Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 1.96 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

3030 Bloor St. W, Toronto, ON M8X 1C4

(416) 232-1939 | View Map


1.96 / 5

User rating: 1.96

Based on 45 votes and 11 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 1.97777777777778
  • Concession User rating: 2.07142857142857
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.02380952380952
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1.85714285714286
  • Customer Service User rating: 1.84615384615385

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 11

Worst Experience in a movie theatre

October 15, 2017

We went there. The film started late. Very poor projection and extremely overpriced tickets. We had driven from across town so we stayed. When the picture broke down and we complained to the management, we were screamed at.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

go elsewhere

September 15, 2017

This theater shows good films; however, it has a rude owner, smelly rooms, small screens, and late starts. It is not worth your time or money. Go elsewhere.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Won't be back

August 10, 2017

Went to see "Learning to Drive" one afternoon. The movie was showing in "the Screening Room" upstairs. Picture was projected from a computer with very bad resolution and the wrong aspect ratio (either that or Ben Kingsley has gained a lot of weight.) When we asked about it, the proprietor said that there was nothing wrong with the picture and left. I wouldn't watch something on an old analogue TV that was this poorly presented. Lousy presentation, lousy customer service. Won't be back.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

A reason this place has survived all these years

June 22, 2017

After reading some reviews I went and also spoke with the owner/ manager. This is a theatre originally built in 1939. On my visit the place was clean, movie sound and picture was very good. Yes the owner seemed a little on edge but he answered any questions and did not yell or swear at anybody. Understand this is not a cineplex where you just do whatever you feel like. They are licensed to sell beer and alcohol and that comes with some "rules" just like any other business. The place reminds of a time when there was a way people expected others and themselves to conduct themselves in a respectful way. I am sure the same people bringing in backpacks of food and flaunting the rules are the same folks talking throughout a movie or playing with their phones. There must be a reason this place has survived all these years. - What a relief.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Old school movie going at its best

June 22, 2017

I go about once a week and have had a great time seeing alot of stuff I cant see anywhere else in the city. Sure tix prices are more, but name me another small biz (any other cinema charges about the same price and shows stuff that we have all seen a billion times or mostly mainstream stuff). I saw someone on line complan about not being able to take their bag in the cinama. I asked the cinema why they would have to do that . Their response was a very valid one. The kingsway cinema is a licenced bar (you can buy a drink and have it anywhere in the building) because of this if someone brings in outside food or drinks The cinema can be fined and lose their licence as well. It's one of the only cinemas that has a FULL licence. (most other cinemas only have a spot where you can have a drink. Or it's a VIP screen and it's $25 just to get a tix) I really like old cinemas and if we don't do our part by going to them we may not have them in the near future.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Would go again - But movie started late and would not run movie to end of credits

April 28, 2017

Enjoyed the movie although the screen was smaller than I anticipated. I have not been to this theatre in many years although I went often in the 80's and 90's. So a lot has changed - but I was glad to see it reopened after it closed. The seating area where you wait to be told you can go into your theatre was open to the street which we really enjoyed and the popcorn was good - not salty (although quite a few kernels). Free popcorn refills too. Main complaint is that the movie did not start on time and then we were not permitted to watch to the end of the credits. We were discussing the credits as we usually do and then girl ran in to see where the movie was, saw it was the credits, and ran out and turned it off immediately - likely they were running even later by this point. So be prepared that the movies are not always running strictly on time. I do appreciate the variety and number movies that are offered and that they are repeated during the week and the variety of food. There is a lot of parking in the area and even though it was busy we found a spot quickly. The bathroom was pristine and clean. No one was rude and all questions were answered. We went to see the movie and so although the staff were not overtly friendly they provided good service. If only we could have watched to the end of the film credits. Even with their rules, which we followed, they could be friendlier.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Yes, it's old and not new and shiny......that's the point

April 11, 2017

If you're looking for a cookie cutter theater that has 78 showings a day of the latest Marvel movie than this place isn't for you. If you want to see some "off the beaten path" and cult movies in a place that has character, then this is the place for you. The double features on Wed's for $10 is the best deal in the city. They play Dario Argento movies for goodness sake, how awesome is that. All you can eat popcorn and free refills on pop. I know it's gotten a lot of media attention lately, I can just speak to my experience. I wish there were more throwback theaters like this.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Experience

April 06, 2017

Best retro movie experience and I can walk to it.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

RARE AND FOREIGN FILMS

April 05, 2017

I have been going to the Kingsway ever since it opened. I live in the west end and many good movies, even Oscar performances, cannot be seen in other west end locations. For example today I am going to see Fences. I saw Neruda a couple of weeks ago; where else out here can I see foreign movies. I am not well enough to trot downtown. May the Kingsway continue to get the quality movies, it currently gets.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Well run and organized

March 10, 2017

I find when you enter the Kingsway Theatre it is well run and organized. The owner is very present and adds to the smooth running of the theatre when the patrons are there. The staff are friendly and helpful. I enjoy going to the Kingsway, even though I have coupons to go elsewhere for a cheaper price.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4
Change Location