A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.51 / 5

User rating: 3.51

Based on 384 votes and 94 reviews


  • User rating: 3.51 50.31%
  • User rating: 3.51 6.21%
  • User rating: 3.51 9.32%
  • User rating: 3.51 12.42%
  • User rating: 3.51 21.74%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 94

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2020

Hanks nails Mr. Rogers in this flick. Please make sure to bring a few tissues as it has such tender moments it will make you fill up for sure, I cried like a baby every time I saw it, twice so far and plan on going at least one more if not more before it leaves the big screen. It's a must see and will sure turn into a classic down the road.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2020

Wonderful movie. Tearjerker and interesting human story. Loved Mr. Rogers. Teaches an important lesson about forgiveness. Must see movie!

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2020

Best movie of the year!!

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2020

Loved this movie, really touched my heart.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2020

A wonderful movie that everyone should see.

User review rating: 1 January 04, 2020

I hated this movie too dull and boring no story to it at all could have been better

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2019

Deeply moving film that caused me to reflect on my own journey in life... and remember the times when I chose to forgiving someone who did not deserve forgiveness. It brought a powerful message of reconciliation! Very moving story! A must see for everyone!

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2019

I liked the entire movie 5 stars

User review rating: 4 December 26, 2019

Was a little disappointed. Tom Hanks is a great actor but moved a little slow and felt a little uncomfortable in spots. Anyway Fred Rogers must have been a very caring person..Enjoyed no profanity or violence in movie...Yet a little uncomfortable in some of the puppet scenes.

User review rating: 1 December 26, 2019

Not a good movie. Boring!!! Wrong person to depict Mr. Rogers!

User review rating: 4 December 21, 2019

What a kind man Fred Rogers was. Inspires us all to be more tolerant, understanding, and compassionate.

User review rating: 5 December 21, 2019

exceptional family movie.

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2019

I totally loved it and Mr. Rodgers too! It was therapy on anger and forgiveness which the world needs. 😊

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2019

Mesmerizing theme. Acting superb. Was not disappointed! It's so refreshing to view a movie with no immorality or bad language or violence.

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2019

Excellent story, well written, great acting, beautifully filmed. Very moving portrayal of Mr Rogers’ influence on the young and young-at-heart.

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2019

This was less about Fred Rogers and his influence on young people and more about how he affected a cynical adult. I loved that Tom Hanks wasn't turned into a 'clone', that he was projecting the wisdom of Mr. Rogers, and that was really what the reporter needed.

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2019

Truly moving! Didn't know what to expect, but I am so glad I went. We'll watch it again (and I NEVER watch movies a second time!)

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2019

It was a great tribute although it focused on the journalist it portrayed the very essence of who Mr Rogers was, his whole life was not about him but others. Beautiful movie of love, kindness and forgiveness. We need more Mr Rogers and this movie made me want to be a better person.

User review rating: 5 December 12, 2019

Finally a wholesome family movie which tugs on the heart and deals with unresolved emotions. I consider myself a very kind person , but this challenged me to be kinder yet.

User review rating: 5 December 12, 2019

Beautiful, inspirational movie

User review rating: 2 December 12, 2019

Mr. McFeely gives the best performance in the movie. This film would have been a big snore without him.

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2019

Loved the movie. I could relate in so many ways. It was a story of Mr. Rogers ability to help another with his kindness and understanding. A man that was hurting due to childhood anger. To me it was a very powerful story full of patience, love and understanding.

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2019

We already had an excellent documentary on Mr. Rogers. This film was much more, much deeper, and shared the essence of the man - his empathy, acceptance, kindness, love, forgiveness etc. It was reflective and made one want to be a better and kinder person in a world growing unkind and unaccepting. I don't think anyone could have portrayed Mr. Rogers better than Tom Hanks.

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this film...it was quite different than expected but in a refreshing way. The world needs more films like this and more people like Fred Rogers!!!

User review rating: 2 December 11, 2019

Nice warm story, but was expecting more about Mr. Rogers' life and story, not the Esquire writer's story. Young and old in our family found it very slow and boring, wasn't a fun or uplifting movie to attend. I'm sure Mr. Rogers' real life story would have been more interesting to us fans.

