Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 3.56 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

134 Line 4 South, Barrie, ON L0L 2L0

(705) 487-2212 | View Map


3.56 / 5

User rating: 3.56

Based on 14 votes and 13 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.71428571428571
  • Concession User rating: 3.57142857142857
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.14285714285714
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.85714285714286
  • Customer Service User rating: 3.5

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 13

Best drive-in theater

July 16, 2019

Our family loves the Sunset Barrie Drive-In. It has something for all of us! Our kids enjoyed the playground, the food, and the arcade. We go every year and tell our friends they should go with their families. The prices are affordable and the staff is great. Looking forward to going again this summer!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

A Great Night Out

May 18, 2019

everyone is friendly service is wonderful bath room are always clean i always have a good night out with my Family. the only thing i didn't like is the last three Time's i went i ordered hamburger's and they Tasted burnt.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

amazing drive in

July 25, 2018

amazing drive in best I have ever seen

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Always fun family night!

June 19, 2018

My kids and I have gone here for years and we have many memories of this drive in.I hope it stays open 4-ever!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Going downhill

August 25, 2017

This used to be a great place to catch a bunch of movies cheap but unfortunately despite the improvements made to the concession stand its the customer service that has diminished. The lack of both the staff at the box office and the sense of urgency to get in means that despite leaving early you may be unable to see the movie once it starts. An automated voice message is all you can reach and while it provides limited information if you need to talk to someone even during business hours you will be unable. They have changed the policy of switching theatres which i can appreciate on say fridays and saturdays but this is no longer tolerated so in fact you are better off seeing the movie in an actual theatre. Its too bad this location has lost its charm.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Barrie sunset drive in

August 02, 2017

The general experience is pretty good. I can't argue with the movie selection, but the no switching screens is a bit frustrating. I understand that they are putting a big blockbuster film on each screen, and then the other one is a cheesy kids film. But to let the older people see both older movies, and not have to sit through the little kids film, would be much better. There are seven reviews (excluding mine) and six of them complain about this problem. It is a bad business idea, more then anything else. The cleanness is not very good either, so I would advise going to the washroom before going. The management at the concession is very very young, and immature, and don't know how to do anything on computers. The food isn't that great, just your average variety store food. Ye be warned

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

great for kids, a bit disappointing for adults

July 26, 2017

This place still has the general layout and the play equipment that the previous owners had. The park is great for the kids, and bathrooms are easy to find. There's decent option at the concession stand, though like most drive ins and theaters, it's overpriced, and as the adult who's paying, I find it really expensive to bring more than one kid. They've tried to keep everyone able to enjoy their movie by not allowing ppl to change screens. Perhaps there were complaints over the past 7 decades, Idk. Anyway, you can't move now, except to go home. There's never been two movies in a row at one screen that we wanted to see, so we just go to a regular theater now. The Uptown has the best prices for admission and concession.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Listings in "now playing"

May 14, 2016

The previous owners allowed patrons to change screens for the second movie. Last summer I was told you couldn't switch theatres now. This is particularly frustrating when you look at the "now playing" webpage and cannot tell which movies are laying together on one screen. Has this changed?

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

A Great Throwback

June 03, 2015

I have been attending this drive in for years. I really enjoy the fact that the 50's face lift complete with retro commercials is a great touch. Food is good, and the price us more then fair compared to what's out there. I look forward to my drive in movies, a sign that summer is here.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Great family night

May 13, 2015

I like to attend this theatre once a month during their open seasons. Like bringing the family there, always a good time. The staff is nice, only thing ive never like is no screen switching but its understandable during a movie someone to be driving around looking for a spot. Drive in theatre I find is always better then the regular movie theatre. Its a good experience and I find it worth the 30min drive to get there.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 4
Change Location