Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 3.20 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

300 Borough Drive, Scarborough, ON M1P 4P5

(416) 290-5217 | View Map


3.20 / 5

User rating: 3.20

Based on 29 votes and 23 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.44827586206897
  • Concession User rating: 2.8
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.54545454545455
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.45
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.77777777777778

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 23

Staff forgot to turn off lights - Poor movie experience and false accusation

November 07, 2019

Took my wife to see the Terminator last night (10pm show, Aud 12, 4/11/2019) at Cineplex Cinema Scarborough. Bought pop corn and drinks to enjoy the show. However, we had lights on during the first 15 minutes of the movie. I had to go out and find a staff, which took a while since it was the last show of the day, to come and shut off the lights. Pretty much ruined the entire intro part of the movie. After complaining to Cineplex customer service the following day, Cineplex claimed that this incident never happened and that we were lying, despite us showing photo of the screen, lights, and glare on the screen. Extremely poor customer service and post-incident handling.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Most Noisy Theatre in Toronto

December 19, 2018

This theatre could be almost perfect if management would do something about the ongoing and serious issue of constant chatter through out movies . I've noticed this to be a general behaviour with Toronto movie-goers, but Scarborough movie-goers are among the worst, if not the worst. And this theatre is the worst I've been to among the handful I go to regularly, for people talking through out the movies. I have to tell at least one group of people to be quiet every time I go. I raised the concern to managment and that perhaps we need workers/security sitting in the theatres. I've seen this in Whitby. And more commercials before the movie telling people to be quiet, as they always do with advertisement regarding no cell phones. In fact, there often are no advertisements reminding people not to talk, yet, lots of stress about cell phones. Frankly, the talking is more irritating if having to choose. Managment does not care. Even though very recently at the beginning of November, there was an incident in this theatre regarding people talking that resulted in physical assaults, the police and a pause in a movie. As I mentioned, other than this the theatre is great. Huge screens, AVX, (no IMAX or VIP). Lots of food options and comfortable seats that lean back. But managment is not willing to work with the customers, so be careful who u sit around, and u may have to move if u want to hear the movie. Or ask the person to be quiet, but a warning; something as innocent as that can turn really nasty. People actually think they are in their rights to chit-chat through out the length of the movie. I've started going to Scotia Bank Theatre and the one at Bloor and Bay. People down there tend to be better behaved in the theatre. They actually go to the movies to watch the movies.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Great theatre

July 22, 2018

A wide range of food and drinks, nice and big setting.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

dont eat pop corn

September 14, 2017

terrible that you have a phone line and no one to answer, why pay the phone line if no one can get to answer it. I have pressed so many 1/2/3/4/5/ lost count. I am handicap and need to speak to live person

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

B+

December 12, 2016

The area is convenient (major pro), but I would say it's a little too busy with students (major con). I do like that there's more things to do other than just watch a movie (table hockey is my jam) and the washroom was relatively clean, which is HUGE for someone like me. Biggest problem though... there needs to be more of a movie selection, especially for a place as central as it is!

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

accessability

August 15, 2016

Entrance from the mall is never available-because if and when the lift is working-you buzz and no matter how long you wait no staff come out to help you. As for the outside doors you need to go to 1 end of the entrance to get in & the opposite end to get out-when they are working...the theaters are accessible. Other than those things the staff is good-managers amazing & polite. At the concession stand the staff is rushing you-almost upsetting-while you're deciding what you want-they are too pushy about what you should have. Oh and the popcorn being kept under heating lights-is always cold. Cineplex sets prices we understand-but charging double butter now just to put it through the whole bag is an outrage. You popcorn goes up 2 dollars and taxes. Butter should be less cost as it used to be free. Perhaps 75 cents-no matter the way you want it. Overall we love movies & as a middle aged couple we go 1 to 2 times a week-like a hobby. So we still give them 3 stars with improvement's to access into the theater would give them 1 more star.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

July 13, 2016

Avergae. The best part of it is the location.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

Their food prices are hyway robbery & too often their staff-so young & unsure.

June 23, 2016

Like I said the prices of the food products are outrageous. The quality has not improves yet prices keep going up. Even the flavour is gone on their always served pre-heater stored popcorn-rarely can u talk the staff into hot fresh popped popcorn. The other foods are low quality as well. As for the staff-yes I believe in giving youth job experience-but before they work-they should know the fire regulation-and for disabled persons like myself-Most of the young staff have to ask each other where the elevator is. Worst of all the mall exit-if I really mean if the lift is working-you buzz and no one is in any hurry to help operate it. You press a button and end up asking someone to go ask staff after 10 or moor minutes The main entrance exit enter buttons-are near impossible to find often broken & they make no effort to improve this. The managers are great!

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Wish you were better...

June 14, 2016

Let me start off saying I like going to the movies, I try to go every month or two depending on what's playing. So let me start with the staff... buying food is such a pain if you go to outtakes, the staff often has trouble finding the items in the computer that I want to order, and what do you mean I can't make the classic hotdog a combo? It's clearly displayed that I can... I often spend 20-30 minutes trying to get food when it is not busy. While waiting for food I once tried to get some candy out of the machine near by. Wouldn't you know it the damn machine got stuck halfway and took my $4. I asked the first staff I saw with a radio to call for a manager for me, and while he seemed to understand what I was saying, no one was called.... so after waiting 10 minutes I went to guest services and got someone else to help me. Ohh and yes I hate cold popcorn too, I don't want those pre made bags that had been sitting there for a while that you top up a little. For what I pay for you can make it fresh. A while back I went to see the first showing of Star wars, the force awakens. Fun movie, I had awful seats... anyways movie starts everything was good, then after about 5 minutes lights turn on! So I give it a minute but they aren't turning off.... so I have to get up and go find someone. I end up missing part of a movie that I had been looking forward to seeing since the news came out about it being made! Of course when I did see a manager a little ways off and shouted down to him that the lights were on in the theater they just looked at me confused... I could rant for hours.... but it won't matter. Anything to save a few pennies.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Complaint regarding your arcade

August 28, 2015

I'm an avid movie-goer at stc's coliseum cineplex and I generally always have a good experience at this venue, however; I'm also a frequent user of the arcade located at this particular movie theatre and with regards to their machines, I must say that they are completely underkempt and always in need of maintenance. The arcade cabinets emulating Capcom vs. SNK: Millennium Fight 2000 and Street Fighter IV are constantly broken and need repairs, whether it's the actual buttons or the joysticks themselves. What's worse is that I've repeatedly complained about these machines and have never been provided any recourse or reassurance that they'll be fixed. As a customer who buys Xcape cards quite often, I feel that I have not been accommodated. The fact that I pay for an arcade experience at coliseum, only to later find out that your arcade cabinets are broken is extremely frustrating. What's worse is that I recently spoke to the manager of stc's coliseum complex by the name of Razia, who told me that 'complaining to the ushers about the machines is useless because they don't do their jobs'. I find that the accountability for your staff handling customer service issues is absolutely lacklustre. Razia's comments made me lose faith in your arcade competely and I will be pressing your players club for a full refund of the money I've spent on broken machines located at your stc theatre. If your manager is comfortable with telling patrons that complaints go unnoticed and that ushers 'don't do their jobs' why should I continue to maintain my loyalty with your company and their arcade venues? Thank You for your consideration or therefore lack of.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 5
Change Location