Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 3.37 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

Woodgrove Shopping Centre, 6631 North Island Highway, Nanaimo, BC V9T 4T7

(250) 390-5018 | View Map


3.37 / 5

User rating: 3.37

Based on 45 votes and 36 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.4
  • Concession User rating: 3.06976744186047
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.45454545454545
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.37777777777778
  • Customer Service User rating: 3.54545454545455

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 36

Disguisting Seats

January 07, 2020

I am pregnant and find it very uncomfortable to sit in this cinema for more than 20minutes... Very old, tight and horrible seats. This needs to be updated, sometimes companies need to look beyond just making profits and do the right things, this will eventually provide better experience and yield profits in the long run.. Popcorn is also very salty and dry!!!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

I will come back to Avalon.

November 30, 2019

I will come back once Avalon has changed the seats to recliner seats. The current seats are not comfortable and old.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

OLD, OLD, OLD

November 05, 2019

The seats are horrible and in dire need of updating. I've been to too many movies where the seats are broken, and they don't sit level, so you're sliding off the seat for the entire movie. I simply won't go to this cinema anymore!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

The theatre with daytime showings all week

November 16, 2018

The Avalon remains my favourite theatre even with other cinemas getting new comfy seats. The shows starting from noon and going on through the afternoon are what I like

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

My arm hurts from the desintigrated un-padded arm rests

September 04, 2018

it is time to do a re-fit to all of the theatres as the arm rests are non-existent…..they hurt and leave small bruises on my forearms. need to have a concession person dedicated to '' TICKETS ONLY'' as the ticket person leaves toooooooo early...……. and leaves you to stand in the concession line and miss the previews before your movie. Assigned seat numbers SUCK, I got struck beside a stinker and had to cover my nose until there was an empty seat and boyyyyy did I move. SCRAP THE SEAT NUMBER SYSTEM..... it deserves a -10.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

best in town

June 29, 2018

best in town for seating

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

No closed captioning.

April 05, 2018

A little more than two years ago I was told by the head office that closed captioning, similar to that of the Galaxy, was coming to the Avalon very soon. As of this date April 5/18 it still has not arrived. This means that even though you have excellent features it makes no sense for me to attend as I'm hearing impaired. And there are more and more with this problem every year. In my estimation it means you are missing out on a lot of sales. Purchasing tickets from the concession counter means waiting in line for longer than is reasonable. Looking at the past reviews it would appear they are getting far worse. I wonder why?!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Concession breakdown, patrons left hanging!

February 21, 2018

Computerized systems went down or froze. No communication by staff what was happening as over 100 of us stood in line and staff milled around looking confused for over 10 minutes. Good thing we pre-bought our tickets online because we never did get our snacks and almost missed the beginning of the movie - our whole reason for going! Very poor management to put sales over honesty with the customer. They need to step up the customer service and cleanliness...no matter how good the movie selection!!

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Best movie selection in Nanaimo

October 06, 2017

Always has the best movies. Staff are great, very personable, even in the face of ongoing complaints regarding the extremely high concession prices. New reclining seats would make the theatre second to none.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Needs to be cleaner

April 15, 2017

Less stale popcorn

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3
Change Location