Thank you for rating this theatre!

Cineplex Odeon Oshawa Cinemas

CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE DUE TO COVID-19

User rating: 2.70 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

1351 Grandview Street North, Oshawa, ON L1K 0G1

(905) 432-3486 | View Map


2.70 / 5

User rating: 2.70

Based on 24 votes and 23 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.875
  • Concession User rating: 2.60869565217391
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.625
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.83333333333333
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.54166666666667

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 23

It's OK. Not the best or the worst.

February 13, 2020

I have been watching movies here since it opened, it is close to where I am so I visit this theater often, and I never had a bad experience watching movies. The commercials are a bit too much though, many times I forget what I'm watching before the movie starts, and the ticket prices are a little high but that is going on everywhere. The reclining chairs are good, but it's not really made for slightly smaller than average size person. I end up leaving the theater very uncomfortable. It's mostly the shape of the seat I have the issue with, no support in the lower back area. With the movies getting longer I feel sorry for anyone with back issues. I had never experienced this before the seat change or in any other theaters I have visited ever. The food prices are pretty expensive, I enjoy some of the warmer foods, but there is a very good chance of getting stale popcorn. If it's sitting in a bag when you get there ask for a fresh one or get something else. The last time I had popcorn was very disappointing, it was like they put some fresh popcorn on top of the old stale ones. I spent a lot for just a bag of popcorn that I can't eat, and it ends up straight to the garbage. It happens more than once too, my friends, and family had the same experience, the most recent was last week. It reminded me why I rarely eat at theaters. I have no problems with the customer service there, they are very nice and willing to help. It sometimes looks as if they are may be a little short-staffed but I maybe comparing from when they first opened. Overall, I do enjoy movies and will visit again but won't be eating popcorn for a long while.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

What a Sticky Mess

November 10, 2019

I can't believe how much it costs to go out to a movie these days. Luckily the seating is super comfortable. I arrived at the concession stand to friendly staff members but the young lady taking my order wasn't 'hearing' me. She asked the same question 3 times and when I mentioned that the counter was sticky she completely disregarded my comment. My very expensive food was placed on the sticky counter (gross) and off I went. As I walked passed all the other tills, the entire counter was a sticky and dirty mess. Then I saw 3 - 4 other staff members hanging out, talking and definitely not working. The place must have went through a rush, it was dead at this time, and the employees were in no rush to get the place back in order. The cup holder in the theatre was also dirty.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

whats up with all the commercials ?

March 08, 2018

Paying so much now to see a movie these days . Its hard enough to find one that's any good? Compounded by the number of commercials you have to sit through before the movie starts at Cineplex theaters. When I had tv, I don't recall ever having to watch nearly ten commercials about cars, soft drinks, government programs and bank of Nova Scotia . Before the movie starts up with 'coming attractions' . Other theater chains do not put you through this agony . Please do your best to shorten up or stop the commercals !! Thank you

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Great for kids movies, otherwise...

January 18, 2018

This is a perfectly good theatre if you are a child, have children or generally have the same movie tastes as children. They'll put superheroes and animated features on multiple screens and completely skip popular films that are aimed at an adult audience. If you like movies that make you think, head over to landmark. If you like explosions and sassy-talking animated animals, this is your theatre.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Seating

January 06, 2018

Your new reclining seating is by far the most uncomfortable seats that have ever been installed. I will not be returning to these theatre's again.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

One of the worst

January 11, 2017

This is combination of their small theater size, rarely clean environment, bad customer service, terrible times for movies and the fact that they never answer their phone. My friend lost his wallet there and not only were we barely helped, one of the employees claimed he would get a call back the next day which never happened. This theater is miles away from the university it serves and we can't take the bus because his bus pass was in the wallet. If you can afford to go to any other theater, I would highly recommend doing so.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

November 18, 2016

Great atmosphere, personnel very cordial, caters to both young and old alike. The theatre seats are very comfortable (important to me as I was in a vehicle accident); elevation between rows are perfect, i.e. no longer having to see through people in front rows (less distractions). I do, however, find the volume too loud and I'm a senior. Feel it may be detrimental to most people's hearing, especially, the younger generation.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Best theatre in Durham region

July 19, 2016

Overall best movies, experience and best time.....

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

needs improving

May 11, 2016

Handicap access needs upgrades not enough variety for food and drinks pizza was cold as well as the popcorn candy way too expensive floors were dirty and sticky finding a place for my scooter was very difficult no staff ever ask if they could help me to a seat

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

April 29, 2016

you must improve the popcorn please, cold dry,

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 5
Change Location