Detroit

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.00 / 5

User rating: 3

Based on 76 votes and 23 reviews


  • User rating: 3 30.30%
  • User rating: 3 18.18%
  • User rating: 3 12.12%
  • User rating: 3 0.00%
  • User rating: 3 39.39%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 23 of 23

User review rating: 5 August 17, 2017

Sad but true

User review rating: 1 August 15, 2017

SOS, PCness

User review rating: 1 August 15, 2017

Once again, political correctness takes and changes the past to fit their new "Amerika." Naturally it is the police at fault....not thousands of people vandalizing and stealing because they are oppressed. Kinda like a "herd" of lemmings jumping off a cliff; one follows all and there is no responsibility. A leftie film putting all fault on the white man and neglecting the fact that in all these riots; Baltimore, L.A., Detroit......people robbed, stole, burned and destroyed their own community. If they hated "the man" why did they destroy their own environment and neighbors. Hollywood gone amuck for what?

User review rating: 0 August 13, 2017

Unfortunately, the white man has caused too much destruction, not only in Detroit, but world wide, due to their intense hatred.

User review rating: 5 August 12, 2017

Amazing. Not for snowflakes that can't handle the reality of America.

User review rating: 5 August 12, 2017

Excellent Movie! Hard to watch. Hard to believe this could have happened in USA. Not for kids.

User review rating: 1 August 10, 2017

Is this really the right way to promote peace in the world. All I can see this doing is bringing hatred out in people. Can't we all just love and respect each other and get along. Very frustrating.

User review rating: 1 August 10, 2017

WHY !!!

User review rating: 5 August 10, 2017

Knowing the truth, i heard about the roit. i though the roit was about John f. Kenndy. My heart goes out to those who was affect. i felt sad when i watch the movie at the theather. ( tear eye at the end) i was from Detroit, Mich. I left over 24 year ago.

User review rating: 4 August 09, 2017

The film “Detroit” is based on the riots of 1967. This is a disturbingly painful movie to watch. The civil and racial unrest in the motor city are well documented. Black people were being ghettoized and oppressed. The corruption, police brutality, collusion, protection and secrecy are all part of the police brotherhood, and it was rampant then. Unfortunately this still exists today. Although police, peacekeepers and military are now more accountable and can be charged and convicted of murder, just the fact that innocent people are still being killed by people whose job it is to protect us, is cause for alarm. The plot follows the initial days of the riots. This leads to the events at the Algiers hotel where 9 victims (7 black men and 2 white women) are rounded up and brutalized by a deranged police officer and two of his colleagues. The blacks are then re-victimized by the injustice of the legal system where the poorly represented blacks are pitted against topnotch lawyers, white juries and judges.

User review rating: 1 August 09, 2017

The latest in the "white men are evil" genre. Someone should tell Kathryn Bigelow that we don't need more Spike Lee-type race-baiting.

User review rating: 1 August 08, 2017

Another pathetic attempt at the leftist loons trying to portray the blacks as innocent little victims and that all white cops are racists. These riots accomplished nothing but to send the black community into a downward spiral until today, where we have groups like BLM who continuously try to convince other blacks that they're all victims of the evil white man.

User review rating: 3 August 07, 2017

First there was Martin Scorsese's New York, New York. Then, filmmaker Rob Marshall set feet a-tapping with Chicago. Now, Academy Award-winning director Kathryn Bigelow takes you to the home of Motown and Tiger Stadium with Detroit.

User review rating: 1 August 07, 2017

Pitiful rewriting of events once again. True story if you alter the past to fit the new version. What happened in Detroit was hundreds of thousands arriving to the city thinking there was work, while hundreds of thousands moved away to new jobs, high unemployment, hot weather, and the 60s threw it all in the ditch which Detroit never recovered from. I was there, the city now has a population that is 90% black and insolvent. Who's to blame?

User review rating: 5 August 06, 2017

This was a very powerful movie that effectively depicted the terrorism of racism in America. My father was Black American and he had sfriends from the deep south. One guy from Tennesse had been traumatized to the point that he would never sit with his back to the door. He lived in Winnipeg but was conditioned to prepare for attacks. The movie was not for entertainment with a happy ending it attempted to be a true account of historical events and give the viewers a glimpse of the horror of organized racism. God forbid that aby of use experience this.

User review rating: 5 August 06, 2017

The movie is very accurate, compared to the book published in 1968, even though the writer collected his own information and did not base the movie on the book. The movie is well acted and directed and will probably be considered for several academy awards including another nomination for the director.

User review rating: 4 August 06, 2017

The truth is ugly. In the more than 50 years that have passed since the events that Detroit is based on, we have learned a little. Unfortunately, we still commit similar atrocities. May we learn to love and treat others as equals.

User review rating: 4 August 06, 2017

The movie was very infomative in regards to the riots in 1967. It's sad that, the situation hasn't changed, it's still going on today. I just wish that as people, we would focus on helping one another instead of going against one another.

User review rating: 4 August 06, 2017

This movie was, in part, a historical movie about the terrorism of black Americans that lived in Detroit, a city that they thought provided some hope for them to get out of poverty that held them down in the southern states. I lived in Detroit, I had relatives that lived in Detroit, and I remember playing and swimming with kids of all colors just a decade before this happened. Yes, I recognize that bigots exist and will hate anyone if you give then just a small reason to do so. These are insecure people that feel that they have no power and that the world is not offering them a chance to do better. This movie was about hope, planning for the future, trying to avoid conflict, and terror, pure, raw, personal terror. Anyone that rated this movie lower than I have has never experienced terror, fear or having their life threatened. They also must not have any feelings for other people that are in danger and are being terrorized. I thought it was well acted and those that provided a one star rating, should experience fear like this in the future to understand what the movie is all about! Until then they are not really human, they are just like a zombie!

User review rating: 0 August 05, 2017

This movie is very good. The story, acting and director are very good. The sad part is the injustice and racism that existed back 50 years ago in 1967 still exist In Detroit and throughout the world. In situations when prejudice ,stereotypes and personal bias tend to dominate, I ask the simple question : What would a human-being should and 100% of the time the answer has nothing to do with colour, religion and belief. I recommend watching the movie.

User review rating: 3 August 05, 2017

If the lead actor didn't look and act like an evil leprechaun, it would've been much better. It was a one note performance which tanked the film.

User review rating: 1 August 04, 2017

It was rascist

User review rating: 3 August 03, 2017

The scripted hatred that I witnessed On screen was similar to watching the Rodney King - LA riot beatings. Pure Evil in Human form. All humans are capable of sinking to this level of hatred. History proves humans of all races and gender can run rough shot over other himans they feel are inferior. If the goal was to drag any or all emotions that I felt - mission accomplished. The director could have spun this movie in so many directions - Depressed after watching this movie.

Change Location