Thank you for rating this theatre!

Galaxy Cinemas Elgin Mall

CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE DUE TO COVID-19

User rating: 3.79 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

417 Wellington Street, St. Thomas, ON N5R 5J5

(519) 631-2261 | View Map


3.79 / 5

User rating: 3.79

Based on 19 votes and 18 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.68421052631579
  • Concession User rating: 3.66666666666667
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4.33333333333333
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.21052631578947
  • Customer Service User rating: 4.05263157894737

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 18

Not much for adults

November 26, 2019

In five years in St Thomas, we have seen three movies here, since we are grownups with no interest in cartoons or special effects or robots or fast cars. With all those theatres and such low attendance, could greater effort not be made to have a movie, at least once a month maybe, that adults with IQs would want to see? We are not able to drive so we can't just escape to the big city for our entertainment. Obviously, the volume level of the obnoxious commercials before the movies is unacceptable. Do the advertisers who pay the theatre for the right to annoy me, in the seat I have paid for, also pay to damage my hearing? I simply leave the theatre for 20 minutes (and loiter in the entrance so I don't miss the beginning of the movie itself). The consistency of the complaints about this issue at this page indicate that it has been brought to the management's attention and the management is not interested. If more people had the courage of their convictions, I would suggest that those of us who do all get together and make a party of it one night, and simply stamp our feet and shout TURN IT DOWN in unison for the 20 minutes of hell visited on us. Or just walk out until the movie starts. Anybody with me?

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

St. Thomas theatre complaints with the loud sound system

December 16, 2018

I have yet to learn if anyone at Galaxy Cinemas actually reads the reviews on the theatre as reported by patrons and has any action been taken to correct the problem with the loud sound system?

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

We are lucky to have such a fine multiplex facility.

October 12, 2018

I enjoy going to the theatre here and would enjoy it much more if I didn't find the sound system so loud during the pre-show clips and particularly, the commercials (maybe, the popcorn concession commercial is the worst). I have to plug my ears until the main feature comes on. My wife no longer will go to the theatre because of it being so loud. I believe that the decibel level is hazardous to ones hearing and should be reported to the Department of Health and Safety.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Volume ridiculously too high!!

May 27, 2018

My first issue is the excessive volume - do you not have any control over it? I'm sure it is beyond the legal limit . . . The cleanliness of the theatre and washrooms is not great and when you try to address either of these issues with staff, they're too busy and claim there is nothing they can do about it - that's "not their job". Concession staff are busy with young trying to get their 'overpriced' popcorn out to them and there really is no-one 'available' to hear your complaints. Yes it is nice to have a multiplex theatre so close to home but . . . is it really that difficult to get something done about a few issues that can turn this place around so you could make this a golden opportunity where young and old would enjoy the entertainment and suggest their friends to join them - there are a lot of seniors in this area (as well as kids) - maybe we could look at one special that seniors would enjoy - a golden oldies type of movie once a week. Think it - just a thought to revive this mall in St. Thomas!! You deserve a much higher rating for being the only theatre in St. Thomas - let's do something about it!

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

best customer service

April 06, 2018

if you are looking for a theatre that is not as busy as the rest this is the one. The staff are all friendly and helpful.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Sound system?

March 19, 2018

Why so loud during the intro before the featured movie begins? I believe that the sound system is so loud that it damages your hearing. I have to plug my ears until the sound level is tolerable.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Good experiences

March 04, 2018

All around good experiences. Sound could be slightly lower and of course the concession prices are very high.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

No real cashiers, concession to expensive, too loud, no decent problem solving, bankers hours

January 17, 2018

What can I say only theater in town so no competition for Galaxy to set higher standards for the theater..sound system too loud....Concession stand too pricey....hours are horrible, thought that idea of moving theater to mall was for accessibility , movie basically playing all the time, joke. they only open when it suits them. No cashier buy tickets through their little stand by interact or go without. No complaint forum, if you are lucky enough to tell a manager why you are dissatisfied, they feel compelled to tell you bull crap instead of fixing the issue. Highly unsatisfied with this theater, but you know you have to take what you can get when they are the only ones.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Too Loud

March 12, 2017

This theatre has in my experience always had its audio set too loud...the pre-movie ads have catastrophic sound levels. I have sat through a few movies with my husband because he did not want to leave(he had decreased hearing) but I have not been there for approximately two years, Instead, I have travelled to London for movies. Last week I broke down and decided to support local and tried a matinee movie on Sunday. The audio was even louder than I remembered. Three minutes after the actual movie started, I left and asked for a refund because I had started to develop a headache and nausea. If this movie theatre was a workplace, all patrons would have to wear ear protection. ..Incidentally, when I had previously had attended movies here, male patrons had shouted out "Turn it down!" with effect but that had obviously not resulted in a change of audio level.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Falling apart

March 11, 2016

During a visit to theater , screen 5 to be exact , on way up stairs to seat , used handrail for support , and IT FELL OFF, causing me to fall and land on my elbow, spill my food and drink and public humiliation .... After I gathered my mess up , went to front area and informed them that handrail was loose and I had fell .... All I got was " oh .... Ok we will look at it and get it fixed "

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 2
Change Location