Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.45 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

1100 Pembroke St. E, Pembroke, ON K8A 6Y7

(613) 735-8318 | View Map


2.45 / 5

User rating: 2.45

Based on 75 votes and 64 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.53333333333333
  • Concession User rating: 2.25714285714286
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.47887323943662
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.35211267605634
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.60869565217391

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 64

Great Popcorn

June 16, 2017

Good movie Theater

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

March Break

March 14, 2017

Being the only theater in town do they not realize just because children are on March break parents still work they do not have one children's movie that is not a matinee so if you decide to take your younger children to see a movie I guess you have to take a day off work

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Poor Seats

February 02, 2017

The seating set up is not the best. The theater is not on enough of a slope and the seats are not staggered enough so if someone taller sits in front of you there goes your view ! Also the seats themselves are not very comfortable. The cost is high for a poor experience.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Not Worth It

January 02, 2017

I went to this theatre for years because there was nothing else in town. It is no longer worth it. The staff are not pleasant, the entire establishment is dirty, the video and sound quality are sorely subpar, and the seats are uncomfortable and often broken. Considering that they charge as much as a "real" cinema, I now make the drive to Renfrew whenever I want to see a movie. Would love to see this place updated, and will revisit if that ever happens.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Falling apart

December 30, 2016

Can only use cash at concession. Lights burnt out on theatre floor. Seats broken. Can hear movies next to you. Needs a complete update. People drive to Ottawa or Renfrew instead.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Time for a change

December 29, 2016

I have been going to this theater on and off for over 30 years by myself and with my children and all I can say is that "its done its time" I have read some reviews below about how its a great small town business etc etc but that's like saying your 15 inch black and white TV is still a great model and still has a picture. We live in a time where movies are being made to be shown on big screens, comfortable stadium seating and full digital sound. I paid almost $12 for a movie and forget about the non existent selection at the concession. Staff were so-so friendly and I believe staying at home and watching the movie on my large HD television is a better experience. No excuse for this to be the only game in town when just down the road in Kanata are the silver Screen Theaters.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Needs a total upgrade.

December 17, 2016

Everything is dirt and worn. Owners are not friendly. Would rather drive to renfrew

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Always a great experience!

November 10, 2016

I attend this theater often. It is consistently friendly, clean, courteous and a great experience every time I attend! Thank you for your courteous service, and continued effort to keep theater movies in Pembroke with often failing attendance.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

It gets you out of the house.

October 22, 2016

It's a small town theatre and one shouldn't expect state-of-the-art equipment. The staff are nice and very much obliging. The seats however need to be replaced. Don't care how good the movie is if the seats are worn out. The sound system could probably use an upgrade as well, but if funds are limited, then let's get comfy first!

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Good Small Town Theatre

September 27, 2016

The Algonquin is a good small town movie theatre. The prices are comparable to theatres elsewhere. The staff is friendly. Sound bleed is an issue but it is an issue faced by many theatres. I have noticed worse sound bleed in the large cineplexes in Ottawa. I wish that there was a better variety of movies but I suppose that the movies offered are the ones that will sell in a place the size of Pembroke. Pembroke isn't New York or even Ottawa.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5
Change Location