Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 3.35 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

48 Kenmount Road, St. John's, NL A1B 1W3

(709) 722-5763 | View Map


3.35 / 5

User rating: 3.35

Based on 26 votes and 23 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.03846153846154
  • Concession User rating: 3.04545454545455
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.54166666666667
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.70833333333333
  • Customer Service User rating: 3.43478260869565

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 23

Not enough staff. ....so poor management

October 24, 2017

The service counter is never open. There are never enough concessions open. I went to a matinee last week and only one concession was open and the line was so long I would have missed my movie. Why is it always so cold in the theatres?

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

Not as bad as some say.

September 15, 2017

I attend at least 2 movies a week. I enjoy. I don't purchase food as it is way over priced. The theater is fine, clean, warm and I find the air condition does work when it should. Great enjoyable past time. Complainers...stop complaining! St. John's theater is just as great as across Canada. I've been in many as well.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Deafening

August 01, 2017

The audio is wayyy too loud. I bring ear plugs now. I'm not the only one who thinks this, I've had several people say to me about the audio. Please adjust it. You should have left concession stands on both sides, instead of all on one side, and having the secondary pick up window was a bad idea. Who wants to line up twice? Much too long getting snacks.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Denied Entry

November 18, 2016

I bought a ticket for a film a few months ago, only to be stopped by the manager. He told me I was not allowed in the theater and when I asked why he wouldn't tell me. I had not been to a movie since 2014 and the last time I was there I didn't cause any disturbances (nor have I ever) or break any rules, such as sneaking into a movie without paying for it (I have seen people do this in the past). The tickets are overpriced and so is the food; it takes a VERY LONG TIME TO GET THE FOOD - a friend of mine told me he was once going to buy poutine for a movie but twenty minutes later the person ahead of him was still being served; he ended up not buying anything since his movie would start soon. I did challenge the manager when he told me I wasn't welcome; his response was "there were complaints" and when I asked from who he would not disclose that information to me - once again I had not been to the theatre since 2014 and that experience was good, so there must be some mistake. I decided not to pursue it since I don't need the aggravation and it's not much of a loss on my part - I will be saving money and not having to deal with seat-kickers or people who won't be quiet during the movie. I can just wait until the movie is available for rent on TV for only $5.99 - which is cheaper than paying $15.99 at the theatre, not including the cost of food! If Scotiabank Theatres wants to lose their customers, they are doing the right thing. If they want to keep their customers, they need to change some of the issues (such as wait time for food, prices, and the way they treat customers)!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

theatre good

October 03, 2016

Food good but way overpriced. Seating good if you get there early. Sound too loud for certain movies

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Great theatre

September 09, 2016

O.K.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Waaaaay to slow

August 08, 2016

Went to Scotiabank Theatre in St. John's last night. The line up to get tickets was a bit long so I told my husband I would get into the line up for concessions and wait for him. Well it was a good thing I did..... He got the tickets and joined me in the line up and we waited 45 minutes. All the lineups were slow not just ours. In fact there were some ladies who sat behind us in the movie and they missed 15 minutes of the movie (not the trailers the actual movie) and I saw them only a few places behind us in the line. You have made things waaaaay to complicated. Popcorn, wings, pizza, pulled pork sandwiches and on and on. What happened to going to a movie and getting popcorn and a drink? Not all lines were open. Even if you added one more person to help get drinks or popcorn for the each of the cashiers or something. No one seemed to care.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

March 29, 2016

Ticket Kiosk are NEVER Open when i go to buy my ticket! I would like to purchase my ticket at the counter not the self serve machine especially when the movie is IMAX, because everyone wants me to purchase there tickets so the seats are together! I am not a ATM hahaha! Any love and enjoy the movies once a week! But i will never get the 2 hours back i wasted on 10 Cloverfield Lane (Worst Movie of My Lifetime) But that is Not Your Fault Hahaha! Picture and Sounds are *Perfect* Thank you!!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Ticket kiosks are useless

October 20, 2015

1/2 hr to just try and buy a ticket is too long. No time to stand in line to buy concessions!!!! How can I rate concessions if I don't have time to buy them

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

No Pre-show

June 29, 2015

Part of the movie experience that we enjoy is the pre-show. Unfortunately, on 15/06/15 my husband and I arrived to watch the show but there was no picture - just audio. Very disappointing, especially with the high prices charged for movies. Otherwise, the movie experience itself was good - both picture and audio!

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3
Change Location