Woman in Gold

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.31 / 5

User rating: 4.31

Based on 248 votes and 120 reviews


  • User rating: 4.31 45.69%
  • User rating: 4.31 43.97%
  • User rating: 4.31 7.76%
  • User rating: 4.31 0.86%
  • User rating: 4.31 1.72%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 120

User review rating: 0 September 12, 2015

Helen Mirren is just great. Very good movie. Sad but true of the history.

User review rating: 5 May 31, 2015

Great movie

User review rating: 5 May 11, 2015

Helen Mirren is a favourite actress of mine, and pairs up well with Ryan Reynolds as two opposing characters devoted to 'closing' a legal matter of ownership of art from an era most people have very little knowledge of. I would highly recommend this to anyone!

User review rating: 4 May 11, 2015

Excellent movie, with great acting.

User review rating: 5 May 05, 2015

Well acted by Helen Mirren and Ryan Reynolds. The story was well told!! A another great Helen Mirren movie!! :)

User review rating: 5 May 05, 2015

I am stymied at some of the negative, so called professional reviews and would say the audience reviews are on the mark. This was a well executed, fascinating, though tragic movie about a shameful time in history. How one could watch and be unmoved is beyond me. My companion and I were riveted during the whole movie and were engrossed in the journey that Maria and her lawyer decided to take on. The actors were excellent and Helen Mirren never disappoints and was fabulous in this role. I highly recommend this movie and if you allow it, you will not only be entertained but informed and reminded of the hell that so many people endured at the hands of the Nazis and those who helped them.

User review rating: 5 May 01, 2015

Definitely a MUST SEE !!! Helen Mirren never disappoints. Superb performance as usual. Don't miss this one.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2015

Excellent! A gripping story of human tragedy and travesty, as Austria claimed art work that had been stolen by the Nazis as their own, once the war was over. The art work had once been rightfully owned by a Jewish family. Both Helen Miren and Ryan Reynolds are excellent in the roles that they play. It is a movie, that I could readily watch again.

User review rating: 0 April 26, 2015

Very Good Acting,and Heartfelt Movie

User review rating: 5 April 19, 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed it. Acting was great.

User review rating: 4 April 17, 2015

Very charming film. It's set in Vienna which appears to be the most beautiful city ever. Worth the price of admission.

User review rating: 5 April 15, 2015

Yes, worth seeing.

User review rating: 0 April 13, 2015

I have seen a lot of movies but few better than this one. Every aspect of the movie was great, Helen Mirren should get her second oscar

User review rating: 4 April 13, 2015

I am again amazed by Helen Mirren's ability 4.5 stars from me. The supporting group also did a terrific job bringing the story to life on screen.

User review rating: 4 April 13, 2015

Excellent movie. A great story that needed to be seen and not just heard about.

User review rating: 5 April 12, 2015

I believe it is a movie everyone should see. It is a true story, and one that you can take your wife to an not be embarrassed. It is a story of justice, conviction, putting everything on the line for what is right.

User review rating: 5 April 11, 2015

I enjoyed every minute!

User review rating: 5 April 10, 2015

Fantastic direction, acting and script.

User review rating: 5 April 10, 2015

Very good story. I found it to be quite moving, as well as thought provoking and occasionally humorous. I love Gustav Klimt's art.

User review rating: 5 April 06, 2015

This is a great movie, based on a true story that took place in Vienna. I wish everyone could see this movie, about how the Jewish people were treated, and may it never ever happen again. May we not forget, and may we bless the Jewish people. Apart from GOD's hand on them, they would not have survived all the evil perpetrated on them. Excellent acting and a must see!

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2015

It was an amazing story! I took a friend that survived the holocaust as a child and it was touching to see her facial expressions during the movie.

User review rating: 4 April 05, 2015

Helen Mirren and Tatiana Maslany both played Maria Altmann beautifully. The film concentrated on her story, rather than that of Randol Schoenberg played by Ryan Reynolds. A story that neened to be told - quite enjoyable!

User review rating: 4 April 05, 2015

Really enjoyed it start to finish. The screenplay was well adapted, the scenery was gorgeous and Helen Mirren stole the show. Worth seeing

User review rating: 0 April 05, 2015

Very enjoyable movie. Well thought out and written.

User review rating: 3 April 04, 2015

This was definately a set back in time kind of movie. I felt there were a little too many flashbacks...yes eventually the flashbacks all lead to another but just a bit too much in the movie. Too be honest it lost my attention as its a movie thats set back in time; a slower paced about getting a painting back that was taken by the Nazis before Word War II (already attention lost)

User review rating: 5 April 04, 2015

Ignore what the critics say about 'Woman in Gold.' The movie tells a powerful story and it tells it well. I initially thought that Ryan Reynolds was an odd choice for the role but he plays of Helen Mirren beautifully. From the outset the story is gripping. The theatre, which was sold out, burst into applause as the credits rolled.

User review rating: 3 April 04, 2015

It was a nice movie to watch. Enjoyed it very much.

User review rating: 4 April 04, 2015

A very moving film. Once again Helen Mirren showed off her great acting skills. I would recommend to everyone to see this movie based on a true story.

User review rating: 5 April 04, 2015

“Woman in Gold” is highly recommended to watch movie. I think it cannot leave indifferent anyone. It touched the bottom of my heart. I could feel the strong personality of the main heroine; her desire to show that returning paintings is not about money, but about justice, desecration of honor, and paying tribute to her perished family. I was touched by the beautiful scenario, actors, and images.

