Thank you for rating this theatre!

Kingsway Theatre

CLOSED DUE TO COVID-19 UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

User rating: 2.98 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

3030 Bloor St. W, Toronto, ON M8X 1C4

(416) 232-1939 | View Map


2.98 / 5

User rating: 2.98

Based on 39 votes and 35 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3.02857142857143
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.07894736842105
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.91891891891892
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.88888888888889

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 35

Worse Theatre Experience Ever in 69 years

February 08, 2020

Only one staff person who was rude and arrogant. I witnessed a middle aged woman who paid cash and didn’t take her ticket being evicted from the theatre for lack of a ticket, even though the one staff person remembered selling the ticket to her. How could she not remember as there were only about 15 people there for the show. I was afraid to come to her defence as I feared I would be evicted as well. To top it off, the theatre was not heated and I watched the film in my coat, hat and gloves. When I brought this to the attention of the one staff person, she looked at a thermostat in the concession area and implied I was wrong as it said 70 degrees. I will NEVER go back there again. I’m surprised they are in business at all having now read other reviews. I can only draw the conclusion that the owner keeps it going to satisfy his need to treat patrons badly, or he is waiting for the big payoff from a condo developer and the theatre is a tax write off due to the patrons and revenue.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

No heating at 11:30 movie with -10C outside.

December 26, 2019

Theatre opened 20 mins late although employee at ticket desk inside was there at correct time. Temp outside -10 with strong wind. The heating was not switched on until 2 hours and 45 mind into a 3 hour movie. I don't even know if it is legal. Never again will I go there in winter.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

More Appalling Customer Service - Choose another theatre!

June 25, 2019

Went straight from work and had my backpack with me with laptop. Was told that I must leave my backpack in staff room. When I asked how many staff there were and who had access to the room, the woman who works there told me she wasn't going to tell me how many staff there were and that she was going to make it real easy for me and not sell me a ticket.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Appalling Customer Service

May 29, 2019

I am so sad to be writing this review, as I have loved coming here in the past years and supporting a small business. Last night, I went to the theatre and when I walked into the building, I was finishing about a quarter of a bagel. Stuffing it in my face as I wanted to get more food. The girl working had came up to me and said her manager has asked me to finish the food outside. So I walked back to the door all while continuing to chew fast and shoving it in my face as I didn't want to miss the movie. As I got to the outside door, she came back again and said my manager has asked again you finish it outside. I said I just shoved it in my mouth so I am chewing fast! I then went back in line, no food in hand, and waited to pay for a ticket. She then came back to me and said my manager has asked that you leave the premise. I asked why, and she said because you were eating. I mentioned that I ate it as fast as I could and respected that I needed to finish it before entering. As I left, I called the manager as he wouldn't come down and speak to me. And he picked up and yelled at me and then hung up. I called back 2 more times to fully understand (I am in customer service, and this is appalling) to which he continued to not take my call and just hang up. How sad is this? When a local is trying to support this business and get turned away so rudely and abruptly. I then turned around and went to see a movie at Cineplex. I am devastated about this experience but after reading the other reviews, it seems pretty common :(

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

I love neighbourhood theatres

April 20, 2019

I love neighbourhood theatres. we should have more of them like in the olden days.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Very Cold

April 14, 2019

Dont go unless its hot outside. Very damp & cold inside. Poor picture quality Very grainy Felt totally ripped We were the only 2 people in the theatre

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Cold, dirty, pathetic and rude

March 04, 2019

Staff are unbelievably idiotic and rude. Both theatres are cold, dank, sticky and dirty. The upstairs theatre feels claustrophic. The waiting area is cramped, not to mention bizarre. My experience at the Kingsway was pathetic.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Decrepit building but shows interesting movies

February 17, 2019

I wish the owner could find the money to fix the fabric of this building up. It has the potential to be charming and retro, but at the moment it's only retro! The movies shown are a little different from the mainstream, which I really appreciate.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

MOLDY!!!!

September 15, 2018

If you have mold allergies or just do not want to sit in a moldy theatre do not go here. Should be gutted and renovated. Absolutely horrible.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Great quirky cinema experience.

August 10, 2018

Beautiful old theatre with some eccentricities - video screen in lobby playing cat videos. Delicious popcorn, free refills on soft drinks. A great place to see a movie.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5
Change Location