Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.71 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

817 St. James Street, Winnipeg, MB R3G 3L3

(204) 774-1001 | View Map


2.71 / 5

User rating: 2.71

Based on 17 votes and 15 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.41176470588235
  • Concession User rating: 2.625
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.0625
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.9375
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.5

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 15

Terrible experience at the concession booth

October 24, 2017

There was approximately 50 people in line at the concession booth when we arrived at the theatre. We soon realized that some of the people in line were purchasing their movie tickets at the concession booth. The ticket booth is now closed, replaced with machines. There was not enough staff at the concession booth to accommodate the number of people. It took 30 minutes to purchase our popcorn and it was not good at all

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

smells like feet !

September 09, 2017

Large selection of movies but the theater has a foot odor kind've smell .Also very run down looking . Half the audience, in every movie I've seen here ,are constantly fiddling with their cell phones,but you never see any employees making a walk through .It's like they have your money so who cares what goes on .

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

No longer able to get Pizza ??

September 01, 2017

One of the things I loved about going to the theater was having some Pizza. unfortunately Scotiabank Theater in Winnipeg no longer has Pizza available, what a DISAPPOINTMENT :(

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Watch too loud

July 30, 2017

Went two movies last Thursday Great shows Dunkirk for me and Dispickable Me for rest of family Both shows so loud ears were ringing after shows Everyone upset over how loud the shows which also made the dialog distorted and hard today hear Still a nice theater. Just find the volume button

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Terrible service

April 25, 2017

Me my friend and 2 children were treated very unprofessionally we asked for an extra bag to put the popcorn in so we can actually mix the seasoning in it without having to waste money by throwing half of it out. They wouldn't do that. We even offered to PAY ( which brings in more money ) for another bag and they still wouldn't do that after stating how ridiculous that was and leaving not even getting 10 feet away the staff are all huddling together looking at us and laughing ... We asked for another bag that's it that's all nothing to talk about nothing to laugh about. I will never be returning to his theatre do to this expirence so there goes that money for you guys. You want customers have good service it's as simple as that. Very unprofessional you wanna talk about people at least wait until they are out of the room.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Rude at when coming in

December 30, 2016

Hands full with popcorn, drinks, purse and jacket.... hand my tickets ask for the 3D Glasses.... told me to get it out of the bin.... not very happy.... no picture during the opening credits.... really, really bad experience...is this how the new Scotia Theater going to treat their customers willing to go some where else... never been treated that badly ever....

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

BS 3D Price Gouging

December 29, 2016

Great theater, but pure BS that this theater couldn't offer regular playing times before 5:40pm that are NOT 3D times. I would recommend you boycott this greedy un-caring non family theater purely on the basis's of no convenient regular movie veiwing times.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Good Experience but Movie times are Weird

December 09, 2016

I have been to this theatre many times, but the timing of movies seems weird. Maybe it is just the site malfunctioning but (for films that have a 3D version) all of the regular showings seem to be in the late afternoon while the evening showings are ALL 3D, which makes no sense to me. I just want to see a regular movie on a tuesday night with a friend, but 3D makes me motion sick. It is kind of a terrible set up. Unless it is just the website being weird.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Worst management

April 16, 2016

We asked for a refund because theatre was full, and was refused by "Parker S" even though the movie hadn't begun. This manager was rude to us, said it was our own fault we didn't get there earlier. He was also condescending and abrupt to the other staff who were trying to help get us a refund. I will not return to this theatre!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Not Very Disabled Friendly...

January 11, 2016

For a relatively new building, the Silver City Polo Park venue is a disgrace to the disabled and the designer should be ashamed of themselves. Yes, there is a ramp to get into the building, this is true. However, the nice visuals of a staircase seemed to take priority over disability access -- either that, or accessibility for the handicapped was an afterthought. Oopsies. Because of this, the ramp to get in the building is way off to the far left side, not even close to the handicapped parking, on the far right. It's like taking a detour to Grand Forks first for a wheelchair -- especially in the wintertime. Inside isn't much better, either. Can the disabled purchase their tickets for themselves and their attendant with the terminal machines like everyone else? Nope. The only way is for us to stand in long line-ups to get them. Discrimination? I would say YES. Wheelchair seating? Yes there is, which is nice. What isn't so nice is that each theater only has a couple of designated wheelchair spots which are all just a couple rows back from the first. So while most people can choose where they sit and how far away they view their movies from the screen, wheelchair bound people don't have that luxury. You either sit on the left side practically at the front, or the right side practically at the front. Those are the only two options. Finally, Customer Service stinks. I can use my Scene points to pay for my ticket even though I have an Access card, thank you very much. Yet I was told by an employee AND the manager that I couldn't -- even though I've been doing it that way for years. Even called head office and they said I was right, too. Silver City Polo Park really needs to get someone in there to start making changes that acknowledge the disabled and make it more handicapped friendly because for a few years now, it has been an epic failure.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2
Change Location