Vera Drake

Thank you for rating this movie!

Vera Drake Movie Poster

3.94 / 5

User rating: 3.94

Based on 160 votes and 11 reviews


  • User rating: 3.94 59.24%
  • User rating: 3.94 13.38%
  • User rating: 3.94 7.01%
  • User rating: 3.94 2.55%
  • User rating: 3.94 17.83%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 11 of 11

User review rating: 2 November 23, 2010

slow and boring.

User review rating: 0 October 08, 2006

When i first watched the film i thought it was pretty good but the acting wasn`t brilliant, but my teacher told me that the cast hadn`t rehearsed it before, she said that they just improvised on the set. this made me appreciate it alot more and think how hard it must have been for the actors. my favourite bit is at the christmas party when Reg says that it was the best christmas party he had ever been to!

User review rating: 0 April 18, 2005

As someone from a working class background, whose father hailed from London I could so identify with the characters and the working class culture they typified. I notice some people, particulary Americans, found it hard to understand how the characters behaved at times- why Vera didnt defend herself more, but to me the whole film was just perfectly realistic of the class, place and times.

User review rating: 0 April 09, 2005

The acting was stellar. I found dialogue hard to hear/understand because of accents. Story is slow but involving. The only real let-down was the ending...there wasn`t one. They should have at least told us how long she spent in prison...etc. None the less, I gave it 4 stars.

User review rating: 0 March 31, 2005

Imelda Staunton gives a very good performance. While I enjoyed the movie, I could not help but feeling I was watching a Made-For-Television film - it just looked weird.

User review rating: 0 March 18, 2005

This movie is even more crippled then the main cast members, who play people who try to see who can make the tax-payer the most annoyed. Well it would be a tough pick if I were the taxpayer, because this movie is about as annoying as hearing George W Bush say the war is over. The acting is unmanagable, the sets are all wrongfully decided, and the ending should just be the ladies killing themselves, because that`s what critics love: People being able to handle decisions the right way.

User review rating: 0 March 09, 2005

An amazing and stoic performance by Imelda stanton the oscar should havee gone ome wth her.

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2005

Wonderful film. One of the best movies Mike Leigh has ever made. Women have been oppressed and persecuted for centuries & Leigh gives the audience a bird`s eye view of a time & place where the right to choose did not yet exist: 50`s Britain. Imelda Staunton gives a powerhouse performance, & if there is any justice, the Oscar will be hers.

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2004

Imelda Staunton does indeed give a great performance, but the film lacks that one cathartic moment when Vera Drake can really voice the conviction of her beliefs. The period costumes, however, were impeccable throughout the film. Prediction: Oscar nomination for Ms. Staunton, but no statuette.....

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2004

Everyone should see this movie!

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2004

Excellant acting, a very natural look at life in 1950 London.

Change Location