Thank you for rating this theatre!

Galaxy Cinemas Owen Sound

CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE DUE TO COVID-19

User rating: 3.03 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

1020 10th Street West, Owen Sound, ON N4K 5S1

(519) 371-5222 | View Map


3.03 / 5

User rating: 3.03

Based on 17 votes and 15 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.76470588235294
  • Concession User rating: 2.57142857142857
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.875
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.9375
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 15

Frustrating Experience at this Theatre

February 05, 2020

The problem with this theatre is getting a ticket to see the show - either the kiosks are broken, or only one is working......you cannot simply pay for a ticket. You must use the kiosk or wait in long slow moving lines where people are buying food. Have mentioned these things to the manager who I really don't think cares. Sometimes the manager will be standing with a guy taking the tickets (instead of pitching in at the concession stand or selling some tickets). In fact, I can truly say I have never seen the manager do anything except stand around! Once you get a ticket, the theatre, sound, etc. are all fine.....it's just the frustration of getting a ticket. Really a terrible experience

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Too many kids shows on far too long! Open ticket wicket!! We don't all have 80$ for theater food!

December 14, 2019

Blockbuster movies are pushed aside for kids movie marathons that is on here for weeks at a time! The adults pay for this place existence, and should be catered to accordingly. We constantly have to attend other theaters because many or most of the movie listings in Owen Sound are cartoons and child movies. They should also open the ticket area as no other theater makes customers wait inline with food purchasers for tickets. Odd and timely!

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Management Issues Here

August 07, 2018

Not sure what the manager (s) are thinking here sometimes. The concession lines are long and slow; if you want to buy only a ticket you still have to wait in the line while people buy food etc. You can use debit at a kiosk though they are not always working. I have seen the manager standing at the stand where you take the ticket (and sometimes even with a third person) while these lines are happening. Can't the manager help out. I have never ever seen the manager serving anyone or selling a ticket. They need to figure this out because I too have seen people leaving. This is the only theatre where this happens....and I go to the one at Yonge & Dundas in downtown Toronto - no problems there.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Wonderful staff!

June 12, 2018

Staff are excellent, kind, courteous!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Volume

April 14, 2018

Taking into account that the entire world appears to have hearing difficulties, resulting in loud volumes, I still find the volume of most showings here to be unacceptably loud. This applies to trailers and most particularly ads, moreso than the feature film, although they do start out with an auditory bang. I have on occasion ask if the volume can be adjusted somewhat and sometimes there is a marginal adjustment. Please assess your audience(more mature audiences for art type films,so super loud not needed). Contributing to future hearing disabilities is not a good community service. I never attend a film without earplugs and I know a number of people who do the same.This should not be necessary.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Ticket buying is a nightmare--the few staff there are pleasant but they need more help

January 26, 2018

It is the longest wait of any theatre to buy tickets--waiting while the concesssion sorts out orders and popcorn, drinks etc. is just too much. Two weeks ago, after forgetting that we said we would never go there again, we went and waited for 24 minutes in line--and there were four lines. 2 groups of parents and children left because of the wait. 3 of our friends said they wouldn't wait and left us. We thought of going as well but stayed on. You HAVE to rethink your ticket/concession selling. the present plan is unacceptable!!!!!

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Very good!

July 06, 2017

Generally great theatre, relatively modern and a great spot in the OS area!!

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Very good!

July 06, 2017

Generally great theatre, relatively modern and a great spot in the OS area!!

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Sound wasn't working, zero customer service

February 06, 2017

Just had to walk out of a movie, the sound wasn't working so you couldn't hear anything that was being said. The manager told us it would be fixed in the morning and to deal with it. Zero customer service, couldn't have cared less.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Visit disappointment

October 29, 2016

Very limited service staff to help customers. Tickets kiosk only to purchase tickets and one kiosk the touch screen not registering request. Concession area has very limited staff to look after customers and therefore longer wait times and eventually we walked away without purchasing.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 0
Change Location