Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.23 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

325 Prince Street, Sydney, NS B1P 5K6

(902) 539-3141 | View Map


2.23 / 5

User rating: 2.23

Based on 30 votes and 25 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.33333333333333
  • Concession User rating: 1.85714285714286
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.24137931034483
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.31034482758621
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.41379310344828

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 25

Reserved seating

March 24, 2017

Four coworkers and I just seen Beauty And The Beast this evening 7:10pm showing. We had bought our tickets online and paid the extra money for reserved seating. Knowing we had reserved seating we waiting until 6:50pm to arrive. Just to find out the projector was not working in the orginal theater. We realize this is not the employees fault..however...to be sitting in the 2nd row from the front at a 3d movie when we paid for specific seats is insane. I would assume that the employees would have know about the broken projector before 6:50pm. Maybe they possibly could have set aside two rows like the other theaters for reserved seating. We were offered a free regular popcorn (after we had bought popcorn already)...and told it was all they could do. The movie was fanatsic..but we paid for a certain service and did not get it. Instead we got stiff legs a sore neck & a free popcorn.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Unfair ratings!

January 17, 2017

Most of these negative reviews are very unfair. I have been going to Cineplex Sydney/ Empire Theatres for many years. The theatres, while the smaller ones could use some upgrades, are not filthy. The chairs are not covered in stains. I'm not saying they are ultra modern, but they are acceptable as far as cleanliness goes. The prices are probably lower than some other theatres in the province. Concession prices are competitive with other theatres- all are expensive! The over the top negative comments are unfair and unjustified!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Worst Manager ever!

November 07, 2016

I was setting in a reserve seat in error. He was very rude and asked me to move. Then asked me for my receipt for the movie which I presented to him. This never happen in my life.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

June 17, 2016

Everything about the theatre is great but the food line up, it is way too slow most the time

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Disappointing theatre in need of major upgrades/changes.!

March 01, 2016

The only theatre in Cape Breton is a major disappointment that misses the mark on everything - dirty seats/floors/bathrooms, over-inflated concessions, unorganized, unhelpful staff and poor management. I wouldn't mind paying the very high ticket cost if everything (anything?!?) else was up to par.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Worst Theatre I've Ever Gone To

November 17, 2015

I travel to Sydney a lot and like to go to a movie on my down time. This theatre is the poorest run theatre I've been to. Filthy dirty and unhelpful staff. Regularly run out of items at concessions. Unorganized and poor poor poor management.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

very expensive over priced

June 25, 2015

Feel sorry for people who would like to go to the movies but simply can't afford to do so.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Overpriced and beyond dirty :(

May 29, 2015

This is by far the dirtiest theatre I have ever been in. We travel to Halifax quite often and always go to theatre when we are in town and it is never as dirty as this one. The seats are stained and dirty plus it has an awful smell, management needs to get someone in to clean up. Plus the food is horribly overpriced and most of the time you receive stale popcorn if going to the 9pm showing. We absoultely need another theatre here, Empire theatre was bad when they were here, but Cineplex is much worse. I will be enjoying my summertime movies at the drive in I think.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

prices for food are unexceptionable

March 08, 2015

Please help families go to more movies by cutting the over priced food

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

good customer service, but that's it!

January 09, 2015

To sum it up, overpriced food that's mediocre at best, dirty seats with pop and nacho stains. Good workers, terrible management...next time, I will make the 5 hour drive to Halifax!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 3
Change Location