Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.20 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

320 Water Street, Peterborough, ON K9H 7N9

(705) 749-2000 | View Map


2.20 / 5

User rating: 2.20

Based on 15 votes and 12 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.06666666666667
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.42857142857143
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.14285714285714
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.35714285714286

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 12

Our "go-to" theatre

February 03, 2018

We lived in the Peterborough area for 11 years and usually attended a Friday matinee at the Galaxy before moving south to Bowmanville. Although there are now several theatres closer to our new home, we find ourselves continually going back to the Galaxy in Peterborough. We appreciate the free covered parking (especially in winter) and just find the theatre well-run and an overall pleasant experience.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Never plays anything unless it's mainstream comedy, horror or superhero films

December 18, 2017

Hasn't had any of the 3 most anticipated films in the past few months, which they showed the trailers for including: Goodbye Christopher Robin, Lady Bird, Shape of Water and many more. If you want something other than a marvel film or another crappy comedy you have to go into Toronto now. They give 3 theaters to Thor but nothing else. It has really gone downhill in the last few years.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Needs improvements

September 06, 2017

We have found broken seats worn out seats. Not enough consession workers, to long wait in line up. AVX theatre #1 way to loud...we won't go to a movie in that theatre. On good side ticket price fair. If a manager reads this pleaseeeeee fix the sound!!!!

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

......bad

September 03, 2017

sigh

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

RIP OFF!!!!!!

September 03, 2017

Very unhappy with my experience going to a movie here!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Gross!!!

August 31, 2017

This place looked awesome from the outside but once you go in it goes from awesome to terrible pretty fast. I could not believe how nasty the theater seats were!! Me and my husband had to try three diffrent times to try and find a seat a seat that wasn't covered in old food, and the food we did get was awful my husbands popcorn was terribly burnt!!!! and the pizza slice I got tasted like it was made hours ago couldn't even finish it. Very unimpressed with the whole experience

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

TOO LOUD!!!!!

July 05, 2017

My husband and I went to the show last night and went to the preferred seating theatre. Lovely seats - Then the preview started. Very loud but thought like any commercial, they are always loud. The show started and the volume stayed the same. My husband is hearing impaired and wears hearing aids. Last night he did not have them on, plugged his ears with his fingers and could still hear the movie clearly. I have good hearing and plugged my ears as well but had to leave the show within 5 min , if that, because my ears were hurting. If I can't handle that level, what about the children in the show that are going to be damaged. There are industry standards in manufacturing that require ear protection for that decibel level.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Poor poor projection

January 05, 2017

Even though ticket and concession prices are high (they are everywhere though). Cleanliness is only fair. My main sticking point that makes this theatre a no go is the actual movie experience. Last 3 movies we went to see they left 2 house lights on that glared on the screen, the movies are extremely unfocused and dark (both 3D and regular). Not sure if they need new equipment or a new projectionist, or both. Skip this theatre until they fix it go elsewhere.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

depends on day

June 09, 2015

some staff are great customer service same depends on staff member, female manager very rude no customer service skills, male mgr very helpful,some movies are never available here. Concessions way overpriced, if prices were more in line, they would sell lot more

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

worst theatre in ontario

May 02, 2015

I remember when this theatre opened, and it was a thing of beauty. No one cares about it now. It could not be more sad.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 3
Change Location