Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.86 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

404 Duncan St., Duncan, BC V9L 3X3

(250) 748-0678 | View Map


2.86 / 5

User rating: 2.86

Based on 50 votes and 37 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.9
  • Concession User rating: 2.81632653061224
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.02
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.72
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.86

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 37

Hometown Theatre

July 16, 2017

It's great to have a theatre right in town - not always the movies I want to see, but everyone has different tastes and I can be patient and wait my turn :-) Of course there's not all the bells and whistles of a big city theatre but hardly reasonable to expect such an investment in a small town. This is a small business downtown in a community I love so I figure I'm getting a great deal!! Teresa Emery

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Ok but not great.

July 11, 2017

they keep you waiting in concession line to buy your ticket. Terrible wait!

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Please fix the quality of the 3D movies

March 31, 2017

My family of 5 went to see Beauty and the Beast last week. I myself thought because I wear glasses already that it was my vision that was causing the movie to appear quite blurry, but then one of my children said his was blurry, then a second one also complained. It costs a family of 5 A LOT of money to see a movie in a theatre and I feel we didn't get any value for our money. This was our second attempt at a 3d movie there, we went to see Lego Batman last month and it was so dark and again blurry. I assumed it was a one off and that is why we made the second attempt.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

October 20, 2016

Good value and checks all the boxes

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Big Improvement ....

October 17, 2016

Wonderful to be able to enjoy a Cinema Experience close to Home. Such a hugely positive improvement since the ownership change!

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Great popcorn

May 31, 2016

Economical and close to home

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

On January 17, 2016...

January 17, 2016

I want to see The Revenant. I want to see The Hateful Eight. I want to see The Big Short. I wanted to see Creed. SOMEHOW, all that's playing is STAR WARS 7, now a whole month old, and, new this week, NORM OF THE NORTH--which has 0% on Rotten Tomatoes and absolutely no hype. Before this, there was ALVIN AND THE CHIPMUNKS (released Dec. 6), followed by SISTERS (Dec. 18). Do most people who go to movies in Duncan suck this bad? This theatre is careless and slow. Every week, I check to see if the showings have changed and something WORTH WATCHING has come in. Star Wars was the last offering, but it's overstayed itself, then overstayed itself again--DURING AWARDS SEASON. Do I seriously have to commute to Nanaimo or Victoria to get a sober selection of films? Is Caprice Cinemas even a little self-aware, perhaps recognizing that the reason it can't pack its venue on the OPENING NIGHT OF STAR WARS 7 is because it's alienated local customers and lost that business to big city cinemas that can at least keep up a pulse? The shameless formula: Cinema 1) Have the biggest blockbuster on as long as possible, and Cinema 2) Bring in some relatively-tame special interest picture or the latest kiddy trash. Owned by the same people who did an alright job running the Caprice and Rialto in White Rock back when both of those venues were in business (RIP Rialto, you wonderful little moviehouse), the interests of their distant Duncan relative are a pale comparison. Step it up, guys.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Improved

December 09, 2015

I like what they have done to upgrade the theatre it is great. My biggest complaint is finding out what is playing. Online I can only seem to find what is playing that week nothing further in advance. It really limits our movie going decisions.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

fewer juvenile movies

November 27, 2015

Please fewer inane movies for grade school children. We want thoughtful movie for adults ( not goopy romances either)...Also separate tickets from the concession line up.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

So much better....

November 20, 2015

You should disregard most of the reviews from before 2014 as the ownership and management changed. Since then they have updated projectors, added debit machine, increased the options at the concession and added cup holders (most cup holders were removed after being broken off). They've also added a 4:00 pm showing which accommodates a lot of the younger kids and older folks. They are slowly updated other things too - it is so much better than it used to be.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4
Change Location