Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.06 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

3030 Bloor St. W, Toronto, ON M8X 1C4

(416) 232-1939 | View Map


2.06 / 5

User rating: 2.06

Based on 60 votes and 18 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.05
  • Concession User rating: 2.14545454545455
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.16071428571429
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1.94642857142857
  • Customer Service User rating: 1.9811320754717

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 18

Great experience

January 16, 2018

Offers movies no one else has, I always have a great experience here and appreciate that I can see lesser known films here that no one else is showing anywhere in the GTA in addition to all the big releases.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

great

January 12, 2018

professional customer service, great movie theatre

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Stay Away from the Kingsway!

January 07, 2018

I made a joking comment about the theatre being freezing cold to give us the experience of being in the film (BladeRunner2049). The foolishly arrogant little waif who called herself the "manager", told me that I was wrong and insisted that the theatre was 72 degrees, and that there was nothing wrong with the projection (see review below from today)...then stared blankly when I asked if that was all she had to say. There's also a huge floor-grate in the centre cross-aisle that blows noisy ice-cold air, that's louder than the film during the quiet dialogue! This is a terribly overpriced, and very poorly run theatre, with astoundingly rude staff. Do yourself a favour, and never set foot in this awful theatre!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Owner needs to wake up!

January 07, 2018

We used to love the Kingsway back when it was part of a chain, The new owner has no concept of good customer service. We went there to give local business some support, as we typically go to Cineplex on the Queensway. 1) Theatre was freezing. Not the first time we experienced this. Made it very unpleasant. 2) Popcorn way too salty. 3) Tickets and concession way over priced. Cineplex is warm, cheaper, tons of parking, more movies, newer and a more pleasant over all night out experience. 4) Projection wasn't the best....not sure what the problem here was....we saw waves lines of some sort, like a heat signature or something through out the movie. So, ask yourself....WHY WOULD WE WANT TO COME BACK? We gave you the benefit of the doubt and the cold in the theatre really made the evening unpleasant. This isn't the first time I have walked out frozen. My wife will never come back. So, are you in business to turn customers away? Cuz I don't get it. I know I am not alone here. This place has so much going for it. Reasonably clean, nice location, old time theatre, excellent charm and the decor is fun.... But, it ends there. There is nothing compelling about over paying, lousy and expensive concession, poor projection and an uncomfortable stay. The theatre holds at least 150 people, maybe 10 people were there at our showing. My last trip there, I was the only one in the theatre. Oh well ..... good luck.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Icebox Movies

January 02, 2018

The temperature in the theatre is numbingly cold.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

January 02, 2018

The main theatre can be quite cold in winter -dress warmly. I enjoy the broad selection of films shown here.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Programming

November 26, 2017

Very good choice of movies in a nice, old cinema.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Outstanding - The last of the Authentic Theatres

November 11, 2017

An outstanding theatre with Curated Films of all genres. Exceptional Bar selections, food and concessions. Friendly, Caring and Professional Staff. Comfortable Seating, Large Screen and Crisp Sound. Located on Bloor Street just steps from the Subway. Embrace the experience and attend generously with an open mind. Wonderful Experience at this Theatre for over a decade. The negative reviews are inaccurate in my opinion, and miss the mark of what this Theatre's essence is. You will never experience excitement like this an ODEON.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Worst Experience in a movie theatre

October 15, 2017

We went there. The film started late. Very poor projection and extremely overpriced tickets. We had driven from across town so we stayed. When the picture broke down and we complained to the management, we were screamed at.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

Won't be back

August 10, 2017

Went to see "Learning to Drive" one afternoon. The movie was showing in "the Screening Room" upstairs. Picture was projected from a computer with very bad resolution and the wrong aspect ratio (either that or Ben Kingsley has gained a lot of weight.) When we asked about it, the proprietor said that there was nothing wrong with the picture and left. I wouldn't watch something on an old analogue TV that was this poorly presented. Lousy presentation, lousy customer service. Won't be back.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1
Change Location