War Horse

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.34 / 5

User rating: 4.34

Based on 232 votes and 85 reviews


  • User rating: 4.34 59.81%
  • User rating: 4.34 22.43%
  • User rating: 4.34 12.15%
  • User rating: 4.34 2.80%
  • User rating: 4.34 2.80%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 85

User review rating: 5 March 16, 2013

I loved war horse its one of those movies that you can never get sick of :)

User review rating: 5 March 02, 2013

Loved it! Saw it @ school... I loved the horse and Jeremy!

User review rating: 4 July 29, 2012

this is a very good movie. i enjoyed it. unfortunately, the actor they cast as the boy, jeremy irvine, practically ruined it. if they had cast a better suited actor i would've really enjoyed it. he just had no screen presence or charisma. other than him i enjoyed the movie and would recommend it.

User review rating: 5 April 06, 2012

it reminded me of those old disney films i used to love so much. great family movie! make sure you have plenty of tissues!

User review rating: 5 March 17, 2012

i loved this movie, acting... story ... everything.

User review rating: 3 February 24, 2012

i thought the movie was very distressing and sad but near the end was amazing with what the horse could do

User review rating: 5 February 13, 2012

great and wanderfull movie,this was from best movies i have looking all my life, i hop it can get 5 stars oscar,

User review rating: 4 January 26, 2012

great movie, entertaining, but heartbreaking if you are an animal lover, no one likes to see an animal in pain,but funny and quirky in parts.everyone in the theater enjoyed this movie. maybe 30 mins could be cut out.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2012

Best movie i've seen in a very long time...

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2012

The scene at the beginning when the father bids for the horse only because his rich landlord wants it, so he spends money he doesn't have, thereby forcing his family to live in fear and poverty, is unbelievable. No motive is given for this. Only an idiot would give his money away like that, and by doing so, take the roof away from his wife and son's heads and food from their mouths.

User review rating: 2 January 11, 2012

Easily Spielbergs worst movie. I didnt buy the premise of the movie in the first 5 min when a tenant farmer who rents the land spends 35 guineas (a huge sum at that time) on a horse. The dialogue was lame throughout and technically, the music was overbearing and shmaltzy and the lighting was terrible. I can't believe Spielberg directed this movie. Was he on set during filming?

User review rating: 4 January 09, 2012

This movie was very touching, in the sense that Spielberg managed to convey so much human emotion through the horses, that you would think they could talk. The battle scenes were well choreographed and very intense. I wish they gave halves for these ratings: 4.5 stars

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2012

My daughter said 'This is a purchase one Mom'. It was great! Movie with a lovely storyline

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2012

An exceptional movie. The acting brought the story to life. And my daughter to tears. Two thumbs up.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2012

People are cruel.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2012

Wonderful Movie Very Enjoyable

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2012

Great movie. The war scenes were very realistic - made me think of my grandfather who was in the trenches during World War 1. Horses were magnificant!

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2012

This movie is absolutely wonderful. Definitely Academy Award material. Bring a tissue though!

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2012

Did not find the movie long at all. Keeps and maintains your interest. Great storyline.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2012

Steven Spielberg has produced a great epic classic movie. Again.

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2012

This was the type of movie you walked out of felling good. It didn't leave you hanging or disappointed. And the scenery was wonderful.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed the well-crafted movie.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2012

Steven Spielberg has made a great movie to add to his list.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2012

Great movie..we absolutely loved it. We went without the kids but liked it so much we will be taking them to see it.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2012

The cinematography was beautiful in this movie. Colours were vibrant, sharp, everything was so clear it was noticeable. The story was sad, inspiring, loving, the settings true and realistic and the acting was not perhaps as strong as well known actors but it was strong enough to carry the movie. The war scenes were horrible in the sense of how real and poignant they were but so real in how soldiers might feel, or fear and the saddness of what the youth of that period endured. It was a movie that both guys and girls could enjoy and I thought the pace was good, you did not see the 2.5 hrs go by. There are many wonderful scenes in the movie I particularly liked the father and son one at th

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2012

A pretty good movie, I was'nt expecting it to be as good as it was.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2012

A great movie. Only Spielberg could make this. I was down and worried but kept thinking it will come right at the end - and it did. Truly enjoyed.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2012

Well, this was my 2nd favorite movie of the year. I really did cry my eyes out especially in the scene where he has to pull the machinery up that horrible hill. I almost had to leave the theatre. My husband kept telling me that it was JUST A MOVIE!! I am such an animal lover,so this was a tough movie for me to watch.

User review rating: 4 January 05, 2012

A mesmerizing expeience. Beautiful.

User review rating: 4 January 05, 2012

An epic movie with a grand central scene.

User review rating: 4 January 05, 2012

great movie - very moving

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2012

excellent movie, the horse stole the show, he showed emotion and you forgot it was an animal and not human. Very engaging.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2012

A truly amazing movie- the horse was the star, great acting job, held my attention- I cried and also smiled- well worth the money!

User review rating: 4 January 04, 2012

really heart warming story. spielberg is great at this type of story

User review rating: 4 January 04, 2012

I enjoyed the movie but felt it seemed to lag in places, therefore running longer than needed. The war scenes were graphic,a realistic necessity for this movie. So,if you take small children, be prepared.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2012

I truly enjoyed it.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2012

An epic movie made with an epic style.

User review rating: 3 January 03, 2012

My overall impression was that this movie didn't know whether it wanted to be a hard-hitting academy award nominee or a Disney movie. Unfortunately, it fell moreso on the Disney side, skipping over the brutalities of war and making everything seem rather "magical." While not appropriate for children, this film didn't really cater to adults enough either. Was hoping for a Seabiscuit-type film, but this movie needed to grow up a bit.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2012

I am going to watch this one!

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2012

Excellent!!!!

User review rating: 3 January 03, 2012

For me it lost a star because it was a bit too predictable for an adult movie but too violent for children.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2012

A beautifullly crafted movie about families and war and hardships and the role horses played on the battlefront.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2012

It's Steven Spielberg. What can I say. Definitely worth watching.

User review rating: 3 January 02, 2012

Although I appreciate the art of filming animals, I thought I was watching a Sunday night "Disney" movie. It was just too safe and filmed to have mass appeal for mass box office return. I was disappointed. I would recommend this for PG family viewing. I'm sure the Broadway stage was much edgier and stark. I felt like I was watching an 'ol yellar meets Scarlett O'hara and it was too predictable and sentimental.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2012

Mr. Spielberg did it again. He took a beautiful story and brought it to life. It was an emotional rolercoaster, and by far one of my favorite movies. The acting was great and the horse was fantastic.

User review rating: 3 January 02, 2012

The movie was well done and I'm glad I saw this war epic on the big screen. The use of a green screen was a little distracting however -I expected more from Spielberg.The movie did a great job of showing the role of the horse in WWI. I would say that the novel was better and the main thing that was missing from the movie is the connection between the situations in which the horse finds himself as he moves through the war - in the movie he seemed to jump from one owner to another, in the novel there is a thread connecting them. Read it!

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2012

This movie reached me on both an emotional and visual level.The love between boy and horse was compelling as was the journey they took to find eachother.The filming was beautiful and the acting was great.Also,it was very refreshing to watch a movie whose story held up despite the total lack of computer animation or gratuitous action or violence.

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2012

I saw this movie & I loved it.. A moving story about a boy and his beautiful strong horse.. it was a bit sad but ends great !

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2012

What a wonderful movie...Mr. Spielberg has done it again...this is one that I want to have in my DVD collection.

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2012

It's a beautiful movie but runs a bit too long in places.

Change Location