Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 3.50 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

4295 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, BC V0N 1B4

(604) 932-5833 | View Map


3.50 / 5

User rating: 3.50

Based on 11 votes and 9 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.27272727272727
  • Concession User rating: 3.4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.7
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.72727272727273
  • Customer Service User rating: 3.4

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 9 of 9

11 year old boy with Anaphylactic Peanut Allergy would not be accommodated

September 03, 2017

After being proactive with the manager of Village 8 Cinemas about my nephew's deadly peanut allergy, we were told that he would not be permitted entry to the theater with his small bag of Cheesies/can of pop that his mother packed for him so that she knew for sure it was safe. We were told that there were peanut free options (Twizzlers only) at the concession. When she explained she didn't feel safe purchasing food from there (ie; maybe one of the teenage employees ate a peanut butter sandwich prior to their shift & didn't wash their hands) she was told, 'well, he doesn't need to eat anything then - it's only a 2 hour movie'. Meanwhile his 2 cousins had purchased snacks/drinks - really fair to do to an 11 year old boy - make him watch other kids have treats but because he has a deadly allergy, he is discriminated against. Employees tried to say they have a lactose/gluten allergy & they eat stuff from concession all the time?!! Really...a tummy ache is the same as death. The manager was a complete piece of work, loving the power he was wielding over us. He even went as far as to say an allergy is not a disability, even if it is deadly. There is always grey in every situation & he could have easily let my nephew in without making an issue out of all of this. We left, & they lost $50 of business on a very quiet night - the manager, Jacob wouldn't be employed long if this were my business. Imagine...discriminating against a child...for what?! So Jacob the manager could say he followed the rules...common!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Popcorn ripoff

August 16, 2017

Don't like the only one size bag of popcorn which is too large & cost $7.00

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Terrible service

February 12, 2017

Workers do not care about customers or their job, service was poor and theatre needs clean up and renovating

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Great new management

June 10, 2016

Since the theatre has been purchased by a Canadian company there have been significant and obvious changes. Concession is much cleaner and brighter, love the digital signs, popcorn tastes better, prices remain very competitive and the staff is excellent. Can't wait to see the new carpeting!!!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Okay Cinema from 1980

February 28, 2016

I think they should renovate a little ! I don't think they change the carpet even once since that theater have been there !! Come on ! Whistler !!! that place look like a shit hole from 1980 change the carpet and little reno in bathroom !!

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Great little theatre, once you can actually get in there.

July 24, 2015

As a local cinefile I've been to this theatre many, many times. The seating is great, the audio and visual aspects are all fantastic for a facility of it's size, and even the popcorn's OK. HOWEVER.... The management doesn't seem to know how to get people into seats. They sell the admission tickets almost exclusively at the concession counter, this means that when you're trying to get into a movie you have to start at the back of a (usually) understaffed line of families all trying to decide what they want to eat, how they're going to pay, and if they want to 'supersize that' or not. No consideration is ever given to the masses who just want to pay the admission and get to the movie. Another reviewer expressed frustration of being late to a movie even when arriving 30 minutes early because of this. I want to confirm that this isn't a unique occurence, it's pretty much par for the course. Other than that GLARING problem, the Village 8 is actually pretty great.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

always a good seat

March 13, 2015

We live in Squamish and visit this cinema regularly. It is nice that we don't have to drive to Vancouver to see a film. The cinemas have never been more than 1/4 full, so always a good seat. Free refills on the popcorn is a big plus. The place is clean, and the staff is good. I will continue to see movies here so long as they stay open.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

enjoyed a quaint small town cinema

April 30, 2014

For a small town cinema what do people expect? It's a great relaxing apre ski enviroment. very relaxing. very clean.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

frustratingly slow service

February 11, 2014

Theatre staff was not prepared for the large crowd on February 9, 2014 for the 3D Lego movie. Missed 15 minutes of the movie due to wait to buy tickets even though we were there 1/2 hr beforehand. There was no separate ticket line up; only concession line up. Kids' trays not available/sold out. Staff was slow and unapologetic. Ticket only line up popped up only after movie had begun.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 0
Change Location