Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 3.17 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

404 Duncan St., Duncan, BC V9L 3X3

(250) 748-0678 | View Map


3.17 / 5

User rating: 3.17

Based on 61 votes and 55 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.22950819672131
  • Concession User rating: 3.18333333333333
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.29508196721311
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.9672131147541
  • Customer Service User rating: 3.19672131147541

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 55

Movies RARELY Change! Been here 3 weeks

January 04, 2020

Came to town within first week of December, now the beginning of January and the SAME movies STILL on! Poor kids in this community missed out over the holidays - guess everyone just goes to Nanaimo. Been wanting to see a movie each week - but nothing changed. So bad.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Horrible customer service

July 30, 2019

I went there with my friend and a miscommunication occurred in which my friend received the wrong snack. The manager would not allow us to exchange the snack at first, yet came up to us before the movie and said we could finally exchange it. It was extremely uncomfortable so my friend and I were both chuckling nervously as the exchange took place. The manager turned to me and stated that I was "mean" for chuckling. This was extremely unprofessional especially coming from a manager and I will most likely not return to the theatre.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

I see you got new seats... Aren't we fancy?

April 29, 2019

Excuse the sarcasm in the title but do they really think that new seats are enough? They aren't even comfortable and there is little leg room for anyone who is taller than 5 foot nothing. The place is old, dirty and totally drab. And deciding to make one line for tickets and concession is silly. Not to mention that old lady with the weird coloured hair who looks totally grouchy and gives me the stink eye every time I've gone there (which is funny considering that I rarely ever go. Maybe 2-3 times a year and always because a friend wants to. If it were my choice I would drive to Victoria or Nanaimo). I don't think she should dealing with customers unless she can be a little more presentable. Or just hire staff to stay out front that fit the part better.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Most affordable movie experience ! and seats comfortable

April 01, 2019

This is a great gem of a local theatre. Movie prices have skyrocketed in the last few years, to a place where it's unaffordable for most families. Not so with this local theatre, the prices are truly affordable and its a great experience for children who are used to watching their shows on tiny screens or televisions. It's also an activity that my teenage niece is enthused about, and that is very difficult to find !

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

I walked out after 10 minutes

March 17, 2019

I agree with the comment about too many children's movies. It would be nice to see it on the big screen some intellectual movies enough with the cartoons. Until then I'll just continue downloading them for free.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

They need more ADULT movies. Caprice centers on CHILDREN'S movies. That's a real drag.

March 02, 2019

The owners can't seem to grasp that there are actual grownups living in Duncan B.C., that don't like children's movies and watch adult movies. This cinema focuses on Cartoon Movies and Super Hero Movies for kids. They've gone so far as to advertise adults movies are coming, The Snowman being one; and when I asked why it wasn't in when it was supposed to be, they replied that they advertise but might not bring in what they advertise. Unreal. So that was a miss. They bring in Shattered, stop it after 2 days and put up another children's movie; for a choice of literally 3 children's movies that week. Mar. 3/2019 week, we've got 2 childrens movies and some stupid Rebel Wilson adolescent (not adult) comedy. Dunan Cinema, please get in smart, ADULT movies. Thrillers, Drama, Action. Sci Fi. FOR GROWN UPS. Duncan is actually a town with adults that enjoy watching movies for adults. We don't all have kids. And those that do, we still leave the kids at home to watch adult movies. A LOT. Duncan is not just a town whose adults drive their kids to children's movies. If you're not putting in adult movies because of your religious beliefs and you don't like the content of adult movies, would you kindly put your beliefs to the side, so we adults, can access the Duncan Cinema for adult movies, since we live here.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Duncan Capris - lots of real hot butter but not too much salt

December 19, 2018

I love going to the movies close to where I live and I like to support local business. Also , the Duncan Capris has great deals on Tuesday. Love the new seats ;)

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Coming Attractions

October 19, 2018

I drove all the way in to Victoria to see A Star is Born. Now I find it in your theatre!!! I wish I'd known!

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

i love the duncan caprice theater

July 29, 2018

I've been going to the Duncan Caprice theater since I was a little kid, and I love it now even more than I did then. Their popcorn is unparalleled: I recently went to Cineplex theater in Langford and got buttered popcorn but rather than actual butter, they use some kind of super dry butter-like seasoning. It was dry as all hell and terrible. Meanwhile, the staff at the Duncan Theater offer to LAYER the REAL butter -- that is, put some in the middle of the bag, and then more on top. You can't beat that. Plus, the place has an authentic retro vibe that gives it real small town personality and appeal that you will not find in any of the big fancy theaters. Long live the Duncan Theater.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Cowichan Valley deserves better.

June 18, 2018

No cooling system, gets very warm on a hot day. Made me wish I was at home watching the movie on netflix. The place is very dated... we're talking shag carpet on the walls. I imagine some hipster might find it cool, but I find it feels dirty. There was a lump of what I'm assuming was gum on the floor under my seat, which is also where I had to put my drink container as there were no cup holders. I made my daughters pick their purses up off the floor. The upholstery on the chairs looked newer, but I kept feeling like I had something crawling on me throughout the movie, bringing on some anxious thoughts about bed bugs. Must have just been the beads of sweat forming on my body due to the lack of a cooling system. The movie was great (incredibles 2 in 3D), but I couldn't help but notice either a stain or cut on the lower middle portion of the screen. In my opinion this place needs to be torn down. The Cowichan Valley deserves better.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1
Change Location