Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.12 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

3030 Bloor St. W, Toronto, ON M8X 1C4

(416) 232-1939 | View Map


2.12 / 5

User rating: 2.12

Based on 26 votes and 23 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.19230769230769
  • Concession User rating: 2.26086956521739
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.1304347826087
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 23

Watch out - this is a troubling man/place

May 17, 2017

I went to school with Rui Pereira and he was a hateful, troubled individual even then. He was little and deranged and it doesn’t surprise me that he has come to the trouble that he has been in in the media. We knew that Pereira was beaten severely by his parents and he was a strange boy, often telling a lot of lies and putting on airs. People generally avoided him, as there was a hateful disturbed air about him and in high school, many people thought that he was responsible for harming and torturing animals. It doesn’t surprise me that he has attacked women and children. When I read the many fake reviews he has written below trying to salvage his reputation, it’s obvious that now, as then, he has a deluded sense of himself and his relation to others. The rash of ‘highly positive’ reviews that he has posted in an attempt to ‘salvage’ the reputation of his obviously mouldy and overpriced cinema is laughable. They all sound the same and obviously fake. He has no interest in cinema which is obvious – he has not seen most of the films he projects. He is somebody who enjoys having authority over and attacking people. This is not a person who should be allowed to deal with the public, especially women and children. Watch out. He is a hateful deranged person. He is swimming in a great amount of psychopathy and shame. The fact that this man is allowed to interact with vulnerable people is troubling.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Would go again - But movie started late and would not run movie to end of credits

April 28, 2017

Enjoyed the movie although the screen was smaller than I anticipated. I have not been to this theatre in many years although I went often in the 80's and 90's. So a lot has changed - but I was glad to see it reopened after it closed. The seating area where you wait to be told you can go into your theatre was open to the street which we really enjoyed and the popcorn was good - not salty (although quite a few kernels). Free popcorn refills too. Main complaint is that the movie did not start on time and then we were not permitted to watch to the end of the credits. We were discussing the credits as we usually do and then girl ran in to see where the movie was, saw it was the credits, and ran out and turned it off immediately - likely they were running even later by this point. So be prepared that the movies are not always running strictly on time. I do appreciate the variety and number movies that are offered and that they are repeated during the week and the variety of food. There is a lot of parking in the area and even though it was busy we found a spot quickly. The bathroom was pristine and clean. No one was rude and all questions were answered. We went to see the movie and so although the staff were not overtly friendly they provided good service. If only we could have watched to the end of the film credits. Even with their rules, which we followed, they could be friendlier.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Yes, it's old and not new and shiny......that's the point

April 11, 2017

If you're looking for a cookie cutter theater that has 78 showings a day of the latest Marvel movie than this place isn't for you. If you want to see some "off the beaten path" and cult movies in a place that has character, then this is the place for you. The double features on Wed's for $10 is the best deal in the city. They play Dario Argento movies for goodness sake, how awesome is that. All you can eat popcorn and free refills on pop. I know it's gotten a lot of media attention lately, I can just speak to my experience. I wish there were more throwback theaters like this.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Experience

April 06, 2017

Best retro movie experience and I can walk to it.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

RARE AND FOREIGN FILMS

April 05, 2017

I have been going to the Kingsway ever since it opened. I live in the west end and many good movies, even Oscar performances, cannot be seen in other west end locations. For example today I am going to see Fences. I saw Neruda a couple of weeks ago; where else out here can I see foreign movies. I am not well enough to trot downtown. May the Kingsway continue to get the quality movies, it currently gets.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

DO NOT GO HERE - Owner/Manager Rui Pereira is abusive

March 13, 2017

All the other comments about what happens at this place are true. The poor actor who was harassed did not threaten this deranged individual and his staff at all - he is a big liar who likes to assault people. How do I know? I was physically assaulted by this dangerous individual when I asked for my money back. He locked the door and called the cops. After the cops came and 'cautioned' him, he assaulted me again. He has verbally or physically assaulted other individuals including women and children - just do a little research and it will all come out. Why the police don't do anything is a mystery. Apparently they get called there time and again, and allow him to continue doing what he's doing. If you either want to get abused/assaulted by this individual or go ahead and have a horrible experience where you see someone else being assaulted, go ahead and buy a ticket... the place and people are horrible

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

Well run and organized

March 10, 2017

I find when you enter the Kingsway Theatre it is well run and organized. The owner is very present and adds to the smooth running of the theatre when the patrons are there. The staff are friendly and helpful. I enjoy going to the Kingsway, even though I have coupons to go elsewhere for a cheaper price.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Don't go!

March 10, 2017

It's a sh*tty a** theatre, the one time I went there last year: - the seating area itself reeked (sp?) of mold & mildew, the ceiling was covered with water damage marks, - they wouldnt let even those w special diets bring in outside food, - they made everyone leave their knapsacks at the refreshment counter, & empty their water bottles prior to entering the venue; - the owner locked the front entrances from inside with a key between screenings (so those in lineup outside could not enter venue before the next show time) but no one could get out, & he left the door unattended while he was occupied elsewhere (rather than properly staff the venue); - when I let him know I'd bought 3 advance tix, but my 2 friends from out of town wouldnt be able to attend their tix screening time (scheduled a different date) due to mold sensitivities, he refused to even speak w me, & essentially kicked me out. #TorontoPublicHealth & #TorontoFire should shut this place down.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Rude Owner

March 10, 2017

The owner of this theatre has issues - he is known for yelling at staff AND customers in public. Not only yelling but swearing at people. I have been there once and saw it for myself. I thought it might have been a one-off - everyone has bad days - but then I looked up other reviews online and realized there's a pattern here. I will never return.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

TO TORONTO BOARD OF HEALTH.

March 09, 2017

WORST OVERALL CINEMA IN GTA. OVER PRICED CONCESSION. BROKEN SEATS. WASHROOMS UNFIT AND REPORTED TO BOARD OF HEALTH.OWNER REPORTED TO ONTARIO HUMAN RIGHTS FOR RACISM.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1
Change Location