User review rating: 3 December 10, 2019

Watching this movie, I didn't see Fred Rogers, I saw Tom Hanks pretending to be Fred Rogers. Rogers' essence just wasn't there. As far as the story, it was far less about Fred Rogers than about Esquire writer Tom Junod’s difficulties with dealing with his father. Although Rogers was instrumental with excising Junod's demons, the movie could just as easily been named "One Angry Man."

User review rating: 4 December 10, 2019

Feel good movie. Made you ponder your positivity.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2019

Shows kindness in this narcissistic society- if you didn’t like it- hmmmm?

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2019

I thought that Tom Hanks did a wonderful job, telling us Fred Roger’s story! Great movie!

User review rating: 2 December 09, 2019

SLOW AND UNINTERESTING, tom hanks is not at his best

User review rating: 2 December 09, 2019

Very good message need more of that

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2019

This is a very good movie. Makes you feel good with no agenda or twists. Just makes you feel good and realize there are good people in this world and people can change their hearts if they try.

User review rating: 1 December 07, 2019

I'm a longtime fan of the series and have every episode on blu-ray, so it's with great disappointment I say that at no time watching this movie did I feel I was in Mr. Rogers Neighborhood. Hanks, laboring under enormous mounds of makeup, never captures the essence of Mr. Rogers, and whoever was responsible for King Friday's voice couldn't have been more incompetent. Even Mr. McFeely was sadly miscast. Perhaps one day we'll get a movie worthy of Mr. Rogers, but this isn't it.

User review rating: 5 December 07, 2019

Everybody should watch this. Reminds you how to treat others. He was a wonderful man and nobody other than Tom Hanks could play him and make it work.

User review rating: 3 December 07, 2019

Tom Hanks was awesome but movie overall was not great

User review rating: 4 December 07, 2019

A more interesting story than I thought. It is a true story but not for anyone who wants action and adventure. It is for those who like to see that there is still kindness and caring in the world.

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2019

Lovely true story of a remarkable man and his impact on our world.

User review rating: 2 December 06, 2019

Mr. Rogers was great -- this movie, not so much. It's more about the journalist (with his anachronistic facial stubble) than about Fred Rogers. A bit of a tear-jerker; not really a satisfying movie.

User review rating: 3 December 05, 2019

I expected to learn more of who mr Rogers really was and there was some but it was more of a this is us story. I didn't hate it but didn't really love it either, it was kind of a twisted movie not really enjoyable, I wouldn't recommend it.

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2019

I liked it just the way it was. It took me back to the many years of watching Mr. Rogers Neighborhood with my children.

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2019

One of the best movies I have ever seen! Mr Rogers was a kind caring person. In a day & age of everything having to be done so quickly. We rush around with self centered pursuits,not stopping to just listen & see the good in others & encourage them. I want to slow down & be more like Mister Rogers. I plan see this movie again & again.I was highly impacted by the moment of silence. Wow! Tom Hanks was wonderful!

User review rating: 3 December 04, 2019

Tom Hanks does an excellent portrayal of Mr. Rogers. The movie is about forgiveness and yes a bit slow moving, It reveals the caring soul of Fred Rogers toward humanity.

User review rating: 1 December 03, 2019

I did not enjoy this movie. The constant camera going back to a blurry neighborhood display was annoying and painful on the eyes. I thought it was poor camera work. I found this movie depressing and very slow. It was not what I expected for a Tom Hanks movie. I would not recommend this movie.

User review rating: 2 December 03, 2019

TOM HANKS IS A GREAT ACTOR but this movie doesn't highlight is ability. the movie was very slow paced and hard to stay awake

User review rating: 3 December 03, 2019

I could have watched this on tv in 2 years , wouldn't have missed much

User review rating: 2 December 03, 2019

very disappointed , really dragged at times

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2019

I'v always hated my father for his profound shortcomings and then at one particular point of the movie all those hateful emotions disappeared and was replaced by appreciation for those things he did do for me that made me who I am. Yep, I cried but the feeling of release of those hateful emotions is profound. Thanks script writer and actors. I'm buying this movie so I can see it many times.

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2019

Profound immediate affect on my life.This movie answered a lifelong issue even psychologists couldn't resolve for me.Amazing

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2019

Absolutely one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long time. Tom Hanks never disappoints in any role he plays in. Very moving story and would pay to go see it again.

User review rating: 1 December 02, 2019

Most disappointed I've been at the movies all year. Was Mr. McFeely even in this film?

Change Location