User review rating: 4 April 03, 2015

I loved that the woman in gold movie was based on a true story. It was well done...with quite a bit of humor and with equal amounts of sadness via the moving flashbacks through out the movie with maria remembering the past as she was trying to live in the present. We really enjoyed this movie... and by the amount of clapping at the end of the movie.. the audience did as well

User review rating: 4 April 03, 2015

I thought the movie was well done, although a little quiet at times, realizing that this was a drama and not an action movie. Helen Mirren played an excellent part. I think the movie was well liked by the adult crowd.

User review rating: 3 April 03, 2015

I found the film quite moving and as usual, Helen Mirren was wonderful. However, at times the script and dialogue relied on cliche ("It's like a James Bond movie, and you're James Bond!") I didn't feel the writing was up to par. Nonetheless, it was entertaining.

User review rating: 4 April 03, 2015

An interesting and informative film. Helen Mirren deserves an oscar for her role.

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2015

It makes you think, feel, hurt, laugh, cry, and learn a little history (actually it was herstory) without it being painful. I typically fall asleep before the end of a movie, but this one kept me awake for the whole thing. Few movies I would see again, but this one is a keeper, and I will buy it when it is available. :)

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2015

Really enjoyed it. The story really draws you in. Helen Mirren was flawless amd enchanting and though Ryan Reynolds gave it the old college try he could not hold a candle to her performance. A must see

User review rating: 0 April 03, 2015

I enjoyed the movie immensely. The fact that it was based on a true story made it so much more engaging. Helen Mirren and Ryan Reynolds were amazing. I'd highly recommend seeing this picture to all my friends.

User review rating: 4 April 03, 2015

I enjoyed Woman in Gold. Makes one wonder where did all the other paintings and other items end up after they were stolen. Any movies starring Helen Mirren is always a plus!

User review rating: 3 April 03, 2015

Great acting by the cast. The story about a Jewish woman trying to reclaim a stolen art is interesting, but the script could've been better.

User review rating: 4 April 03, 2015

Absolutely timely. A true story that made your heart ache.

User review rating: 4 April 03, 2015

I really enjoyed the movie. The production was very well done, and I thought it was a piece of art. The acting was amazing and was a wonderful combination of light hearted humour, but deep when it needed to be. I definitely cried when her parents asked her to remember her.

User review rating: 4 April 03, 2015

it was very heartwarming!

User review rating: 4 April 02, 2015

Woman in Gold was a captivating movie based on a gripping true story that I knew nothing about. Helen Mirren's role as Maria Altmann was very powerful. Tatiana Maslany played a charming role of a younger Maria Altmann during the war. Ryan Reynolds' role as a passionate lawyer was excellent. The Woman In Gold is a stunning painting that I now want to someday see as it now hangs in a dazzling museum.

User review rating: 4 April 02, 2015

The movie was excellent! A true story full of history and great acting.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2015

This was a fabulous true story, historical, suspenseful, and heart-wrenching. The stand out performance was Tatiana Maslany with a predictably wonderful performance from Helen Mirren. Ryan Reynolds was mesmorizing in a dramatic role. He just keeps getting better and better. As a Klimt fan, I couldn't get enough of his painting of Adele Bloch-Bauer. I actually wished this movie was longer than its 109 min. GO SEE IT!!!

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2015

Based on a true story, Helen Mirren is excellent in the role of Maria Altmann who takes on the Austrian government over a dearly loved family painting that had been seized by the Nazis in WW2. Canadian Tatiana Maslany plays the younger Maria in flashbacks while Canadian Ryan Reynolds in the young lawyer and family friend who battles for her against all odds. The film indeed captures this amazing story of the battle for the famous painting by Klimt.

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2015

... cinematography. The film goes back and forth effortlessly between the 1930s and the 2000s - it's a pleasure to watch the excellent editing and cinematography. At times it was very emotional as the film showed Maria's struggle with her emotions in being forced to relive the past, and then being surprised at the wonderful memories of her young life with her family and her favourite Aunt Adele. And there's a happy ending of course as the Klimt painting "Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer" - the original name - is now in the Neue Galerie museum in New York. Several other actors in brief roles were also a delight: Charles Dance, Jonathan Pryce, Elizabeth McGovern, Canadian actress Tatiana Maslany

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2015

Saw advance screening of "Woman in Gold" last night – thanks Tribute! Wonderful film. Of course Helen Mirren is superb. Ryan Reynolds is also very good as the determined young lawyer who helps her in the long legal proceedings in Austria and the U.S. to try and have the Gustav Klimt 1906 painting of her Aunt Adele Bloch-Bauer (and several other Klimt paintings) that the Nazis stole from her family returned to her. At the time, "The Woman in Gold" painting was considered the Mona Lisa of Austria, so the Austrian government put up quite the fight to keep it. The film goes back and forth effortlessly between the 1930s and the 2000s - it's a pleasure to watch the excellent editing and cinematog

User review rating: 4 April 02, 2015

Good performance by Helen Mirren. Good story line and portrayal of life during war time regarding nazies and the confiscation of art. Scenic view of Vienna was excellent and architecture.

User review rating: 3 April 02, 2015

A great movie with Helen Mirren delivering really awesome punch lines and a true homage to 90's tech. I think it's a simple story about a woman trying to reclaim a painting belonging to a family and doesn't try to be anything more than that. Definitely something worth watching on a rainy day.

User review rating: 2 April 02, 2015

I didn't mind the movie, I like movies based on a true story and historical as well. I like how Helen's character was shown as a child and how the Gold woman came to be.

Change Location