Beatriz at Dinner

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.16 / 5

User rating: 3.16

Based on 82 votes and 28 reviews


  • User rating: 3.16 36.84%
  • User rating: 3.16 13.16%
  • User rating: 3.16 5.26%
  • User rating: 3.16 18.42%
  • User rating: 3.16 26.32%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 28 of 28

User review rating: 1 October 18, 2017

Slow and uninteresting - Ending was dry and hard to follow

User review rating: 1 August 24, 2017

I thought she would make a difference , ok she was burnt out , away from real friends , the loss of her goat traumatic ,but the end of movie was lousey , super depressing movie, ugh!

User review rating: 5 August 13, 2017

Outstanding movie. Excellent acting. Left me thinking long after it ended. An ugly statement on human behaviour, human consumerism and the callous disregard for others and our planet.

User review rating: 0 July 21, 2017

Powerful content, outstanding direction and acting, storyline is a sign of the times... yes, I will see it again...

User review rating: 5 July 20, 2017

Loved it!!! Intelligent dialogue. Great performances, especially by Salma Hayek, and the subject happens to be actual and pertinent.

User review rating: 0 July 18, 2017

Ouch. Controversial. Poignant. I loved it. Perhaps there was no ending because there isn't.

User review rating: 1 July 17, 2017

Good actors but one dimensional. Depressing story.

User review rating: 4 July 16, 2017

Liked the actors performances. Great film for mental health education. Signs and symptoms of burnout . Family and friends not being able to know what to do. A better ending would have been her getting the help she needed to deal with her many losses.

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2017

Very much for the times!

User review rating: 2 July 13, 2017

Not emough Beatrix at dinner and too much Beatrix stalking the halls looking doleful. Okay, Important commentary was made about anti-Mexican bigotry was made but it was glaring because the scriptwriting was so awful and some of the acting worse than the supposedly poignant ending. Ugh!

User review rating: 4 July 12, 2017

Fantastic film....until the rather disappointing ending. Almost felt like the writers knew it had to end but couldn't come up with a well thought out conclusion so they gave up. While this film may depict seemingly polarized ends of the socio-political spectrum, these folks do indeed exist... I believe I have indeed met a few of them myself.

User review rating: 5 July 09, 2017

Excellent. It's a tough movie that shows how desperate our world has become and the willingness, or unwillingness, to do something about it. Great acting.

User review rating: 4 July 07, 2017

As others have noted, I did not see this as a comedy. However the acting and writing were outstanding. The themes germane to our time and poigiantly delivered

User review rating: 1 July 05, 2017

Very disappointed. Ending did not make sense because of the character she played.....and what about her poor animals. I should have read the reviews before I bought a ticket.

User review rating: 1 July 04, 2017

If I could give this movie a zero I would.... one of the worst movie's ever.

User review rating: 1 July 02, 2017

no plot stupid ending..low budget..not funny..medicore acting..one of the worst movies..

User review rating: 3 June 29, 2017

Was billed as a comedy but I didn't laugh once. Surprise ending was unexpected and left me saying "huh". Gave it a 3 because the message is important and I felt it was well presented but... I really wanted to laugh :(

User review rating: 5 June 28, 2017

I read all of the reviews posted here and can only tell you that the negative reviewers missed the point. Yes, there is an attempt to portray a Trump like character (Lithgow) who is dismissive, prejudiced, greedy and inhumane in his treatment of people of color and/or people and who are are disenfranchised and animals. But, it is really more about the desperation that these disadvantaged people feel when they cannot alter their circumstances. The main character is pushed beyond her ability to cope with the mistreatment of human beings and animals by selfish and greedy power hungry people. This is a sensitve film with an important message given what is now happening in the U.S. with Trump and the Republican politicians. My suggestion if you wrote a critical review. Watch the movie again and put yourself in the shoes of Beatriz.

User review rating: 1 June 27, 2017

A big let down. The whole change of events were not part of Beatriz's character. Really believed she would attempt to make a difference. And what about her own beloved animals? Very disjointed!

User review rating: 3 June 27, 2017

Profound thoughts poorly delivered. Not certain whether it was the script, or whether this message can be delivered in a movie: it is about how narcisstic personalities domineer artistic personalities. Selma is constantly portrayed as a profound thinker while the main character is portrayed as a dimwit Trumpian type! Surprise ending not satisfying since it leaves it all up in the air!

User review rating: 1 June 26, 2017

Horrible movie! And the ending was so disturbing, really poor script and storyline. I don't know what the writer was thinking here. I gave it 1 star only because I had to.

User review rating: 4 June 25, 2017

Not a comedy (as suggested). Painful, somewhat brutal, and a good look at the world we live in -- with 2 possible endings offered, both arising out of pain. (There are other options, though they're not explored here.)

User review rating: 2 June 25, 2017

I am not a big fan of action movies but this one was way too much yakkity yak and not enough actual plot. Singularly unsatisfying!

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2017

The worst movie I have seen in years ! The best part was the length, it was short !

User review rating: 1 June 25, 2017

Was looking forward to this movie because I love the actors, but it was quite a letdown. I don't care to see Trump type people in a movie, enough of that in the news...and the way it ended made everything a waste of time. Talk about a depressing movie! Don't go if you need cheering up, this will not do the trick!

User review rating: 1 June 24, 2017

Low budget. Absolutely TERRIBLE! It was a waste of time and money. The ending was ridiculous, just awful. Several times we thought of getting up and leaving the movie theatre.

User review rating: 1 June 24, 2017

Save your money. Low budget, of little value.

User review rating: 5 June 22, 2017

I loved it, I would see it again

Change Location