Thank you for rating this theatre!

Village 8 Cinemas

CLOSED DUE TO COVID-19 UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

User rating: 3.58 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

4295 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, BC V0N 1B4

(604) 932-5833 | View Map


3.58 / 5

User rating: 3.58

Based on 16 votes and 14 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.5
  • Concession User rating: 3.35714285714286
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.78571428571429
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.8
  • Customer Service User rating: 3.46666666666667

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 14

awesome service!!!!!!!!

March 14, 2019

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Awful experience

January 13, 2019

The place has the worst ventilation, especially the first room on the right as you enter. You cannot breath and your eyes sting because of the horrible smell from the restaurant 3 Below. The restaurant exhaust fan goes straight into this room. The smell all together in the theatre is bad, you need to wash all your clothes and hair when you get home. We are Whister locals and this is an ongoing situation that nobody cares apparently. When asked to talk to a manager (January 13, 6.57pm) he said he knows about it, and he will pass it on . So frustrating.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Below Average

January 09, 2019

I have come to your theater several times and every time I come there is some kind of glitch or problem. I drive up from Squamish to take my son out to a movie and expect some relatively decent service, at least to that of any theater. A few examples; - there have been a couple occasions where we arrived and the film was sold out - there have been 2 occasions whereas the film was listed as a regular showing and upon arriving we had to accept and pay for 3D, which either of us like - the debit/charge machine has been malfunctioning, unable to process ticket sales and we left (once)... another time we ended up having to pay after the film - I have called numerous times and received no responses, nobody ever answers the phone so what's the sense in listing a number? If Squamish had a theater I would cease giving you my business, but it doesn't, so I'm really hoping Village 8 can get their act together!!

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

best popcorn, and snacks!

January 02, 2019

popcorn was freshly popped and everything was a great price! overall a great experience !!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Noisy Seats

August 18, 2018

The seats were so noisy. I sat in the back and after two minutes I realized that the seat was squeaky. I sat somewhere else because there were so many other seats to choose from. Then a group of five sat in the back and one of them was moving around in the noisy seat. They didn’t stop which really is a shame as they take away from other movie goers experience. I think it’s important for the theatre to upkeep their seats to avoid this in the future. I also think people should be respectful of others who are paying good money to watch a show. I do feel that the staff don’t really care about guest experience. There are ways to handle this but to not care is not an option.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

11 year old boy with Anaphylactic Peanut Allergy would not be accommodated

September 03, 2017

After being proactive with the manager of Village 8 Cinemas about my nephew's deadly peanut allergy, we were told that he would not be permitted entry to the theater with his small bag of Cheesies/can of pop that his mother packed for him so that she knew for sure it was safe. We were told that there were peanut free options (Twizzlers only) at the concession. When she explained she didn't feel safe purchasing food from there (ie; maybe one of the teenage employees ate a peanut butter sandwich prior to their shift & didn't wash their hands) she was told, 'well, he doesn't need to eat anything then - it's only a 2 hour movie'. Meanwhile his 2 cousins had purchased snacks/drinks - really fair to do to an 11 year old boy - make him watch other kids have treats but because he has a deadly allergy, he is discriminated against. Employees tried to say they have a lactose/gluten allergy & they eat stuff from concession all the time?!! Really...a tummy ache is the same as death. The manager was a complete piece of work, loving the power he was wielding over us. He even went as far as to say an allergy is not a disability, even if it is deadly. There is always grey in every situation & he could have easily let my nephew in without making an issue out of all of this. We left, & they lost $50 of business on a very quiet night - the manager, Jacob wouldn't be employed long if this were my business. Imagine...discriminating against a child...for what?! So Jacob the manager could say he followed the rules...common!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Popcorn ripoff

August 16, 2017

Don't like the only one size bag of popcorn which is too large & cost $7.00

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Terrible service

February 12, 2017

Workers do not care about customers or their job, service was poor and theatre needs clean up and renovating

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Great new management

June 10, 2016

Since the theatre has been purchased by a Canadian company there have been significant and obvious changes. Concession is much cleaner and brighter, love the digital signs, popcorn tastes better, prices remain very competitive and the staff is excellent. Can't wait to see the new carpeting!!!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Okay Cinema from 1980

February 28, 2016

I think they should renovate a little ! I don't think they change the carpet even once since that theater have been there !! Come on ! Whistler !!! that place look like a shit hole from 1980 change the carpet and little reno in bathroom !!

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3
Change Location