Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 3.92 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

213-4750 Rutherford Rd., Nanaimo, BC V9T 4K6

(250) 729-8000 | View Map


3.92 / 5

User rating: 3.92

Based on 38 votes and 26 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.76315789473684
  • Concession User rating: 3.88235294117647
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4.27027027027027
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.83783783783784
  • Customer Service User rating: 3.86111111111111

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 26

Love the seating

October 13, 2018

Love the seating,

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Sore arms from metal arm rest

September 04, 2018

good theatre. they retire the ticket sellers wayyyyyy toooooo early, so you miss the previews of the up-coming movies while you are in the concession line. to fix this problem they should have a concession n line dedicated to "JUST TICKET SALES" only. please fix the arm rests as they are non-existent and have been like that for 8-10 years, the re-fit is over due.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Customer service and online ticket purchase!!

August 16, 2018

It all sucks …. Won't let me buy tickets and when I called the number for the box office it told me that it was unavailable.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Perceived sell out issue

February 13, 2018

My wife and I had planned a week ago to enjoy a movie with friends from Ladysmith tonight. We arrived 30 minutes ahead of the showing. Our friends arrived about 5 minutes later only to find the show selected sold out. We were already inside waiting for them when they called and advised. I was surprised as the theatre was only about 60% full when they called to say they were going back home. We thought, ok, there must be people in the building getting refreshments. Once the film started, there were 6 seats that I could count close to where we were sitting left empty and they stayed empty for the duration. Now I understand that people who purchase online can’t make it for any of reasons, but there should be a point in time that they should be required to attend or the seat is deferred to another showing or refunded so that people from out of town walking through the door have the opportunity to see the movie and not return home disappointed.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

great seats

June 13, 2017

what an improvement, the seats are sooooooo comfy, room for people to move down the row has sooo much space that they don't disturb anyone. there are less seats but well worth the money. you put Avalon Theatre to shame, they have ratty seats, metal that hurts your arms and rips in every screen in the joint. great job Galaxy Theatre!!!!!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

New Leather Reclining seats Rock!

February 28, 2017

Best theater on Vancouver Island! Nanaimo gets all the good stuff!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

New Reclining Seats

January 31, 2017

AWESOME FANTASTIC FABULOUS So comfortable made the movie that much more Enjoyable..Way to upgrade the theater. ??

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Customer service terrible

January 16, 2017

Customer service terrible and charged senior members of our group full adult ticket price. New seats were good. Only good thing about the experience. Staff poorly trained.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

Concession workers

January 14, 2017

Went to the theatre today in Nanaimo with my 89 year old mother & stood at the concession for at least 15 minutes, while the girls fumbled about trying to figure out how to use the 3D upgrade vouchers. One of them got on a walkie talkie & attempted to get some help, but still couldn't figure it out & basically just gave up. Sadly, we had to walk out of the theatre without seeing a movie. Anyway, I later decided to contact the manager, but was forced to leave a message & as you can probably guess. Was not returned. Very poor training, from top to bottom!

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Painful Volume During Trailers and Advertisements

October 18, 2016

A few days ago I went to the Galaxy Theatre and the blast of the volume during the pre-show series of trailers and advertisements was so painful that I had to cover my ears with my fingers. The decibel level exceeded all reasonable norms for exposure to sound. The continuous showing of advertisements is exploitative given that we are a captive audience who have paid for our tickets and have to sit through this. The only excape is to leave the theatre during this pre-showing time and remain in the lobby. Is that fair and customer friendly. No!!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 0
Change Location