Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.03 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

3030 Bloor St. W, Toronto, ON M8X 1C4

(416) 232-1939 | View Map


2.03 / 5

User rating: 2.03

Based on 72 votes and 22 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2.08955223880597
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.11764705882353
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1.97058823529412
  • Customer Service User rating: 1.95238095238095

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 22

Great theatre experience!

March 16, 2018

Great selection of movies. What you miss at downtown independent cinemas you can pick up at the Kingsway.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Great theater

March 06, 2018

Love this place, the people are always so friendly and it's always really clean. Shows start on time and the concession choices are amazing. I will be back!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

No No No at The Kingsway

March 06, 2018

On March 2 my husband and I visited The Kingsway cinema, anticipating an enjoyable evening. While my husband parked, I entered the lobby, noting the signs stating that no food or drink nor backpacks were permitted in the theatre. Before I could ask for the tickets, the girl said curtly “no food or drink can be brought into the cinema” to which I said “OK, fine.” She repeated herself and told me to read the signs. I was puzzled at the tone and implication of her manner. I opened my arms wide and said “You can see that I have no food or drink with me. I am trying to buy food and tickets.” She dialed the manager, telling him “the customer does not like what I told her,” then saying to me she was instructed not to sell me any tickets! She again trotted out the “no food or drinks” mantra. Exasperated, I asked to see the manager/owner. When he appeared, without looking directly at me, he blurted out “This is a licensed establishment, it’s not negotiable.” (What?) He ran off, leaving me confused, angry, and embarrassed. Never have I been subjected to such a humiliating and uncalled-for experience in all the years I have gone to a cinema. What kind of establishment treats patrons this way? I found the whole display of an uncaring attitude, shoddy rudeness, and arrogant disdain towards a customer to be quite unbelievable. I did not fall into any of the “NO” categories on the signs and, even if I did, is this your idea of customer relations, Kingsway? When my husband returned and went into the theatre to determine why I had been treated so badly, he got the same response from the owner as I had, plus a warning about calling the police (before again scurrying off). Hello, I think we have a problem here. We rented the movie and watched it at home later that evening, saving the $60 or so we would have gladly spent at The Kingsway had we been welcome there. There are always other cinemas to visit, but never again The Kingsway.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Gorgeous theatre; terrible customer service

March 03, 2018

The Kingsway Theatre was apparently built in 1939. It's a quaint, lovely building at Royal York and Bloor. As someone who loves old buildings, I think it's great that it's not only still standing but still playing movies. Unfortunately the astoundingly rude customer service ruins the whole experience. Last night I was waiting in line to buy tickets. The girl at the concession stand was refusing to sell tickets to a customer because she somehow got it into her head that the customer was bringing food in. This was puzzling as the woman in question had a very small purse and no food or drink in sight. She was waving her money trying to explain that she didn't have food on her and in fact wanted to BUY food at the concession stand and a movie ticket. Meanwhile the line was growing and instead of just taking care of business and selling the woman a ticket and food, the concession girl dug in her heels. The woman asked to speak to a manager who was shockingly rude to her. He didn't seem to care about customer service at all. Embarrassed, the woman left. Both myself and my partner felt bad for her and we agreed never to go to this theatre again. The movie started about 15 - 20 min late b/c of the staff arguing with the would-be customer. When we went into the theatre, there was trash all over the floor. Plus the tickets were sixteen bucks - more expensive than a regular professional theatre. Won't be going back until it's under new management.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

The Worst!

January 24, 2018

Abusive management. No heating Poor screen & audio Save your $

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Great experience

January 16, 2018

Offers movies no one else has, I always have a great experience here and appreciate that I can see lesser known films here that no one else is showing anywhere in the GTA in addition to all the big releases.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

great

January 12, 2018

professional customer service, great movie theatre

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Owner needs to wake up!

January 07, 2018

We used to love the Kingsway back when it was part of a chain, The new owner has no concept of good customer service. We went there to give local business some support, as we typically go to Cineplex on the Queensway. 1) Theatre was freezing. Not the first time we experienced this. Made it very unpleasant. 2) Popcorn way too salty. 3) Tickets and concession way over priced. Cineplex is warm, cheaper, tons of parking, more movies, newer and a more pleasant over all night out experience. 4) Projection wasn't the best....not sure what the problem here was....we saw waves lines of some sort, like a heat signature or something through out the movie. So, ask yourself....WHY WOULD WE WANT TO COME BACK? We gave you the benefit of the doubt and the cold in the theatre really made the evening unpleasant. This isn't the first time I have walked out frozen. My wife will never come back. So, are you in business to turn customers away? Cuz I don't get it. I know I am not alone here. This place has so much going for it. Reasonably clean, nice location, old time theatre, excellent charm and the decor is fun.... But, it ends there. There is nothing compelling about over paying, lousy and expensive concession, poor projection and an uncomfortable stay. The theatre holds at least 150 people, maybe 10 people were there at our showing. My last trip there, I was the only one in the theatre. Oh well ..... good luck.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Icebox Movies

January 02, 2018

The temperature in the theatre is numbingly cold.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

January 02, 2018

The main theatre can be quite cold in winter -dress warmly. I enjoy the broad selection of films shown here.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3
Change Location