Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 1.71 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

2655 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, BC V9N 2L8

(250) 338-5550 | View Map


1.71 / 5

User rating: 1.71

Based on 110 votes and 95 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 1.60909090909091
  • Concession User rating: 1.61165048543689
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1.63106796116505
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1.62135922330097
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.09615384615385

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 95

Looks like Rialto is going out of business.....

June 23, 2017

Still no change. It continues ....years now...to have, uncomfortable and broken seating. They have less staff, no one to rip tickets half the time, no front ticket booths, no one to update the sign to show what movies are playing? Only a lot of teenagers working the concession. They are nice, but super slow. The line ups for concession and paying the tickets is too long. Never mind the over priced concession prices. The movies are badly planned. Kids movies for late shows and older rating shows are earlier? Who's going to bring young kids for a G move at 9 PM? It is sticky and dirty and seems like no one cares. Where are the owners? The managers? Is this place going under? It seems to be. I love movies, and I love going to the theaters but this is so ridiculous. I really enjoy going to Campbell River, Nanaimo and Victoria now for movies. The experience is always great. But going to the movies here is just disappointing. Shut it down, or renovate and show you care about your community. This is just ridiculous. If I could it would be no stars.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

THEATRE WITH BROKEN SEATS, Waste of money

June 19, 2017

Went in theatre, nothing changed, seems rundown. Uncomfortable seats. One we were in had broken covered seats, armrest on one seat we sat at was broken off and broken end taped with black tape. Floor was sticky and slippery in theatre. I am embarrassed to take out of town people to this theatre. Please either upgrade/remodel or knock it down. If we had a modern, decent theatre i would go more often rather than go out of town.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Overall a poor theater

May 31, 2017

The theater is bad. The staff are complete fools, the places stinks and worst yet the projector sometimes doesn't play or the auto won't work. Complete garage I hope the place either does some major remodeling or demolish the thing. The worse part is I'm forced to go there because its the only theater in town. I live the first world country! We could do better than this.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

sore back

May 16, 2017

Needs new seats with more space between -- should not have to share arm rests. Food is very pricey -- $5 for popcorn is crazy. No movies on the board outside -- not everyone is connected. Would be nice to have one day during the week to have a matinee for all us retired folk.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Worst seats I've ever sat on

May 15, 2017

At first sight, this theatre looks closed. They don't even bother to advertise which movies are playing on the board outside, you have to go to this website! They don't sell tickets at the window outside either. You have to line up at the concession, even if you don't want to buy pop and popcorn (We bring our own now). As everyone else has said, the seats are atrocious and can make you wish you'd waited for the movie to go to Netflix/tv "On Demand". Would be nice if the people who own this made at least SOME effort to make the experience a little more comfortable but it's obvious from all the broken, dirty seats that they just don't care. I've been in this town since 2001 and in 16 years there hasn't been one upgrade (and appears it was built some time in the 80's or early 90's.). SOMEBODY PLEASE GIVE US A NEW OR AT LEAST UPGRADED THEATRE! I have to see as many movies as I can when I go to Victoria, Vancouver or back to Ontario to visit family in the summer or Christmas.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

May 07, 2017

It is so obvious that you don't care about the clientele because you are the only show in town. I don't even know where to start with the amount of maintenance that needs to be done! And then there are the poor kids who work the concession and try their hardest. You know one night there were so many people in line-up and not enough staff that they kept running out of popcorn. No-one managing these poor kids. And here we go again next week it looks like there are three theatres taking up space for one movie! What do the rest of us do?

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Bring your own camping chair

May 06, 2017

I am serious, if you have a back issue don't even go to this theatre. Otherwise bring a camping chair and you will be far more comfortable. I did until we decided to go for the extra drive to Nanaimo.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Disappointing

April 28, 2017

Nice people but not surprised, being the only theatre in town I expected more, feels like it hasn't been upgraded in decades, stale popcorn, way overpriced,and they don't even post the movies anymore just reference to the website

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Worst movie theatre anywhere

February 16, 2017

Slow, poor service. Dirty. The seats are atrocious. They are so uncomfortable we call them the seats of discipline. There has been nothing spent on maintenance. They don't care because they know they are the only game in town. We only go when we absolutely want to see a movie on the big screen otherwise we wait for the video release. They are competing with on-line and cable but are doing nothing to make the customer experience pleasant.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Joke

January 23, 2017

Place is a joke. No staff. Tech Problems. No refunds. Bad seats. And need to be there and hr before movie of u want pop corn and don't want to miss movie. Place is a shit hole. And the owners should be ashamed. Step it up and make a real theater and you will actually get bussiness. Go to Campbell River everyone the have a nice theater and it's closet than the rat hole theater in Courtenay

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1
Change Location