Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 1.94 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

850 North May Street, Thunder Bay, ON P7C 6A5

(807) 628-8455 | View Map


1.94 / 5

User rating: 1.94

Based on 26 votes and 24 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.26923076923077
  • Concession User rating: 1.72
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1.54166666666667
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.32
  • Customer Service User rating: 1.84

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 24

Staff don’t listen

October 08, 2018

I pay for extra butter,and then I have to remind them to put it on. Some times I forgot to remind them and every time they forget. I get all comfy in my seat,start eating my popcorn and there again and again again every time. The staff doesn’t listen,Or maybe they just don’t give a dam,that I paid for extra butter. I go to the movies once a week,but am really considering staying home and watching Netflix or streaming a movie. It’s cheaper,Its warmer at my house,don’t have to get out of pyjames and I NEVER forget the butter on my popcorn. Plus the bathrooms you can smell the stench has you walk by.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Why are decent movies being pulled early

August 25, 2018

I have on more than one occasion tried to se a movie only to find the Thunder Bay's ONLY theatre has pulled it only after a few weeks,AND in its place have put in movies that are played to death on tv, not fair since you chased out every other movie theatre in town. EX. Mama Mai, we tried a few times to see this movie but it was full, so we waited and only a few weeks later you pulled the movie, and replaced it with older movies that we can see anytime on tv, Thanks Silvercity you still suck,,, btw tell the ushers to acutally clean the theatre between movies, i was there a few weeks ago and it was disgusting, and the seats had grease all over them, about 7 of us had to move because we couldn't find a clean place to sit.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Rude customer service

August 07, 2018

There was a power outage on Sunday July 29th before our movie started so we were told to hold onto our stubs and come back to exchange after sitting in the dark for a few minutes. We returned the following Sunday to see the movie and exchange our stubs for tickets. The girl working called over the manager which was a very rude lady with blue hair. She asked how much of our movie we missed which we said the whole thing. Her response was the power was only out for 15 minutes. She was extremely rude about it and reluctantly gave us passes to see the movie. She ruined the day for me, there was no reason to be so rude to a paying customer. We did what we were told and she flat out called us liars.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

A Standard Theater with Pleasant Staff

March 28, 2018

I'm a huge movie buff so I'm here almost every week. Out of the 50 times I've been there in my life the theater has been unacceptably unclean about 5-6 times. Concession prices are a rip off anywhere you go so that's nothing new. Every staff encounter has always been a friendly one and have never been spoken rudely to. I've had 5 movies start however without the lights in the cinema turing off where someone had to leave the movie to grab a staff member to turn off the lights. Overall my experience with Silvercity Thunder Bay has been a pleasant experience . 4/5

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

STAYHOME

December 20, 2017

Noisy dirty theater! People in thunder bay have NO ethics!?? Talking and using cell phones all through the movie, and NO ushers doing their jobs. You can't contact the management to complain !!!! Save your money, movie will be on Netflix soon enough.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Good times???? where is security.

August 13, 2017

Good Times??? Many people have spoken to management and workers and they keep saying its not their problem. But it is...if you have a business you are responsible for their safety . They don't seem to care as long as they're making money. So dont assume no one has said anything as they have many many times. and obviously you dont go as often as others, because most times the theatre is disgusting, the seats have popcorn grease all over them, and the floors are so sticky that your shoes stick to the floor. BTW management please bring back the security guard, i am sure you can afford it.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Good times

June 06, 2017

Never experienced most of the issues people are complaining about, except for the odd persons having their cell phones out. Been to several movie theatres around Canada and the U.S. And this theatre is on par with or in better shape than most. There aren't many theatres where you can see movies at this low of admission prices. The concession stand prices are no higher than anywhere else either. If people have concerns about security then they should speak to a manager or the police if they have been threatened or have their vehicles broken into.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Tickets

April 18, 2017

Why do we have to line up in long long lines just to get tickets along with people getting popcorn etc. I just want my ticket not anything to eat, so why do i have to line up with the masses, and it takes forever just to get your tickets as the concession is sooooo slow. Could you please keep the ticket booth at the front open, so the majority of us can just line up to get tickets and not concessions. Thank you!!

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Where are the Ushers?????

February 28, 2017

I would just like to know where the ushers are? The other night we counted no less than 10 people using their cell phones...others started to yell at them to turn them off and most did except for two, never saw an usher come in once!!! Someone did have to get up and miss part of a movie they paid for to try to get someone to come in and there was no one in the lobby...no ONE....the employees working the food, said it wasn't their job... PLEASE correct this....movies for most are something we don't do often, as it's expensive for a family, have the ushers check the movies playing and when people don't get off their phone, remove them, so that the others can enjoy their movie time....it ruined our night

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

DIrty theatre

October 24, 2016

THEATRE MANAGER PLEASE READ!!!!!! I don't know who you have cleaing the theatre, but when we were there just recently, its was filthy. Popcorn all over, pop dumped all over the floor. The seats have stains and grease marks, you didn't even want to sit on them. There were blood stained napkins in the holders, just disgusting. Please keep in mind, people would like a decently clean movie theatre, and not sit in someone else's filth.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2
Change Location