Thank you for rating this theatre!

Scotiabank Theatre Chinook

CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE DUE TO COVID-19

User rating: 2.50 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

6455 MacLeod Trail S.W., Calgary, AB T2H 0K4

(403) 212-8994 | View Map


2.50 / 5

User rating: 2.50

Based on 28 votes and 24 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.53571428571429
  • Concession User rating: 2.36
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.46153846153846
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.72
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.44

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 of 24

Disgusting Theatre

February 12, 2020

Do some renovations or have a discounted price for this old, rundown, excuse of a theatre. Will not be back until Cineplex invest some of the money it makes from this theatre back into it, come on people, old cracked, stuffing come out of seats.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Full admission prices and 35 minutes of ads

January 06, 2020

Very disappointed, if you charge admission don’t run advertisements prior to screening. Are you really that greedy. Extra charge for butter. Maybe you could make the straws come out of a vending machine too

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Big Dot in Middle of Screen

June 28, 2019

Went to see John Wick 3 with my son this afternoon. Theatre 8 if anyone's curious. Throughout the movie, there was a bright white dot in the middle of the screen the size of a golf ball. No way they couldn't have known about it, yet they were OK charging people full admission. Kind of hard to get into the movie, kind of crappy for a company to think this is passable for their customers. I told a few people in line (to see John Wick 3) on my way out, and they were thankful.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

They need Reno's done . .

June 17, 2019

Super dirty still popcorn from last movie on my seat ... and no recliners

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Charge way too much for fake butter

December 18, 2018

I was charged an extra $2.00 for topping they called butter. Then the topping leaked through the bag, staining my pants. What a shitty theater experience. Never going back.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Entitled millenials at the concession

October 11, 2018

I was at the concession stand waiting in line. Two concession workers Raine and Kyle D. stood there talking to each other not serving anyone or asking if anyone needed help. Another cashier finally did usher me to his register. I mentioned to this cashier, "what's the matter with those two workers"? Got my popcorn and went to watch my movie. I was however impressed with the ticket taker, who was a young man with a disability. He was pleasant, direct and eager to take my ticket. Nice young man.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Please hire a new cleaning co. that believes in "SOAP" with water!!

April 02, 2018

SOAP and water people. Hire a "great" cleaning co. The one you use now is slacking off SERIOUSLY!!!! YUCK !!

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Needs Modernisation

January 14, 2018

This cinema needs a major overhaul. It is grubby and tatty. It is not kept clean. The decor is outdated and the lobby is uninspiring. Considering that it is in a more central part of Calgary this should be a flagship place of visual entertainment. The other Cineplex cinemas are much better. Also like all the cinemas here the staff checking the tickets need to be more aware of children sneeking into showings that are not suitable for their age. Many a time have we gone to see a film with adult content and there are young children watching. They are usually noisy and disruptive and some are even with their parents. Mention this to the attendant and you get a shrug back because they don’t care. Chinook is bad for this. They need to have attendants at each door to the auditorium really.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Cineplex does Not accept their gift cards!

December 22, 2017

Have received a number of xmas gift cards from some friends purchased from grocery and drug stores. Wanted to purchase Chinook Cineplex ticket package that includes popcorn (about $40.00) in freebies etc . Went to Chinook they said I had to purchase the Christmas tickets direct from them. (Two ticket agents and a supervisor). Could not use their gift cards. if you are planning to purchase a Cineplex gift card buy it direct from Cineplex if you want the Xmas Cineplex freebies Chinook Theatre is great .

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Money

September 17, 2017

What a dump,pay big dollars to see the movie It with my wife,cost way to much for popcorn and a pop with a tiny bag of m and m's Washrooms are filthy and staff are limited Waste of time and the movie is crap

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2
Change Location