Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 1.97 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

2655 Cliffe Ave., Courtenay, BC V9N 2L8

250-338-5550 | View Map


1.97 / 5

User rating: 1.97

Based on 156 votes and 145 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 1.85897435897436
  • Concession User rating: 1.88275862068966
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1.86301369863014
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1.90845070422535
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.34228187919463

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service


Type the code:




Theatre Reviews

Showing 31 to 40 of 145

Terrible broken seats makes it unbearable

December 20, 2017

To have to drive 1 hour+ to Nanaimo for a decent movie theatre existence is pathetic for a city this size. Landmark should be ashamed. The facility is substandard in all respects.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

Worst theater on the Island

December 15, 2017

This place is the worst, they haven't even listed the films on the marque for the last year, no one would ever go here if there were any other options. The management of this theater needs to figure this out.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Courtenay

November 18, 2017

All is good for me, except that after watching a movie for an hour or so, I feel that seats are not comfortable and try to place myself in a better /different position. I do not understand why people give so low rating as we are a small town and I am already happy that we have a theatre. the more so they have specials/ discounts. I just try to go to a late show as last time it was a group of teens who were very loud and laughing a lot absolutely in appropriate places ( it was a horror movie and a very good one) . But it is not about the theatre itself, so I give quite a high rating. I hope that chairs can be replaced by better ones, but again - who knows if they get enough money flow from us, local people as in most cases there are not much of audience.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Worst seats in town

October 20, 2017

The seats need to be upgraded very uncomfortable

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

The courtenay theatre is a disgraceful dump!

September 27, 2017

When you enter, you feel as if you should have a long coat on and wear dark glasses! It’s disgusting and filthy..nothing has been updated since it opened. And you have to walk around to find a seat that’s not tilted to either side or that doesn’t have some sort of gross yuk on it!!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

City of Courtenay should close it

September 23, 2017

No sane person would stay five minutes in this dump.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

I like this quaint theatre

August 15, 2017

This quiant theatre has character not found in the new theatres. Sadly, landmatk needs to start paying attention to upkeep. It feels like they have given up on this theatre ... a theatre that could be a gem with staff more dedicated to daily upkeep and a bit of extra building maintenance.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Yikes

August 12, 2017

It's a wonder that movie studios would even lease their movies to this disgraceful edifice. A hazmat suit is the only suitable attire once you enter the building. Every ceiling is encrusted with some indescribable mould, the seats are only suitable for Yogis that have been practising transandental meditation on a bed of nails and the sound system is worse than Fred Flinstones bird playing a gramophone with it's beak. Needless to say my advice is to stay well away, maybe we will get lucky and the whole shamefull mess will implode into a smouldering ruin.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

1980 seats with 1990 decor/colour.

August 09, 2017

For the amount they charge for admission, you'd think upgrading the seats, or at least replacing the foam, would be a priority. Especially since customer comfort will keep 'em coming back, or turn 'em away forever. Nanaimo is only an hour away and my family is willing to travel to not endure the numbness this theatre's seats inflict 15min into a movie. My advice when anybody asks; stay away, Rialto is dying and owner says do not resuscitate!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

worst theatre on Vancouver Island....Needs to make its high prices reflect a much better experience.

August 01, 2017

Seats are uncomfortable, whole theatre and sound system need a complete updated renovation. Theatre manager is too lazy to put up the movies on the outside display! Would much rather travel to Nanaimo (1.25 hr drive) to see a movie!!!! will not bother to sign up with Tribute because I cannot go to Courtenay's Movie Theatre....if the theatre is loosing money...maybe it is because of the way Landmark has shamefully let the threatre go down hill!

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 3
Change Location