Thank you for rating this theatre!

Hyland Cinema

CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE DUE TO COVID-19

User rating: 4.71 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

240 Wharncliffe Rd. S., London, ON N6J 2L4

(519) 913-0313 | View Map


4.71 / 5

User rating: 4.71

Based on 21 votes and 16 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 4.76190476190476
  • Concession User rating: 4.66666666666667
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4.61904761904762
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4.57142857142857
  • Customer Service User rating: 4.95238095238095

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 16

Our local art house cinema

January 03, 2020

We have been members for a number of years and love to support a theatre that brings in independent films. The service is great too.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Best movie selection in London

December 26, 2019

I have been a member of The Hyland Cinema for many years and I love being able to make up my mind at the last minute to see a movie, buy a ticket when I get there and have the best picture and sound quality in town. The staff are all very friendly and the concession offers many great options. I feel at home here and often will see friends that are coming or going from the theatre. Support this theatre!!!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

A Taste of Yesteryear

May 06, 2019

It's like stepping back in time when going to the movies was s real treat. This is my Go To Movie Theatre as they have best selection of movies & documentaries. Great customer service and the BEST Popcorn in town

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Friendliest Staff!! Great Choice of Movies!

August 25, 2018

We seldom go to any other movie theatre. Wonderful choice of movies that always start on time with no loud commercials and movie previews. Reasonable price, especially with a subscription. Very friendly, efficient staff; accessible parking behind the theatre. We are regulars!!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Best movies in town

August 17, 2018

We are very fortunate to have this theatre in London. Otherwise there would mainly be blockbusters and indie films would have to be seen on a small screen.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Favorite theater in town

October 24, 2017

Wonderful little independent, super clean washrooms, parking and fresh popcorn. See the independent films that make Hollywood look like amateurs. Seats are old school but with no previews you shave a half hour off of "regular" movie time in the seat. I have seen Winter, Book Thief, A man named Ove, Safety not guaranteed, Moonrise Kingdom, Grand Bhudapest, Birdman, Tariq and a few others that would have missed otherwise. Always go at Christmas for a classic or two.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Bravo Hyland! Best movies you'll see outside the standard formula.

May 30, 2017

Great choices and a chance for Londoners to see great artful movies that don't follow the obnoxious Hollywood formula. Thank you Hyland! Buy a subscription, it's very reasonable and worth every penny!! Support our small, local movie houses!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

My Favorite Theater Experience

September 11, 2016

I love going to the Hyland because of the quality films - foreign, art, documentaries that are not available elsewhere in London. The staff is mature and friendly. The concessions good - love the popcorn and cappaccinos. The atmosphere is comfortable and cosy. The prices very reasonable

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

I Don't Miss Pre-Shows

July 17, 2015

It's an older theatre without fancy recliner seats....but that is offset and outdone by the lack of obnoxious pre-show ads with extra loud ear deafening volumes that go on forever in mainstream theatres Staff are friendly, courteous and efficient. We like viewing movies that aren't found in the chain theatres.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Unique of it's kind.

August 27, 2014

I always watch for Highland's choices first and seldom attend any of the other theaters. Excellent for documentaries and true story movies.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5
Change Location