Young Adult

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.89 / 5

User rating: 2.89

Based on 150 votes and 56 reviews


  • User rating: 2.89 16.44%
  • User rating: 2.89 10.96%
  • User rating: 2.89 34.25%
  • User rating: 2.89 21.92%
  • User rating: 2.89 16.44%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 56

User review rating: 1 June 17, 2014

boring!!!!! a waste of talent

User review rating: 5 May 07, 2012

great movie. very deep characters.

User review rating: 5 May 01, 2012

good movie, unpredictable !

User review rating: 2 April 05, 2012

not as good as anticipated....of course, even if i expected a bod movie, it would still would have not been as good as expected.

User review rating: 2 March 13, 2012

not nearly as good as hoped or expected. seemed a bit disjointed. theron was good, but she's good in everything.

User review rating: 2 February 24, 2012

it wasn't worth going to this movie. i had no interest in watching a depressed woman who turned to alcohol.

User review rating: 2 February 15, 2012

i expected a lot more from this movie. i enjoyed the performances, but the movie was a bit wierd and boring.

User review rating: 2 February 14, 2012

disappointing movie. had expectations that were not met. i don't know if i enjoyed it or found it too depressing.

User review rating: 1 February 14, 2012

boring movie

User review rating: 2 February 07, 2012

dissappointing movie, albeit a good performance by theron. similar to up in the air, but not nearly as good.

User review rating: 3 January 24, 2012

good movie, with a strong performance by theron. a bit corny at times.

User review rating: 3 January 17, 2012

average entertainment.

User review rating: 3 January 10, 2012

Patton Oswwalt was fantactic in this less than impressive movie.

User review rating: 3 January 10, 2012

Decent movie, but I found the other films of Rietman far more entertaining. Theron does give a solid performance.

User review rating: 3 January 09, 2012

while entertaining, it was not nearly as good as expected. more like a movie made up of uncomfortable scenes to watch than an actual plot. Theron, however, is great.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2012

I was surprised at how much I liked the film, given the relative lack of hype about it (compared to Reitman's Juno and Up in the Air). I thought it was a really interesting role for Charlize Theron, who doesn't usually play messed-up train-wreck characters (the leading role in Monster not withstanding!. The Mavis Gary character really hits rock-bottom before she realizes that Mercury, Minnesota is clearly not where she belongs, and that she needs to get her head together, realize her career is in trouble and get back to the business of living what others in her hometown deem a 'dream life.' Interesting character study.

User review rating: 3 January 08, 2012

Disappointing role for Charlize Theron.

User review rating: 3 January 08, 2012

Many parts of the storyline I could relate to as we are in the midst of doing our own high school reunion...and I thought the acting was great!

User review rating: 3 January 07, 2012

Do not expect to see your typical rom-com type movie here. Kind of dark. There were a couple awkward situations where I could barely watch the scene unfold.

User review rating: 2 January 07, 2012

this movie is more sad about the situation of stealing a man than funny.

User review rating: 1 January 05, 2012

really slow with no climax, sad

User review rating: 4 January 04, 2012

A little predictable but watchable all the same.

User review rating: 3 January 04, 2012

The end of this movie was the wake up call I needed after falling asleep at the beginning!!

User review rating: 2 January 03, 2012

waste of my time. But there is some dry, dark humour that you have to pay attention to. Then it's better.

User review rating: 3 January 03, 2012

Not bad, but not great. The performances here is what saves the film from being unwatchable

User review rating: 1 January 03, 2012

Not worth seeing!! I was hoping for something like Juno but the movie is depressing and has no point. The ending was stupid!

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2012

Good movie, she's crazy as hell, a dark comedy.

User review rating: 3 December 30, 2011

Her acting was very very good but movie was too short. Was a deep thinking movie.

User review rating: 2 December 29, 2011

A disappointing film. Poor script with too many awkward moments.

User review rating: 1 December 28, 2011

Stupid movie!!!!! Waste of money Doesn't even deserves a 1 star rating.

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2011

I REALLY enjoyed this movie. Don't miss this one.

User review rating: 3 December 28, 2011

Psychotic/delusional grown up with black humour here & there. Can't carry the whole movie to make one feel entertained.

User review rating: 4 December 28, 2011

I found this movie very good. There are some funny parts but also a lot of thought provoking parts.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2011

This was another example of Chalize Theron's superb talent. She can pull off the role of any character impeccably. Loved this movie!

User review rating: 3 December 26, 2011

Not a feel good movie but an interesting if somewhat underwhelming character study.

User review rating: 4 December 24, 2011

I loved this movie ... it is timely considering the culture we live in today. Charlize Theron is Excellent. She absolutely embodies and exudes the "me" culture of the day. It is heartbreaking in so many ways. I loved loved this movie.

User review rating: 3 December 22, 2011

Just an OK movie. I found this one very slow and "different", for lack of a better word. Not one of her better movies by far.....sorry.

User review rating: 3 December 22, 2011

Theron and Oswalt do some excellent acting. The story is very sad, though. Some people talk about finding parts of it funny, and I did expect some comedy from Jason Reitman, but the story is a tragedy, not a comedy at all, in my opinion.

User review rating: 2 December 21, 2011

If you want to spend 90 minutes watching an alcoholic, self-absorbed, selfish witch (you know which word I mean), this is your movie. Very disappointing.

User review rating: 5 December 21, 2011

Not sure what movie some of these other reviewers.....I thought that this film was excellent!! Theron plays so well against type-she is phyiscally beautiful but plays ugly from the inside; very much the opposite of her role in Monster. Oswalt is awesome - vulnerable but smart & combative at the same time. I know people like this - those who are damaged by time, who are desparate for a return to the 'glory days'. This film is uncompromising and doesn't have any happy ending. Some Diablo's best writing....

User review rating: 2 December 21, 2011

The story line is very strange; I was hopeing for some funny parts but it was just sad.

User review rating: 3 December 20, 2011

charlize theron is the only saving grace

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2011

After reading the reviews here I was skeptical. I went in with low expectations, and was pleasantly surprised. I found this movie to be pretty good! I thought the actors did a fantastic job.

User review rating: 1 December 18, 2011

This movie was really bad! There's nothing to it. Just watch the trailer and don't waste your money on this. I can't believe I wasted time watching this. Disappointed with Charlize for taking this role. I was bored the whole time.

User review rating: 2 December 18, 2011

stupid

User review rating: 3 December 18, 2011

Charlize Theron did the best she could with the plot and script given- that much was clear. The rest was just lackluster. Was expecting more from the director and screen play writer of Juno. A mild disappointment

User review rating: 0 December 18, 2011

Save your money. Kept waiting for it to pick up but it never did. Go see it if you want to be depressed.

User review rating: 1 December 17, 2011

Don't waste your money. This has got to be one of the worst films that I have seen in a long time! If you have seen the trailer and enjoyed it, than no need to see the movie. A huge disappointment, this concept could have gone any number of ways, rather than south......a huge waste of time and money. You are better off to donate the funds to a worthy charity.....at least then you have done some good.

User review rating: 1 December 17, 2011

Not worth the money or time.

User review rating: 1 December 17, 2011

Not worth the money or time

Change Location