the underlying theme of the English was. Camera was mainly centered on two or three "new faces" which, speaking of that were all fresh scrubbed facials. There should have been a few moments to describe how the English decided to pull together. I didnt care for the two stowaways.

User review rating: 5 August 07, 2017

Excellent movie.....really enjoyed it.

User review rating: 1 August 06, 2017

A real piece of sh*t.

User review rating: 1 August 06, 2017

I don't get it what's so special about Dunkirk

User review rating: 5 August 05, 2017

One of the best movies I have seen all year. It should clean up at the Oscars for 2017.

User review rating: 4 August 05, 2017

Dunkirk is a legendary story & I appreciated the way the movie was made to respect it. There were no news cameras there to record it, only the stories of the people who were there. It was the rescue of an army, made by the people of England in small boats across the English Channel. The English are truly amazing, aren't they? When something bad happens they refuse to show fear, they do what needs to be done. Those who criticize the film for jumping around should realize it is a true story of what was done by ordinary people with tremendous courage to save their soldiers. They never gave up, and I doubt they ever will.

User review rating: 3 August 05, 2017

The Acting is good as well as the cinematography but I felt the 1958 Dunkirk showed a much better scope of what happen, including the beach scene which grasped what real film & photos took on those horrible days of retreating to Britain!

User review rating: 3 August 05, 2017

Perhaps i'm a bit foggy, but i would have liked to have known . that this was the EVACUATION" RE Dunkirk. Movie a bit stung out--I took a couple of breaks and upon return found I had not missed anything. not a terrible movie but needs a bit more meat on the bone.

User review rating: 2 August 05, 2017

Amazing cinematography but very loud and stressful to watch. I have heard the movie is accurate historically but, even with a History education, the story and strategy is hard to follow.

User review rating: 2 August 05, 2017

A very neat and tidy, let's tone-down-the-violence-of-war movie from Christopher Nolan. Here's a director who likes to cut from one of his land-sea-air story lines to another, but the cuts are too quick and you easily lose perspective. At times, the cuts are to scenes unrelated to one of his 3 themes, and you wonder...okay, where are we now? What boat/ship are we on? That's frustrating. Excellent cinematography, sadly offset by horribly grating soundtrack from Hans Zimmer. Nolan didn't want to show any Germans, and he doesn't, thinking that perspective from the British soldier's point of view would be compromised...instead, it becomes muddled, even lost. As a war movie, not a classic as the critics would have you believe, certainly not the same caliber as say Saving Private Ryan. I was really anticipating much better, found myself leaving disappointed. This one won't stand the test of time.

User review rating: 5 August 04, 2017

I thought the film was very well done and showed the true spirit of man kind

User review rating: 1 August 04, 2017

waste of time

User review rating: 1 August 04, 2017

A boring and badly done war movie. Ignoring the technical faults (see the MAGIC SPITFIRE GLIDE ITS WAY TO VICTORY!!!!) This is a movie about a group of guys hanging at the beach. They watch the tide. A plane drops a bomb. They watch the surf. Some drown on a boat. The movie is only about 20 minutes long, and they keep re-looping the same sequences from different perspectives. This is fun and different for all of 10 minutes. Then it get's tiresome. Then it get's truly annoying. Finally you are looking forward to a bathroom break, looking at your phone for the time, and looking around the theatre out of boredom. And I'm a Guy Who Loves War Movies.

User review rating: 2 August 04, 2017

I was disappointed in the lack of historical data & scope of the movie. The length of the movie should've been 15-30 min longer with more story & details of the "little" boats & why the Germans failed to take advantage. I appreciated the effort to use more actual live explosions etc in scenes but I felt that the overall effort was a "chapter" in the Dunkirk "book" leaving me feeling like I was given the short version, ie "Dunkirk for Dummies" instead of the "novel" I was hoping for. Saw it with my brother out of town on regular screen & wouldn't care to pay to see it again on an IMAX venue that is available in my hometown.

User review rating: 1 August 04, 2017

It was weak. How can a war movie be pg or pg13. No blood or gore. Real wars had this, it's a reality. Confusing not enough action just weak. Black hawk down, we were soldiers, enemy's at the gates, saving Private Ryan, tears of the sun, act of valor, etc. Those were good war movies dunkrik can't be mentioned in this list. Even mark whalberg's lone survivor killed this.

User review rating: 1 August 04, 2017

Way too much drama and hollywood stuff and not enough factual information. Why turn a perfectly good historic event into something distorted with sissy drama. The story of Dunkirk is interesting enough to portray. I was looking for more of a documentary type movie.

User review rating: 5 August 04, 2017

I thought it was an excellent film. It's not so much the story of the event (i.e. a documentary), but the experience of the evacuation from several individual perspectives. I too am a history buff but still enjoyed the film

User review rating: 5 August 03, 2017

Well if your friend is a history buff tell him to rebuff. This movie was off da hook

User review rating: 1 August 03, 2017

I think "Dunkirk " was more of a documentary, than a movie. I was waiting for something, anything, but it just wasn't there. Not in the same class as "Saving Private Ryan ". I am a history buff, and I was disappointed.

User review rating: 1 August 03, 2017

This was probably the worst movie I have seen. I didn't know anything about Dunkirk before I went and knew less when I left the movie. There is very little dialect and you were wondering the whole time what was going on. Nobody had names either except the one civilian boat. There was just so much bad about this movie. The purpose of a history film is to educate about the event, not this one. I still cannot figure out why I sat through it all. I actually told a couple people to see it just because then they would see how bad it was. The friend I was with is a history buff and felt the same way I did and was actually probably more disappointed than myself.

User review rating: 5 August 03, 2017

A reminder of past glory for older viewers, and a good history lesson for the young. Not to be missed.

User review rating: 5 August 02, 2017

Jaw dropping. But this is a war film for people who understand history. Dunkirk is not D-Day.

User review rating: 2 August 02, 2017

only a so so movie

User review rating: 2 August 02, 2017

Huge disappointment - disjointed scenes which fell short of sharing true accounts of heroism, sacrifice, and the brutality of the war. To make it more frustrating was the mix of either inaudible dialogue between the actors or the over-the-top musical score during many scenes. As many people have stated, this movie does not hold a candle to Saving Private Ryan.

User review rating: 3 August 01, 2017

Whether it mirrored history accurately or not its just a flick for entertaining people. That being I found it OK. Story a little corny and without the "Jaws" sound track would have been poor. Far from the best war movie ever, save that for Private Ryan. The reality of War is that war is hell, gore and death and that needs to be be on the screen to remind us all or surely we'll find ourselves back on the beaches again.

User review rating: 5 August 01, 2017

People who don't like this are the stupid ones

User review rating: 1 August 01, 2017

Two very important stories about Dunkirk: 1) The rescue itself by the British civilians, 2) Why didn't the Germans go ahead and totally destroy the British army on the beach? The movie managed to almost totally ignore both stories Actually, the movie managed to avoid any story. Stupid movie.

User review rating: 5 August 01, 2017

History come to life - don't miss it! could have given more information about the approx. 700 ships and the fact that the evacuation took about 8 days.

User review rating: 4 July 31, 2017

Well, a different type of war movie; didn't show any Nazis, swastikas or even Hitler. Great costumes, props and epic proportion but as a history buff it kinda missed a lot. Anyways a good flick, but it just seemed to be missing a lot. A huge arena for a type of Hollywood correct war without misery. I enjoyed the panorama of the lousy weather, fog, sand, choppy dark ocean on the beach and sea though.

Change Location