Water

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.50 / 5

User rating: 4.50

Based on 777 votes and 70 reviews


  • User rating: 4.50 74.67%
  • User rating: 4.50 14.53%
  • User rating: 4.50 3.35%
  • User rating: 4.50 1.49%
  • User rating: 4.50 5.96%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 70

User review rating: 4 April 16, 2010

wow - a very disturbing, yet moving film. A movie that tells the sad life some females lead in make-centered societies. A movie that is both compelling and scary.

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2006

Idina Menzel was in this. She did really well, of course. We saw her in London.

User review rating: 0 July 24, 2006

Powerful. Shows how history breaks us forward from tradition.

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2006

This film was a beautiful visual experience that brought it`s audience into the reality of one of the terrible fates one can face for, the meer role of dice at birth, and being born female .

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2006

Excellent movie, well done and educational for me as I did not know this kind of thing went on. The acting was superb as well as the directing of this film.

User review rating: 0 May 25, 2006

The movie was great!!! It was sad how the widows were treated

User review rating: 0 May 19, 2006

Beautiful movie. Some very poignant parts. Teaches us about cultural and religious differences. Makes one more aware of the plight of women in other countries.

User review rating: 0 May 08, 2006

great movie, very interesting. little girl was amazing like to see it again.

User review rating: 0 April 28, 2006

A deeply revealing/moving film...about the `underdogs` of society...the have nots....the embarrassments....the bad luckers...the emotionally downtrodden...the weak.....Real humans put in inhumane circumstances by dictatorial, societal/in-the-name-`GOD` mores....with absolutely NO WAY OUT!!! I cried, I cried, I cried....for women, for elderly, for children, for innocent life, for my own, personal circumstances. GO SEE THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 April 23, 2006

Beautifulls, sads & romantics.

User review rating: 0 April 13, 2006

Excellent movie. We forget how lucky we are not born in a society which still follows old traditions without question. It is usually the women and children who bear the brunt of sufferings borne out of tradition and religious beliefs. I hope this movie and others like it help countries like India to give their women and children their rights and dignities back.

User review rating: 0 April 02, 2006

great movie, would like to see the sequel, what becomes of chuyia? Would like to see more of Sarala in films.I think she is was soooo fabulous. Would like to know more about her. bela

User review rating: 0 March 21, 2006

I forgot I was reading subtitles.

User review rating: 0 March 21, 2006

beautifully filmed - very interesting story - plus interesting faces of the actors. The little girl was amazing. Very well done & very touching.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2006

The directing is a phenomenal peice of work, the lighting,the ambience, nature, all of it was a natural "on cue". The little girl so full of life and a future idealist herself at that time opened up something in the hearts of the widows, a good introspection of beliefs and faith and that there is always hope outside horrible circumstances. Knowledge is power in this movie and with the power of knowledge, change occurs and an opportunity to escape your situation is possible. This movie depicts the strength and honour a woman has for herself outside all others, a strength that should be honoured by many! A Profoundly impacting movie on my spiri

User review rating: 0 March 04, 2006

the most alluring....movie i have seen in many yrs...i needed to watch every second to not miss any moment in the lives on screen...wonderful at the least..

User review rating: 0 February 19, 2006

thats very real in life benny

User review rating: 0 February 14, 2006

cool movie

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2006

This is an increadible movie. Every emotion that could possibly have been expressed, was. The sub-titles become a non-issue as soon as the movie begins and the intense beauty and complexity of the film overwhelms you. I highly recommend seeing this movie at some point in your life, I think it is necessary.

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2006

It gave me an understanding of how this culture treated woman and their place in the world. I could feel the women`s confusion, dispair, loss hope and dreams. It`s a movie that needed to be shown. thank you. It makes me appreciate where I was born and live as a woman.

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2006

Such a moving humane movie about inhumane practices

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2006

Great movie ,would see it again

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2006

trash

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2006

This was a great film about a cultural tradition that may have been formed for the wrong reasons. All cultures have had traditions based on superstition or false reasoning at some point in their past so anyone can relate to this movie. I like the multiple characters as it displayed the diversity of women who were present in the house. It was facinating and very well told.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2006

Amazing. A must see again!

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2006

An unforgetable and moving film. So difficult to believe that this type of injustice existed in the world. The characters came alive and the tragedy of their situation was well presented. The directing, acting and writing were excellent.

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2006

It was just very touching and heartbreaking. Loved it.

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2005

crap

User review rating: 0 December 24, 2005

Beautifully made, touching subject and powerful characters, brilliant acting

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2005

One of the most moving films I have ever seen. Far from portraying a negative view of India it showed me that Indians are capable of the courage, rationality, nobility of spirit and unflinching commitment to truth necessary to triumph over the evils of their past.

User review rating: 0 December 16, 2005

an insight into the harsh reality of indian culture and the restrictions the culture imposed on women. tastefully told, indepth, and simply breath taking photography and music. a must see movie for the 2005 year. just wonderful

User review rating: 0 December 16, 2005

An amazing depiction of indian culture and the restrictions they impose one women.

User review rating: 0 December 16, 2005

the ideal movie

User review rating: 0 December 16, 2005

An in depth eye opener into the harsh reality of indian culture. Wonderful music, well depicted and simply fabulous

User review rating: 0 December 16, 2005

Simply breath taking

User review rating: 0 December 12, 2005

Wonderful movie!

User review rating: 0 December 12, 2005

wow...a powerful, emotional movie.

User review rating: 0 December 11, 2005

eye-opening and powerful.

User review rating: 0 December 10, 2005

Beautiful photography;excellent acting; applaudable expose of the downtrodden way Indian women,particularly widows, are treated in India.

User review rating: 0 December 10, 2005

Very courageous and well depicted story with intelligent socio-political statement. Not overly emotional nor sentimental like most Indian movies but very well balanced and credible. Characters were well developed. Oh and Lisa Ray is simply gorgeous.

User review rating: 0 December 09, 2005

mehta bai could have used a real indian actress...rather that a half polish one..disappointing...horrible hindi

User review rating: 0 December 07, 2005

excellent movie. worth seeing it.

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2005

Very boring movie, just too much about widows and stuff. So slow and soo boring, just save ur money and watch something else

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2005

Absolutely beautiful! Don`t miss it!

User review rating: 0 November 29, 2005

Simply brilliant

User review rating: 0 November 26, 2005

stunning cinematography, great acting and a moving story.

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2005

I thought it was a wonderfully sad movie. I was hooked from the very starting and didnt even notice the time flying by. The story takes you in and you sit there wondering what will happen next. I didnt shed a tear in the movie until the very ending where I couldnt hold back and it wasnt a tear I was sobbing....Its a eye opener and its what goes on in the real world...not so much now as what used to. I definitly recommend this movie....teaches you alot.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2005

I absolutely loved it. A perfect blend of culture, faith, passion, temptation, trauma and romance. A definate chick flick but WORTH SEEING, best film this year

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2005

I agree with others that it was a little slow to start but once it got going I became completely enthralled. By the end I felt it was one of the best movies I`ve seen in a long time. Needless to say I shed many tears that even my boyfriend couldn`t make fun of me for.

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2005

An insite into a deep rooted custom that is so unfamiliar to other cultures. Beautifully and tastefully told. Hard to believe that it still goes on.

Change Location