Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 3.56 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

55 Bloor Street West, Toronto, ON M4W 1A5

416-961-6303 | View Map


3.56 / 5

User rating: 3.56

Based on 24 votes and 18 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.54166666666667
  • Concession User rating: 3.42857142857143
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.71428571428571
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.57142857142857
  • Customer Service User rating: 3.52380952380952

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 18

No more matinee movies !! Very sad

June 02, 2018

Will some professionally run American chain company please buy this awful movie chain cineplex and drain this swamp. Worst management ever. This is what happens when there’s a monopoly. They couldn’t care less about patrons!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

No more afternoon matinee movies! Very uncomfortable too

June 02, 2018

No more afternoon matinee movies! You never ever answer your office phone I cannot believe you no longer have afternoon movies even on the weekends. Disgusting! Cinplex is the worst of the worst. Unfriendly staff and bad management. I hope an American chain buys cineplex and runs it with top management with patrons in mind. Drain the swamp.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

why did you cancel matinees -especially on a Statuday??:

May 18, 2018

unbelievable, no matinees anymore, very disappointing and I would think a money loosing experience. Was my favourite theatre, but not anymore if no matinees.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Matinees Cancelled

April 07, 2018

Unbelievable! Matinées cancelled. When I asked about it I was informed it was due to construction. When I asked when construction would cease and matinees would resume I was informed approximately 2 months. Very disappointing.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

What happened to your matinees?

April 05, 2018

I can not believe that you no longer have matinees during the week! This is a very poor decision to ignore all of the seniors who love to go then. Surely you are aware of the boomer demographics.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Worse chairs

December 16, 2017

Dec 16, 2017 The Shape of Water Seats not much smaller and much less comfortable comparing to the other VIPs. Much less leg room too, when people walked pass me to get to their seats, the space of the “walkway” was at least half a feet smaller than other VIPs! Also, it’s a theatre with only 20 seats, so the screen is proportionally much smaller like watching a movie at home with a home theatre system. The staff didn’t even close the theatre door when the credit started rolling when the movie started. One of the audience was nice enough to close the door for us. It’s ridiculous customer service! The good thing is the theatre validated the parking ticket to drop the parking fee from $20 to $3!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Not for vertically challenge

January 16, 2017

uncomfortable seating for shorter people

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE

November 27, 2016

My son and I came to watch a movie that starts at 6:55 pm. We came at 6:15 and got in the Auditorium while they were still showing the same movie but it was the credits rolling on the screen. There wasn't a line up and we didn't even know that we should line up at the front since they didn't have an usher or anyone organizing it. So a cleaner came in and told us to line up just like everyone else meanwhile there wasn't s line up. He was very rude and very disrespectful with a condescending tone. I would like it if their district GM can contact me so they can better assist people and perhaps assign an usher if movies ate being shown that close to each other so ppl don't get confused and get disrespected by their staff.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

VIP Comfortable

August 19, 2016

Get some Gluten free snacks please

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

Layout and design

March 06, 2015

With 35 years of film viewing in Toronto I have always found the Varsity VIP the most comfortable venue in town.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5
Change Location